18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This square is awesome

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cullinaryjudge February 10, 2003

Fantastic !! I didnt have corn syrup so I added golden syrup.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carly75 May 07, 2003

These are very good. They sever them normally around here at bake sales... I can never resist.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamma Lamma April 12, 2004

I too used golden syrup instead of corn syrup and baked for 30 minutes. I've made them twice, and both times i only managed a piece before everyone finishes them. But it's so easy i'll be making them again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara March 22, 2004

Great recipe!I really enjoyed them. I did however find that it took about 30 minutes in the oven for the shortbread to be done. The caramel sauce is just plain yummmy. This recipe reminds me of a twix bar. I definately will be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI January 01, 2004

I'm making my second batch (now doubled!) as I type this review. Just exactly how my mum makes it! The first lot was practically inhaled! Just to add, I live in Scotland and corn syrup isn't available here so I used golden syrup. Now I can buy dulce de leche in a can so use that sometimes for convenience.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkydelia April 29, 2010

This was very good. My niece said it was her new favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbpaul April 18, 2010

Very good! Reminded me of Twix bars too. Bonus that it's easy to make. I melt the chips on a low setting in the microwave (I don't have a double boiler), then I spread it on top of the cooled caramel. Thanks for the recipe! (Just came back to add another star - I don't know why I only gave it 4. These are delicious!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L00k December 19, 2009

I am going to give it 0 stars because I am not sure if it was 'user error' on my part. This didn't work at all. The shortbread did not connect with the carmel. I used milk chocolate and it was way too sweat. All in all, a mess that ended up being thrown in the garbage. Here were potential problems: 2/3 cup of butter, is that melted? Flour: what kind, I used all purpose but clearly that didn't work out well for me? Corn syrup - light or dark? I used light.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katwomyn December 22, 2008

these were so easy to put together and tasted very similar to a twix bar.... but better! I did add an extra 1/4 cup of graham cracker crumbs to the shortbread base. I also used the full can of sweetened condensed milk instead of just a 1/2 cup. I also added 1 tes. of vanilla to the caramel once i took it off the heat. and one last thing.... i added nuts to the caramel too. Thanks for sharing such a great candy treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sari #2 November 20, 2008
Caramel Shortbread squares