55 Reviews

My roomate and I threw a Halloween party...she went out and bought a zillion of individually wrapped carmel candies to make carmel popcorn. What a waste! Being a vegan, I used this recipe and substituted margarine for butter. Yum. Most people told me (away from my roomate's ears) that mine was much better :-) P.S. Very sticky stuff...if you have any dental appliance, I don't recommend this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seebee November 08, 2003

I don't usually review a recipe that has over 20 reviews already - I mean, we get it - it's a good recipe, but this...this is worth another review. I love caramel and caramel (usually) hates me - I can't make it...ever. My family laughs at me, but it is true. Anyway, I can make this! And it is great! Double win! This is a superb recipe - not a ton of ingredients (and all in my pantry) and good, clear instructions that yield a fabulous result. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janecooksswell December 08, 2013

I used half coconut oil and half butter... And also lined pans with parchment paper to make easy cleanup... Excellent and will definitely make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taffyrn June 01, 2011

This tasted delicious! I recommend using a paper grocery sack to do the mixing. Just put the popcorn in the bag, and pour the caramel in, close the bag and shake. It makes cleaning up very easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Rampage February 05, 2010

I did a trial run of this recipe to use for Christmas gifts, and my kids ate it faster than I could bag it! It is really simple to make and the results are fabulous. I added pecans instead of peanuts, and everyone was digging for the carmelized pecans. I do recommend getting a thin layer of popcorn on the pan when it goes into the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinOT December 04, 2006

Thank you Carol :) We loved this recipe & can't wait to see mom's reaction when she tastes it. Stirring constantly, I brought the butter, brown sugar, corn syrup & salt (1 teaspoon) mixture to a boil. Then I let it boil untouched for about 4-5 minutes. Off the heat I added the baking soda & vanilla. And then poured it over the popped corn & mixed like crazy! I used 2 greased baking sheets & every 15 minutes I tossed & mixed the popcorn up. It was very simple to make & an easy clean up (use vegetable spray & there is very little stick). I will try it again with maple syrup (shame on me, I live in maple syrup country & have run out!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodi B. February 20, 2003

My husband and I loved this recipe. I sent this recipe to a friend and she loved it too. It is a great gift idea and I intend to make it again and again...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela October 04, 2002

Amazing recipe! Stirring every 20 min made the caramel coat nice and even. The whole family loved it! Will be making again (if our sweet tooths survive this batch)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikita M. August 28, 2015

This recipe is 3 titty good! I mean few recipes live up to my tastes. This one will make you wish you had three hands to shovel it in faster. Wickedly good and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bianchiandassoc August 13, 2015

Love it and can't wait to try it with different nuts and maple syrup. I made a smaller amount as I did not have a lot of popcorn, All the directions were easy to follow except #8, STORE. It never made it that far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KyraGW February 11, 2014
Caramel Popcorn