13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My whole house smells wonderful! I have a batch on the stove now, and it tastes divine. One caution: Be careful with that caramel! I had it just right, turned off the heat, then stepped away for just a few seconds to get a spatula, and the retained heat burnt it black! No problem; I started over, but...newbies to caramelizing, be warned.

I'll make this again, for sure. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante September 01, 2011

Let me join with the other reviewers and say awesome stuff! While I have enjoyed this recipe before I have never made it myself until yesterday. My food mill has be relegated to the abyss that is called a garage so the pears were cored and peeled before the first cooking. My stick blender was used to puree them. The yield was 6 cups so I decided to reduce the amount of sugar by 1 cup. Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice was used for the spices. The finished product was still sweet enough for us. A splatter screen was used during the final cooking and is highly recommended. The caramelized sugar gives this butter the beautiful color. Carol, thank you for the pears and for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 23, 2011

I never did go for the butters but decided I'd better do something with all those apples and pears I gathered this summer. The caramel gives this recipe some major wow factor, Thanks for sharing. I've made it twice this week, it's lovely!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicest of the damned October 09, 2011

This is so yummy! Had to make two batches this year. I use 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead of the cloves. This is a must for my Sunday table.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melzsong November 06, 2009

Mmmmm. Cooked the pears in the crock pot (no added water) and did not get 9 cups so added a little less sugar; was still very sweet. Looks beautiful - darker than reg. pear butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mangiamo September 25, 2008

This is the best pear butter I have ever eaten. I will be making this often. Anyone know if I can substitute apples?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chercpa January 20, 2015

This is so delicious! We made this a couple of years ago and have so many pears that we're making 3 batches this year! People BEG us for a jar...this is going to make excellent gifts this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Aunt CC September 28, 2013

I just completed making 37 pints of this recipe - it is awesome. My two boys are asking for it on their toast before school tomorrow (and my boys are very picky eaters). I did follow the recipe for the first batch but the remaining batches I dropped the sugar down to 4 cups and was still plenty sweet enough. I was a little scaried at my first attempt at making the Carmel but each batch turned out perfect. Would highly recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet - Ohio September 10, 2012

This is super easy to make and so flavorful. I gave some away as gifts and they keep asking for jars! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha in Ut December 21, 2011

Super pear butter. We had a whole box of pears from the FFA fruit sale (if your FFA does fruit sales support them, the fruit is the best, the orange juice is GREAT, and locally we have great meat and cheese (Wisconsin). Anyhow you'll be in fruit heaven. The only thing better would be your own ochard. With our small family I knew I would be canning, and I'm SO glad I picked this. The best, and pretty easy. My son asked if he could eat it all day...he's 2 1/2 so I would take that as a compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 January 03, 2010
Caramel Spice Pear Butter