256 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! Please be aware though, if you have never dealt with butternut squash (like me!), that you should wear plastic gloves when peeling or dicing. The squash made my hands swell and peel like acid had touched them. Apparently this is common with uncooked butternut squash. The recipe turned out great though and I will make it again (with the gloves this time!)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ala LaLa April 11, 2009

Being the daughter of a vegetable farmer I would say I have enjoyed my fair share of squash but this wasn't the best. Butternut squash really doesn't need to be peeled, it really is a total waste of your time. Mine didn't really caramelize, but I know that has to do with proportions so I am assuming I was a little off with the butter. My advice to others would be leave the skin on and add a touch of a spice of your choosing.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broke student October 07, 2010

Whenever I make squash in this manner, I always balance the wonderful sweetness with a little cayenne pepper and often some walnuts. Yum

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suesanurse November 20, 2010

Wow! Where have I been that I haven't seen this recipe until today. I was going to make the same old boring squash in the oven, but saw this and decided to try it. It looked beautiful before I cooked it, but I wasn't sure how great it would be when finished. Well, it was amazing! It takes more time to prepare, but after having this way, I will never be able to go back. I cut the recipe in half for one large squash and it was perfect. Even used a bit less butter. Already thinking about making it for Thanksgiving. Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas November 14, 2010

I created an account just so I could rate and review this :) ... I have organic vegetables delivered every Friday and I'm always looking for new ways of making things I probably would never try otherwise. I'm not a huge butternut squash fan, but now ... I gotta say ... I'm a FANATIC. This stuff is amazingly good. Better than candy! I used a dark cookie sheet (to get a darker reaction in the squash/carmelization), and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Unbelievable! The pepper and the salt really round out the flavors nicely. Don't need to do anything other than follow the exact instructions in this recipe ... I'm blown away ... ate the whole dang thing by myself!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyedmickey November 07, 2010

Very good! I used salted butter and cut the salt down to one teaspoon. Also used one teaspoon of pepper. I felt the eight tablespoons of butter was to much, I will cut it down to 6 tablespoons next time.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi November 24, 2010

This is wonderful. It was my 1st time ever having butternut squash. We loved it so much, we actually went back to the store the same night, to buy more. It has become a family favorite and weekly addition to the family menu rotation. It has helped our transition to going meatless 5 days per week much easier. Thanks a million.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHH February 06, 2011

I have made this with Maple syrup and it was fab.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kazd Davis October 17, 2010

I made half this recipe with one squash instead of two because it's the first time I have ever worked with butternut variety. OH LORD! I will have to say I likely made a mistake! I did add cinnamon to the recipe - but followed it otherwise. Clearly a winner when a 16yo teen boy's eyes light up like a Christmas tree when he tasted a morsel.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn October 30, 2011

I can't tell if the stars are showing up, but I'm rating this 5*. It was really good. My only issue is that I purchased squash that was already cut, and there were some pieces that were too small, and so the squash around the edge of the pan were a little burnt. Next time, I will make sure that I check it a little sooner, and maybe just remove the smaller pieces. Very easy; quite nice. Next time, I'm going to try the Splenda substitute and see if it does anything but turn into a hard little ball.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ October 24, 2011
Caramelized Butternut Squash