49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading the reviews I left the water and sugar out. You can still get a nice caramelization of the brussels sprouts without it, which makes them quite tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 21, 2011

I had problems with the sugar not caramelizing rather crystallizing and I'm sure it's not
the recipe's fault. Next time I will as other reviewers suggested, roast the brusells sprouts instead of preparing in the pan. I think that cooking method would work better for me. We liked the combination of flavors however. Will update review later.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl October 17, 2011

These were great! I only made a half batch and tossed carrots instead of about half of the sprouts. Hubby was almost terrified so I made a compromise, turns out I didn't need to after all. He liked them more than I did. I halved the larger ones and They soaked up more of the flavor and had a softer texture and I preferred those to the whole ones. Next time I will halve them all. I served them with Pecan Encrusted Pork Tenderloin With Mustard Cream Sauce and some wild rice, and it turned out wonderfully! Thanks for making a believer out of my husband ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2SpiceItUp February 25, 2009

Over the top yummy. Made my 5 year old beg for more, and he usually won't touch brussels sprouts. I could eat a ton all by myself. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little giggly's mom December 02, 2012

These were delicious! I didn't weigh or measure my sprouts, which I will definitely do next time because I ended up with so much liquid that I had to drain some off. I used half the sugar and only a little water - next time, I think I'll either cut out the sugar altogether or cut back even more (it was pretty sweet) and not use any water. Really great way to make Brussels though! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee March 07, 2012

These are so good. I did cut the sugar to half but otherwise followed the recipe. I loved how this made the house smell so good. I will use this recipe again. Thankyou for sharing with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 26, 2012

Awesome recipe, amazing. Fabulous. Seriously. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook April 05, 2011

These were very good. I did make some adjustments due to personal tastes, and I only made enough for me as DH is afraid of sprouts. After reading some of the other reviews, I was afraid of getting my sprouts soggy, so I decided to roast them and then toss in the glaze. I roasted them at 450F for about 15 minutes and they turned out nice and crispy/al dente. I prepared the glaze as written other than cutting the amount of sugar in half -- I knew it would be way too sweet for me as written. What I ended up with was a dish that made me happy DH does not eat sprouts -- more for me! Thanks, Sharon, I will definitely be making this tasty and easy dish again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spice Princess January 22, 2011

A good idea, but it didn't quite work out for me - the sauce was too thin and too sweet. Next time I'll reduce both water and sugar by half. I also would let the sauce reduce further before adding the brussel sprouts, as the sprouts were crisp-tender in 5 minutes but turned soggy and pale green in the additional 10-15 minutes the glaze needed to condense. A shot of lemon juice or silvered almonds would be a tasty addition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseyv November 28, 2010

These were just OK for us. They were way too sweet. My hubby and I love brussel sprouts but my youngest hates them so I thought I would give this recipe a try. My youngest still didn't like them and hubby and I thought they were way too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 25, 2010
Caramelized Brussels Sprouts