Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Sauce

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      Wow!!!! This is as good a caramel sauce as I've ever tasted. It's extremely fast and easy to make but be careful of the color of the syrup. The first batch I made I allowed the syrup to turn dark amber then removed it from the heat. It continued to cook and ended up burning so the second batch I made I took it off the heat when it turned a light amber color. After I added the cream it continued to darken but turned out perfect when all was said and done. Thanks for sharing this one. It's definately a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      Scrumptious! I didn't have any cream on the day I intended to make this (a Sunday) and supermarkets aren't open here, so I took a risk and used full-fat evaporated milk. It turned out just great and was a great sauce over Mean's Apple Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      This is the the real deal. The only add was 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Ok, I give this recipe 5 stars for taste, but 3 stars for directions, which are very unclear on the timing. I cooked the sugar, water, corn syrup for at least 10 minutes and it still didn't look dark amber in color. I started to get nervous that it would set up like a rock cooking it so long, so I took it off the stove and then added cream. When it cooled, it looked like light tan milk. Any suggestions on how long you cook it to make it turn amber in color? Ball park time would be better than nothing in the directions. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Wow, this is dangerously delicious! I used 1 cup of cream because I don't want to go through the hassle of heating it up when I want to use it. I can't vouch for the pourable factor, because I couldn't wait for it to cool to rate it! It is awesome. I won't buy the jar stuff anymore. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This is a fantastic, easy, clear recipe and the results are delicious! I use this for dessert garnishes. Absolutely lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Delicious! I used 3/4c Skim Lactose Free milk (what can ya do when your kid is lactose intolerant?) and then added about 1/4c or so powdered fat free milk. It worked perfectly! Yum Yum YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      We love it! I pack it in my kids' lunches with sliced apples. It's good drizzled over brownies and tarts, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      You werent'kidding when you stated that the hot cream would "bubble up furiously"...folks, pour slowly! I used light cream (5%) because that's what I had on hand, but I did increase the amount to 1 cup, because I would like it pourable at room temp. I also used light corn syrup. The end result is still a deep amber sauce, very smooth. I made this to drizzle over #120722.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      This is unbelievable. I served this atop a cinnamon apple cake and it was a great fall dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Good, easy to make if directions are followed exactly. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      I can't believe that I made this sauce with skim milk (it was all I had) and it was still delicious! I drizzled the sauce over some butter flavored microwave popcorn. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      To say I thoroughly enjoyed this caramel sauce would be an understatement. I'm sure the look on my face was positively indecent, eyes all rolled in the back of my head, and drool running down my chin. :) I served this over some fresh pineapple slices that had been sprinkled with brown sugar, cinnamon and minced fresh ginger and then broiled. Ummmm,mmmmm, good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      Great burned sugar flavor in this sauce, and not at all as difficult to make as it sounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      This is a great caramel sauce and not as difficult as some reviewers would have you believe (LOL)...I thought my sugar burned because it was darker than amber in spots and then still clear in spots but I took a leap of faith and stirred it with 3/4 c cream and the vanilla and it was very good! Perfect consistency at room temperature. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      This recipe makes a delicious caramel sauce! I had to do it twice as my first batch was badly burned and stuck to the pan, but when I slowed down a bit and used a thermometer, it came out perfect. I used a full cup of cream and it does indeed make a perfectly pourable sauce at room temp. I will make this again in larger quantities and keep it around for all the ice cream I make. Thanks for a great recipe and dirrections.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Easy and oh so yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      I have made this twice now. The first time I think I might have slightly over cooked it, but the second time I was much more careful with keeping the heat lower, and taking it off the heat a little faster. The second time the sauce was PERFECT! Creamy and sooo good. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2004

      YUM!!! And it only took me 3 tries!! Ok, I kept burning the sugar - I wonder if the temp 380 is correct? The 3rd try I just watched closely and bagged the thermometer. I used a cup of cream and had a nice sauce for homemade ice cream tonight. It's a winner with us, glad I kept on trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      This was the BEST caramel sauce I have ever had (my first time making it homemade), I used mine to make caramel, chocolate n nut covered apples...they were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sweet Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1453.6
     
    Calories from Fat 603
    41%
    Total Fat 67.0 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 42.0 g
    210%
    Cholesterol 224.0 mg
    74%
    Sodium 52.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 218.2 g
    72%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 205.2 g
    821%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites