16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow were these good. Sinfully good. Blew my Weight Watchers points for the day, but BOY were they worth it!!!! Sent some to my Gramps who loves nuts and carmel! Thanks for another yummy pecan recipe!!`

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie April 15, 2003

We had my in-laws over for dinner. This is what I served for dessert. Very delicious. Rich and ooey-gooey. I used 1 cup of chocolate morsels and that gave a good chocolate flavor but didn't overpower the pecans and caramel flavor. Very easy and we sure enjoyed them. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annalisa March 18, 2003

I made these this weekend;they are sinfully rich and super delicious! Thank you for those pecans.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage December 09, 2002

I actually have the exact same recipe that I clipped from a Penzey's Spice catalog. It suggests cutting these while they're warm, but they come apart, and the crust crumbles. I let them set a good three hours and they are hard to cut, but very good. I likes the sweet from the chocolate, and the salty from the butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Close February 21, 2010

So good! Just added a bit of coffee to the chocolate for an even more sinful taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medieval wench December 02, 2009

These are so good, I've made them several times and everyone always loves them. I've made it doubling the cookie bottom, and I've made it doubling the caramel (had to add 10 minutes to the cooking time for that one). Absolutely delicious recipe, thanks Pan Nam.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup November 25, 2009

Overall these are good, much like pecans, butter, brown sugar, and chocolate are good together. However, we all found it very sweet. I made it exactly to the directions, but the main thing I would recommend would be to back down the chocolate chips or ensure you use a chip that is 60% cacao or greater. I would think 1/2 cup chocolate chips would be plenty. This truly made a thick layer that was much like eating a cookie bar with a layer of fudge on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newgene November 26, 2014

Chocolate lovers rejoice - this is soooo chocolaty, rich and good. Goes together so easy and the carmel, nut, chocolate combination is to die for. I have to add - DH came back to say these are his ALL TIME favs and this from a man who does NOT like sweets. This is a must for our holiday tray and I'm sure will disappear fast. Made for Photo Forum 2010 Holiday event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 February 12, 2011

What's not to love about all those sticks of butter! I usually make extra caramel--use 3/4 cup sugar and 2 sticks of butter (no measuring and I am lazy). Took these to work the first time I made them and they lasted 1/2 hour in an office of 7 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiecorner August 18, 2008

Everyone at game night gobbled these up but I am only giving 4 stars because I had a super thick crust and not enough pecan "stuff" for my tastes. I would make this again with revisions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandyberry January 07, 2007
Caramel Pecan Bars