24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow!!!! This is as good a caramel sauce as I've ever tasted. It's extremely fast and easy to make but be careful of the color of the syrup. The first batch I made I allowed the syrup to turn dark amber then removed it from the heat. It continued to cook and ended up burning so the second batch I made I took it off the heat when it turned a light amber color. After I added the cream it continued to darken but turned out perfect when all was said and done. Thanks for sharing this one. It's definately a keeper!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka March 20, 2010

Scrumptious! I didn't have any cream on the day I intended to make this (a Sunday) and supermarkets aren't open here, so I took a risk and used full-fat evaporated milk. It turned out just great and was a great sauce over Mean's Apple Cake.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 24, 2003

This is the the real deal. The only add was 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winecook1 May 28, 2012

Great sauce! Watch...it does burn fast! Take the pot off just before it gets really dark as it cooks after leaving the stove!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl October 25, 2014

Ok, I give this recipe 5 stars for taste, but 3 stars for directions, which are very unclear on the timing. I cooked the sugar, water, corn syrup for at least 10 minutes and it still didn't look dark amber in color. I started to get nervous that it would set up like a rock cooking it so long, so I took it off the stove and then added cream. When it cooled, it looked like light tan milk. Any suggestions on how long you cook it to make it turn amber in color? Ball park time would be better than nothing in the directions. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan 'nVegas May 16, 2011

Wow, this is dangerously delicious! I used 1 cup of cream because I don't want to go through the hassle of heating it up when I want to use it. I can't vouch for the pourable factor, because I couldn't wait for it to cool to rate it! It is awesome. I won't buy the jar stuff anymore. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz January 23, 2011

This is a fantastic, easy, clear recipe and the results are delicious! I use this for dessert garnishes. Absolutely lovely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain November 30, 2009

Delicious! I used 3/4c Skim Lactose Free milk (what can ya do when your kid is lactose intolerant?) and then added about 1/4c or so powdered fat free milk. It worked perfectly! Yum Yum YUM!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook February 12, 2009

We love it! I pack it in my kids' lunches with sliced apples. It's good drizzled over brownies and tarts, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatheraauclair November 02, 2008

You werent'kidding when you stated that the hot cream would "bubble up furiously"...folks, pour slowly! I used light cream (5%) because that's what I had on hand, but I did increase the amount to 1 cup, because I would like it pourable at room temp. I also used light corn syrup. The end result is still a deep amber sauce, very smooth. I made this to drizzle over #120722.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada April 13, 2008
Caramel Sauce