Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Baked Chicken Legs/Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Baked Chicken Legs/Wings

    Average Rating:

    240 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 240

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2009

      Hello DjMastermum; This recipe is so easy to make and turns out absolutely fantastic. I used chicken legs with back attached and the only addition to your recipe was 1 teaspoon of Sambal Oelek. I baked the legs at 350 F for 52 minutes, then turned the heat up to 375 F for 8 minutes. They caramalized to perfection. We had a visitor just as the chicken was finished and even though he had his dinner, he wanted to try the chicken. Well, talk about devouring the chicken and for a moment I thought he was going to eat the bones. Smackin his lips, and wanted the recipe immediately. Thank you so much for a real yummy, yummy chicken recipe. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      I've been cooking for 42 years of marriage and have to say this recipe is one of the best for chicken legs. I had 5 pounds of chicken legs and doubled everything but the honey and it came out so delicious. My husband said I could make this every week and he would be happy. A real keeper. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      These were delish! I boiled my frozen wings for ablout 15 min. to thaw and render some of the fat. I baked them at 400 degrees until they were brown and crispy and then basted them with the sauce. Perfectly carmelized and so good...was glad I had no-stick foil, worked very well! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      really good but here are the changes i made.
      ***(if u have time marinate the chicken for few hours before putting in the oven)
      ****also, the "sauce" will be too thin, so I baste the chicken with it every 20 min or so. Also, after an hour, turn the oven up to 350 and leave chicken there till u see it brown up). Total time for me is about 1.5 hours. And we use a lot more garlic then this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      This was a big hit with my family tonight. I skipped the olive oil, coated the bottoms of my baking pans with non-stick foil and tripled the recipe. I used bone-in breasts, drumsticks and skinned thighs. I turned the pieces halfway through cooking. When the chicken was done, I poured the sauce into a pan and boiled it until it thickened while the chicken rested, then poured the sauce back on. Next time I'm going to add 1/8 cup of Jack Daniels and call it Whiskey Chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This is such a hit in my family. I make it as the recipe says, but I do remove some of the cooking liquid with a turkey baster to help it carmelize. I also cook ribs this way. I've also shared this recipe with several friends and they all rave about it as well. over the past year, I've tweaked this a bit. I find I get better results subbing brown sugar for the honey and using a foil lined cookie sheet to bake the legs on. Removing the skins definitely helps with the caramelization. You also get a lovely coating of sauce if you baste the chicken every 15-20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Wow this is GOOD! I only used 1/2 cup honey and I used about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I also used gluten free soy sauce. I kept skin on chicken and baked it for 45 min. at 350, basting every 15 min and turned them at 30 min. Last 15 min. I turned oven up to 375. So total cooking time was 1 hour. The color was gorgeous and skin crisped nice. My kids LOVED it too which is always a big plus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Made this today for dinner. I did half in crock pot and other half I did in the oven. VERY YUMMY!! . I let mine marinate for 1 hr as it was a last min choice to make. Next time I will let in marinade for longer. They were both so tasty but the crock pot one seem to sock up flavor more and was more tender. Definitely will be making again. I did cut the honey to half a cup and added a tablespoon of dark brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I made this tonight for dinner -- using chicken leg quarters. The only thing I did to tweak it was add more honey than what it calls for - I put about equal parts soy and honey to keep it sweeter and not have the soy overpower. They turned out great! Also, like others have said, it is a little thin at first, so I kept spooning it over the chicken here and there. The other additional step I did was first start with the chicken skin side down, so it soaked up the sauce, then flipped it half way through cooking. The hour cooking time worked perfectly - very moist and nice glaze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I've made these a few times now. Exactly as written, both legs and wings. My husband LOVES them and I especially like that it uses up the honey and soy sauce that seem to be around our house for a long time. So easy to put together and very yummy. I think every ingredient is super important so wouldn't leave anything out. I once served them as an appetizer with both a sweet and sour dip and a spicy chili dip. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      I prepared this tonight for my three children, one of their friends who is sleeping over and my husband. For the first time in YEARS it was completely quiet at the dinner table! It was one of those busy days when I had chicken thawed but had not decided how I was going to cook it. I ran across this recipe and decided to try it because of the rating and reviews. I concur with every other reviewer that this is a winner. I amped up the garlic (we love garlic), let it marinate for about 2 hours, and basted consistently while in the oven. Simple ingredients, quick prep, and a "crowd pleaser" in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      Great recipe! I was looking for a fairly simple recipe. I searched for baked chicken. This was easy and VERY scrumptious. I made it exactly like the recipe said. I didn't know though if it was supposed to be baked covered or uncovered. Since it didn't specify I did it uncovered. I was a little worried that it would be dry baking that long. I decided to flip the chicken several times during the baking time. It tasted fabulous! My sauce was a little thin, but the chicken I had on hand was injected with a water solution, so I'm sure that contributed to the sauce being thin. We spooned it over the chicken and baked potatoes. Yum! fyi- for those of us on Farenheit the degrees should be 350. I had to find a celcius to farenheit converter. Next time I'll try it with butcher-shop chicken to see if the sauce is still thin. Either way, it is absolutely wonderful. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      well I cooked it and I am disappointed. Basically wound up being chicken legs boiled in a sauce that would not even stick to the chicken... and I measured it all out right. Didn't even taste the marinating at all and didn't get any carmelizing on it. Oh well.<br/><br/>a few seconds ago · Like

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This recipe made me sign up so I could join in all the fun. My 5 year old left the TV in her room to come out and find out what that yummy smell was. She gave this 100 stars. It is quite delicious! I tweeked it a little bit. Here's what I did: I made 5lbs of drumsticks so I doubled the sauce (and it was too much but half would not have been enough either so I have saved it and will use it on pork chops later) and added ALOT more garlic- we are Italian and love our garlic, I added about a 1/2 tablespoon of onion powder plus 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. I marinated these little cuties right in the roasting pan for about 6 or 7 hours and then baked them right in the sauce. They took alot longer than an hour. Mine took a little over 2 hours to get the skin the way we like it and to get the glaze to carmelize. Towards the end, I tasted the sauce and thought they just didn't have the flavor I was looking for. They were sweet but that's it. So I squirted a bunch of lemon juice over them, basted them to mix it in a little and finished baking them. They were fabulous! My husband said "I can't stop eating these, they're addictive." Next time, I'll used more cider vinegar and lemon to give them a little more zing. What's nice is that you can easily adjust the recipe to your liking. They are really good! As a matter of fact, the leftovers are calling out to me from the kitchen right now! I think I'll go have one (or 3). Yum!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      I just made this for the first time yesterday. I doubled the recipe with the addition of two heaping teaspoons of Sambal Oelek (thanks William "Uncle Bill" Anatooskin for this suggestion!) and also turned the wings twice during cooking, basting each time. I also turned up the heat for the last 10 minutes plus another 10 minutes in order to caramelize the sauce. The sauce was so delicious that we were spooning it out for dipping and the wings taste even better right out of the refrigerator today! I only gave four stars because the sauce is very thin. I think I may try adding cornstarch to the sauce or dredging the wings in flour next time to see if that helps thicken things up. I may also add a bit more Sambal Oelek to up the heat. This one is definitely worth saving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Everybody loved this. My daughter said the room was quiet lol. I removed the sauce after and boiled it with a little cornstarch poured it back over and baked it at 385 for 10 minutes after cooking and basting at 350 for 1 hour. Will make many more times

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      I used chicken wings (1 oz short of 5 lbs worth - 18 wings in total including tips - ) so I upped the sauce as follows taking into account dietary needs - 3 1/3 T olive oil, 3/4 cup soy sauce (low sodium), 3 1/3 T tomatoe sauce (ketchup). 1/2 cup honey and 5 teaspoons of minced garlic. I poured this over the wings and let them marinate for a few hours and cooked as directed (they were well crowded in the pan) and baked them for 1 hour at 175C fan forced oven and turned them over about half way through the cooking time. Delicious with the sauce drizzled over the rice and steamed vegetables. Of the 18 cooked we ended up with 5 left over and it is a bun fight between the DM and me as to who gets them for lunch tomorrow - so maybe if will have to be a snack for each of us. Thank you djmastermum for a great recipe (which I will be trying with a quartered chicken) , made for Aussie/Kiwi Swap #37 February 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Chicken was full of flavor and very tender and moist. I used drummets, my family loved it!!!Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2014

      This recipe was very easy to make. Instead of Honey I used Franks hot wing sauce. Turned out great. Do not try this if you do not like hot food. I do

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Perfect! Based on previous reviews, I added a cornstarch slurry to the bottom of the foil-lined casserole dish. I marinated the chicken legs overnight to infuse flavor. They were glazed, sweet, and delicious! I have 3 littles in the house (6, 7 and 9) and they ate the chicken off the bone! DD mentioned that it would be easier to eat if there were no bones, but she killed it! Delicious! Served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. Will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Baked Chicken Legs/Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 535.6
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    44%
    Total Fat 26.7 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 157.0 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1538.4 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 36.1 g
    144%
    Protein 37.1 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes