263 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hello DjMastermum; This recipe is so easy to make and turns out absolutely fantastic. I used chicken legs with back attached and the only addition to your recipe was 1 teaspoon of Sambal Oelek. I baked the legs at 350 F for 52 minutes, then turned the heat up to 375 F for 8 minutes. They caramalized to perfection. We had a visitor just as the chicken was finished and even though he had his dinner, he wanted to try the chicken. Well, talk about devouring the chicken and for a moment I thought he was going to eat the bones. Smackin his lips, and wanted the recipe immediately. Thank you so much for a real yummy, yummy chicken recipe. "Uncle Bill"

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William (Uncle Bill) Anatooskin June 29, 2009

These were delish! I boiled my frozen wings for ablout 15 min. to thaw and render some of the fat. I baked them at 400 degrees until they were brown and crispy and then basted them with the sauce. Perfectly carmelized and so good...was glad I had no-stick foil, worked very well! Thanks for posting this recipe!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 January 23, 2011

I've been cooking for 42 years of marriage and have to say this recipe is one of the best for chicken legs. I had 5 pounds of chicken legs and doubled everything but the honey and it came out so delicious. My husband said I could make this every week and he would be happy. A real keeper. Delicious!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tami 2 April 20, 2010

really good but here are the changes i made.
***(if u have time marinate the chicken for few hours before putting in the oven)
****also, the "sauce" will be too thin, so I baste the chicken with it every 20 min or so. Also, after an hour, turn the oven up to 350 and leave chicken there till u see it brown up). Total time for me is about 1.5 hours. And we use a lot more garlic then this!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shyrina November 07, 2011

This was a big hit with my family tonight. I skipped the olive oil, coated the bottoms of my baking pans with non-stick foil and tripled the recipe. I used bone-in breasts, drumsticks and skinned thighs. I turned the pieces halfway through cooking. When the chicken was done, I poured the sauce into a pan and boiled it until it thickened while the chicken rested, then poured the sauce back on. Next time I'm going to add 1/8 cup of Jack Daniels and call it Whiskey Chicken.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NiseyNisey September 26, 2012

This is such a hit in my family. I make it as the recipe says, but I do remove some of the cooking liquid with a turkey baster to help it carmelize. I also cook ribs this way. I've also shared this recipe with several friends and they all rave about it as well. over the past year, I've tweaked this a bit. I find I get better results subbing brown sugar for the honey and using a foil lined cookie sheet to bake the legs on. Removing the skins definitely helps with the caramelization. You also get a lovely coating of sauce if you baste the chicken every 15-20 minutes.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJen May 21, 2010

Wow this is GOOD! I only used 1/2 cup honey and I used about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I also used gluten free soy sauce. I kept skin on chicken and baked it for 45 min. at 350, basting every 15 min and turned them at 30 min. Last 15 min. I turned oven up to 375. So total cooking time was 1 hour. The color was gorgeous and skin crisped nice. My kids LOVED it too which is always a big plus!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3LilCritter March 19, 2009

I prepared this tonight for my three children, one of their friends who is sleeping over and my husband. For the first time in YEARS it was completely quiet at the dinner table! It was one of those busy days when I had chicken thawed but had not decided how I was going to cook it. I ran across this recipe and decided to try it because of the rating and reviews. I concur with every other reviewer that this is a winner. I amped up the garlic (we love garlic), let it marinate for about 2 hours, and basted consistently while in the oven. Simple ingredients, quick prep, and a "crowd pleaser" in my household.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortOrderCook4MyKids July 20, 2012

Made this today for dinner. I did half in crock pot and other half I did in the oven. VERY YUMMY!! . I let mine marinate for 1 hr as it was a last min choice to make. Next time I will let in marinade for longer. They were both so tasty but the crock pot one seem to sock up flavor more and was more tender. Definitely will be making again. I did cut the honey to half a cup and added a tablespoon of dark brown sugar.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pleasecutd23 September 06, 2013

I made this tonight for dinner -- using chicken leg quarters. The only thing I did to tweak it was add more honey than what it calls for - I put about equal parts soy and honey to keep it sweeter and not have the soy overpower. They turned out great! Also, like others have said, it is a little thin at first, so I kept spooning it over the chicken here and there. The other additional step I did was first start with the chicken skin side down, so it soaked up the sauce, then flipped it half way through cooking. The hour cooking time worked perfectly - very moist and nice glaze!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kc3po311 January 29, 2012
Caramelized Baked Chicken Legs/Wings