Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Spice Pear Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Spice Pear Butter

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2011

      My whole house smells wonderful! I have a batch on the stove now, and it tastes divine. One caution: Be careful with that caramel! I had it just right, turned off the heat, then stepped away for just a few seconds to get a spatula, and the retained heat burnt it black! No problem; I started over, but...newbies to caramelizing, be warned.

      I'll make this again, for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      Let me join with the other reviewers and say awesome stuff! While I have enjoyed this recipe before I have never made it myself until yesterday. My food mill has be relegated to the abyss that is called a garage so the pears were cored and peeled before the first cooking. My stick blender was used to puree them. The yield was 6 cups so I decided to reduce the amount of sugar by 1 cup. Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice was used for the spices. The finished product was still sweet enough for us. A splatter screen was used during the final cooking and is highly recommended. The caramelized sugar gives this butter the beautiful color. Carol, thank you for the pears and for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      I never did go for the butters but decided I'd better do something with all those apples and pears I gathered this summer. The caramel gives this recipe some major wow factor, Thanks for sharing. I've made it twice this week, it's lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      This is so yummy! Had to make two batches this year. I use 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead of the cloves. This is a must for my Sunday table.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Mmmmm. Cooked the pears in the crock pot (no added water) and did not get 9 cups so added a little less sugar; was still very sweet. Looks beautiful - darker than reg. pear butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      This is so delicious! We made this a couple of years ago and have so many pears that we're making 3 batches this year! People BEG us for a jar...this is going to make excellent gifts this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      I just completed making 37 pints of this recipe - it is awesome. My two boys are asking for it on their toast before school tomorrow (and my boys are very picky eaters). I did follow the recipe for the first batch but the remaining batches I dropped the sugar down to 4 cups and was still plenty sweet enough. I was a little scaried at my first attempt at making the Carmel but each batch turned out perfect. Would highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      This is super easy to make and so flavorful. I gave some away as gifts and they keep asking for jars! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Super pear butter. We had a whole box of pears from the FFA fruit sale (if your FFA does fruit sales support them, the fruit is the best, the orange juice is GREAT, and locally we have great meat and cheese (Wisconsin). Anyhow you'll be in fruit heaven. The only thing better would be your own ochard. With our small family I knew I would be canning, and I'm SO glad I picked this. The best, and pretty easy. My son asked if he could eat it all day...he's 2 1/2 so I would take that as a compliment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. The whole family LOVES IT!!! Will be making it from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I just love this recipe.Thank you for sharing it.My kids eat it on all most every thing.It's really good on ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      OMG this is yummy and looks lovely in jar. Thanks for the recipe. I even shared a jar with my neighbor who told me it's love in a jar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Spice Pear Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (4381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 691.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    47%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 179.9 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 162.2 g
    648%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites