98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is quick, easy and tastes great! I like that it uses 1 micro. bag because that's what I usually have on hand. There was plenty of caramel to coat all the corn evenly and it crisped up nicely. One warning, know your microwave. Mine seems pretty powerful, so I used the lowest of the times listed. I almost, but not quite, burnt it in the last step. Store in an airtight container?!? Ha, there won't be any left!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmish June 15, 2003

Wooohoo!! Fun, fast and delicious! I just made homemade microwave popcorn (1/3 cup popcorn in a paper bag) and 1/3 cup Spanish peanuts and it worked like a charm, just the right amounts. I love the suggestion from another reviewer who makes this for Christmas gifts for neighbors, great idea. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 11, 2015

Super easy to make, without making a mess like other recipes. If you have a new microwave cut the time in half and you get better results. Great taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yobela Mty May 25, 2014

So easy and yummy! Followed the recipe exactly, only changed the last cooking time step. My microwave is 1100 watts, so I would micro for 40 second intervals, then stir. Only took me about 90 seconds to see that my caramel would get the right "crunch". Very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingMama34 October 15, 2013

I make this all the time it is soooo easy, made in minutes. Hubby loves it!! I make 2 batches at a time. Microwave the sugar, butter and syrup for about 5 1/2 minutes. I don't microwave again after adding caramel to popcorn. I just add the vanilla and baking soda pour over popcorn and spread in a sheet cake pan...and poof all gone in minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrlyhny December 27, 2012

Was delicious. Used agave nectar instead of corn syrup. Added salt. The salt rocked. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel August 27, 2012

delicious... a tip: don't touch the caramel with your fingers when you are mixing the popcorn into it. ouch. also, i needed 2 bags of microwave popcorn to come up with 2 quarts. i also have a high-powered microwave, so 4 mins making the caramel, then after the popcorn/nuts were added i started with 1 and a half mins, stirred, 30 more seconds, stirred, and then a final 30 seconds, and stirred one more time. awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squirrelly71 July 10, 2012

After making this I can well understand all the excellent ratings. I used leftover movie popcorn and add in about 1/4 to 1/3 cup peanuts. The popcorn was gradually added and I had no problems coating it. This will be my go to recipe for caramel corn. Thanks much for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 09, 2012

Wow. This is so yummy! Melt caramel one minute at a time. Mine overboiled in the microwave. Delish--thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages January 30, 2012

Really good! My kids love this. I popped 1 cup of kernels in an air popper, cooked my caramel on the stove (about 5 minutes after starting to boil), and then added the popcorn at the very end. I also just used an unlined cookie sheet to cool on, worked fine! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarAddict7 January 21, 2012
Caramel Popcorn (not too sweet or sticky)