Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Puff Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Puff Corn

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2008

      We LOVE this ! It just couldn't get any better. One little secret? Cook the sugar/butter mixture to about 310 - 320 degrees. ((hard crack stage). If you don't boil it at least to that temp, the caramel never "sets" and the caramel corn is chewy and spongy, not crisp and hard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I just wanted to say that this is just terrific! I have had this many times, but have never made it. In response to The NovakFamilys review, some of us really like "Homemade" better than pre-made, store bought. I did vary from the recipe a little, I love Caramel Corn with Peanuts, so I added Peanuts to this and it just made it so much better!!! Like many others stated, just like Caramel corn with out the old maids or hulls! Thank you very much for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      My family loves this. I've made it for slumber parties, super bowl parties, and New Year's Eve. It always goes fast. I spray my roaster pan first. Don't know if I need to but it works for me. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      I also used imitation maple syrup because that is what I had on hand. I tossed the puffy corn with roasted peanuts and cashews, too. I added 1 Tbsp ground cinnamon and 1/4 tsp ground cayene pepper to the caramel. It turned out sweet, salty, and a bit spicy. It hits on the high notes! My family loved it. We will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe! I've been making it for 2 years now and everytime I have to hand out the recipe! This is so easy and addictive. I line my roaster with release foil because I worry about it sticking. Thank you so much for such a crowd pleaser!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This was much easier and way better than traditional caramel corn I did boil it to hard crack stage to get a better set and used stoneware roasters, they don't burn on the bottom. In the Midwest, the puffed corn is called O-Ke-Doke. People have been doing this type of recipe at holidays for years, but the recipe was always on the back of the bag so no one wrote it down. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Warning: you need to make a double batch of this because it doesn't last long in my house. We take a handful everytime we walk by. Very addicting. Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      I made this for thank you gifts for around thanksgiving and got so many compliments on how good it is! I am planning on adding it to Christmas gift baskets because it is always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      SO ADDICTING!! We call it crack-corn in my house because it is so addicting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      this is sooooo good!! Very addicting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I've made this three times and every time after it has cooked only 10 min it is burnt to a crisp...smoking in the oven. What an I doing wrong. Put it on parchment paper to cook. And used real butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      My family and I couldn't stop eating these! Will be making more next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Wow this stuff is way too good! I doubled it and it was worth every calorie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      We call this candy CRACK. It is so addictive. It is best if you add nuts of some sort. I use peanuts. Also, add Bugles, the corn chip saltiness blends beautifully with the caramel. The combo of the puffed corn, Bugles, and peanuts is awesome and addictive. It is super important to cook the caramel the right amount of time also. IF not the stuff is spongy. Best snack ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      Very addicting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This is awesome! A coworker brought a huge batch to the office as her birthday treat, and most of us just had to get the recipe! I've been making this for parties for years and everybody loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Super easy and makes a ton. Easily covered all of the puffcorn (I used Old Dutch.) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      I cooked the sugar/butter mixture to hard crack stage and when I poured it over the puff corn, it was a gooey carmel and was really hard to distribute. I'm actually separating it by hand to try and get the dry pieces coated. I need to double the recipe for the coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I used imitation maple syrup instead of Karo because that's what I had and it turned out pretty good. Tastes like you're eating waffles! Mmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Pretty Darn Good- I have made a similar recipe before with less caramel but this one had plenty to cover every last piece. We also made a batch using bugles and walnuts instead of puffed corn. very yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Puff Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    53%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 32.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 203.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes