Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Squares

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2012

      This recipe is great. I love these little squares with tea.

      A note to the prior reviewer who said that cornflour is masa. This is incorrect. Cornflower in British English is actually cornstarch. You need cornstarch for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      WOW! This is incredible! The only chocolate in the house was a bag of Dove dark miniature hearts. I think I'll use Hershey's milk chocolate next time. But this is a terrific recipie! I can see why they're in all the tea shops. They weren't invented yet when I was there because I didn't see them then, but OOOH! I think I need another..... Next time I'll bake it a little less, maybe 20 minutes and 15. The shortbread is very crunchy and I think I prefer a little tenderer cookie. The edges of the carmel layer are chewey and crunchy--delicious! We'll see how they age and mellow--if they last till tomorrow. The cook keeps going back for samples! (LOL) This is a great one! Sorry, (not really) this is not diet fare. Great with hot tea or ice cold milk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      It's millionaire's shortbread!! I made this for a cake sale in school and it was sold out within 2 minutes. Very rich and fairly expensive but totally worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      It was very difficult to make these and not get to try them for a day and a half!! It was my family reunion and we have a dessert contest and I wanted to win. So I searched this site for just the right dish, one that would hold up abd not have to be referidgerated because we were camping and there just wast space! So this recipe popped out at me and I said "That's the one!" I went to 3 stores before I figured out what the corn flour was, Masa, lol! Then I got to make them, and they were very easy to make, which I love! They smelled sooo!! good!! But I wanted to win so alone I left it. Saturday afternoon came and I was telling everyone that I was going to win the dessert contest this year. Well then we decided to put it off until dinner because it was hot and we were going to play volleyball and/or go to the river. So after dinner I bring out my caramel squares, they sit next an oreo pie, berry cobbler, and cheese cake. Four plates get made for the judges, all kids by the way, and they all picked mine!! Can't thank you enough for the Frischman Family Reunion Dessert Winner 2010!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This is a fabulous recipe. The caramel in particular is wonderful. Personally, I would like a little bit more shortbread so next time I will increase by about 50%. Many thanks Mille

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      These were excellent! Everyone loved them. The only thing I did differently was to place the chocolate (I used Doves miniture milk chocolates) on the bars while they were still warm. Then when the chocolates melted all you have to do is spread them over the bars. I can't wait to try more recipes. Thanx so much for posting this!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      Good and rich but mine boiled over in the oven and had a real mess. Had to clean the oven before using again. Put a sheet pan underneath so it doesn't happen to you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      It's shortbread topped with caramel topped with chocolate - how could it possibly be anything but decadently delicious?? Sooo beautifully rich! Like Countrywife, I too would bake these a little less the next time, as the crust did turn out a little dry and fragile around the edges. Tastewise it makes little difference though. I'm off to have another one. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      My mom makes these..she calls them twix squares because they are like the chocolate bars. I have saved and next time I need squares they are on my list..they are yummy. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      The only way i can describe theese little delectable morseles,"Out of this world". I wish i could give it 10 stares. Recently i have been craving caramely stuff and this was spot on. I Baked my crust for 21 minutes and the caramel layer for 17 minutes, the results was soft with abit off crispy caramel on the sides. I didnt put any chocolate on becauce the only chocholate i had on hand was Lindt dark chocolate taking another reviwers advice I thought it would be to intense and ruin the taste so i left it out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      These were just wonderful!!! Thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Thank you so much Mille for sharing this unique square. I made this for my neighbors birthday, it was gone instantly. I made the square in a 9" springform pan, so that it looked like a giant cookie. It turned out great. I've since made this several times. Thanks for a new keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      Absolutely amazing and straightforward to make. I made them for a themed potluck where everyone brought a dish from the country from which their ancestors originated. They went like hotcakes! I can't wait to make them, actually I should say eat them, again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Really tastey but the caramel layer was a little think relative to the other layers. I would reduce this by a bout 1/3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      My SIL made these for our Christmas party and they were terrific. She did cook the shortbread base for the time specified and it was too crunchy. When I make these I will cook the base less. BTW, people were trying to hide portions of this to take home. It also freezes well IF you have any leftovers. And you can eat it right out of the freezer if you like ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (1162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.4
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    59%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 24.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 88.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes