Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Brussels Sprouts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2007

      This was a very good recipe for brussel sprouts but I don't know if we'll make it again. If you're looking for something simple and easy to make, this is a perfect recipe and if you like sweet vegetables (like I do) it will be a good one as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Not a bad recipe, but I'm not really a fan of so much sugar, or using butter. I nixed the whole thing and steamed the Brussels sprouts (cutting an X in the core helps cooking). Meanwhile I heated extra virgin olive oil and wilted shallots in a saute pan. Drizzled some apple cider vinegar, and let it bind with the olive oil. Added the steamed Brussels to the pan, added a little more EVOO and ACV and had a nice vinaigrette instead of all those sugars and saturated fat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      I cut the recipe in half & followed the directions to a 'T' & the resulting veggie dish was very tasty, very nice! This is that kind of recipe that makes me want to make & serve Brussels sprouts more often! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This recipe was very simple and easy to follow which was great! However, I did not like the taste of this mixture. Maybe I'm just not used to it, I don't know. I will not be making this again. Thank you though for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Very good brussels sprouts. I used frozen ones, par boiled them for a few minutes. Turned out to be tasty veggies and one that I will be making again. Thanks Sharon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I made this to go with Christmas dinner. I used thawed frozen brussell sprouts and they turned out yummy. i used hardly any sugar, since when the vinegar cooks down, it gets sweet. They were definitely a hit with everyone! Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I really liked these but found the outside got tough before the middle was done enough. Next time I will pre cook the sprouts in the microwave a little before putting them in the sauce. My husband liked the also. Thanks for a new recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      These turned out great...I used splenda instead of sugar and I loved the taste....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Oh Sharon, these were great! Well, I only had one, as I'm not a big brussel sprout fan, but it was delicious!!!! I wasn't allowed to have anymore, cuz the menfolk gobbled them up!!! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This is a great recipe for kids or people who don't like brussel sprouts. It totally masked the flavor of the brussel sprouts and I will just stick with my usual mix of olive oil, butter and balsamic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      These are so yummy! I didn't have red wine vinegar so I just used balsamic and I added in some roasted garlic. I will make these again but it will have to wait till next year! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Dh & I love brussel sprouts. This recipe just makes them even better. I cut the recipe back to 2 servings. Next time I will make them 2 larger servings. Cooked them in advance & reheated in the micro for 1min. Thank you for a keeper Sharon123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      I love Brussels sprouts but folks you need to try this, these are absolutely the best that I have ever had. I fixed about 2.25 cups and my dad ate about 4 or 5 little sprouts and I ate the rest. I would like to try this with spenda for baking and see if it works that way too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Loved this recipe! I made them on my electric stove with frozen sprouts.I simmered longer than the 6 minutes, maybe 10, and they turned out perfectly.While melting the sugar, I did get a few hard bits, but only when I stirred.. so shaking the pan was a good instruction in the recipe. I will be making these again. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Great way to enjoy brussels sprouts! As a previous reviewer stated, I had chunks of hard sugar (like toffee) when I added the vinegar, too.....but when I brought it to a boil then simmered, they broke up & melted and I had no problem. I added some chopped onion in with the sprouts, too. Fantastic flavor. Thanx for this unique recipe; I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Terrific recipe! I used a 10 ounce package of frozen brussels sprouts, and reduced the rest of the ingredients appropriately. Okay, maybe I put in a little less butter and sugar. This ended up being extremely tasty. It was definitely the combination of balsamic vinegar and sugar that made this taste so good. I will be making this again, as my boyfriend wasn't there to try it too. I think he'll really enjoy this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Wow, these were excellent. My roommate and I shared them and felt sad because we didn't have any more brussel sprouts to cook. Next time though, I'll make sure to peel off more of the outer leaves - I didn't do enough and the ones that fell off were tough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      This is awesome. I added some slivered almonds. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      Taste was excellent! I used frozen brussels sprouts without cooking slightly first. Mistake! Flavor was super, but my sprouts were tough...will use fresh next time. Thanks for posting, Sharon. Caroline

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      This is a tough one if you're cooking on an electric stove. Once you get the sugar to melt, it's hard to cool it down enough to keep it from burning. The end result was that I had all hard chunks of sugar (like hard candy) and had to throw it out and start over. So I tried something different but along the same lines. I heated the vinegars and water, then added brown sugar, etc then simmered the brussel sprouts per the recipe. Even that way they were great; I'll bet when I get my gas cooktop it will be incredible!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.4
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    35%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 149.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes