Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Butternut Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Average Rating:

    251 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 251

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2009

      This was delicious! Please be aware though, if you have never dealt with butternut squash (like me!), that you should wear plastic gloves when peeling or dicing. The squash made my hands swell and peel like acid had touched them. Apparently this is common with uncooked butternut squash. The recipe turned out great though and I will make it again (with the gloves this time!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Being the daughter of a vegetable farmer I would say I have enjoyed my fair share of squash but this wasn't the best. Butternut squash really doesn't need to be peeled, it really is a total waste of your time. Mine didn't really caramelize, but I know that has to do with proportions so I am assuming I was a little off with the butter. My advice to others would be leave the skin on and add a touch of a spice of your choosing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      Whenever I make squash in this manner, I always balance the wonderful sweetness with a little cayenne pepper and often some walnuts. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Wow! Where have I been that I haven't seen this recipe until today. I was going to make the same old boring squash in the oven, but saw this and decided to try it. It looked beautiful before I cooked it, but I wasn't sure how great it would be when finished. Well, it was amazing! It takes more time to prepare, but after having this way, I will never be able to go back. I cut the recipe in half for one large squash and it was perfect. Even used a bit less butter. Already thinking about making it for Thanksgiving. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I created an account just so I could rate and review this :) ... I have organic vegetables delivered every Friday and I'm always looking for new ways of making things I probably would never try otherwise. I'm not a huge butternut squash fan, but now ... I gotta say ... I'm a FANATIC. This stuff is amazingly good. Better than candy! I used a dark cookie sheet (to get a darker reaction in the squash/carmelization), and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Unbelievable! The pepper and the salt really round out the flavors nicely. Don't need to do anything other than follow the exact instructions in this recipe ... I'm blown away ... ate the whole dang thing by myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Very good! I used salted butter and cut the salt down to one teaspoon. Also used one teaspoon of pepper. I felt the eight tablespoons of butter was to much, I will cut it down to 6 tablespoons next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This is wonderful. It was my 1st time ever having butternut squash. We loved it so much, we actually went back to the store the same night, to buy more. It has become a family favorite and weekly addition to the family menu rotation. It has helped our transition to going meatless 5 days per week much easier. Thanks a million.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I have made this with Maple syrup and it was fab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      I made half this recipe with one squash instead of two because it's the first time I have ever worked with butternut variety. OH LORD! I will have to say I likely made a mistake! I did add cinnamon to the recipe - but followed it otherwise. Clearly a winner when a 16yo teen boy's eyes light up like a Christmas tree when he tasted a morsel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      I can't tell if the stars are showing up, but I'm rating this 5*. It was really good. My only issue is that I purchased squash that was already cut, and there were some pieces that were too small, and so the squash around the edge of the pan were a little burnt. Next time, I will make sure that I check it a little sooner, and maybe just remove the smaller pieces. Very easy; quite nice. Next time, I'm going to try the Splenda substitute and see if it does anything but turn into a hard little ball.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Delicious!! I used one butternut and one acorn. MMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Yummy!! Made this with Butternut and Acorn squash. Excellent side with chicken apple sausages. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I wish I had more than 5 stars to give because this one deserves more! OMG....heaven in my mouth! YUM!!! If you like butternut squash (or sweet potatoes) you will L-O-V-E this recipe!!! Had a heck of a time cleaning the pan though so will def line the pan with foil next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This was AWESOME.. It smelled sooo good. Yum. If you're only going to turn it once, cause you're lazy/busy like me, then do it closer to the end. Yummy.. Yea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Delicious?.I used extra virgin coconut oil instead of butter, 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp of pepper. My husband and son loved it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I thought this was a great recipe! I halved it (as I only had one squash) and just eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. Even my picky 7 year old ate it and asked for more. Ina is my hero! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      I have made this a number of times and just love it. I usually only do one squash for the two of us and we still have leftovers for snacking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I have made a similar recipe and added corsely chopped walnuts.
      Very Good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      That is the most delicious butternut squash ever! I made the recipe exactly as stated although my squash may have 2 larges. I made this and it fed 8 people and they were very large helpings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I've made this several times and always get rave reviews. When the sauce caramelizes, it's wonderfully sweet. The salt provides a nice balance. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    34%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 455.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites