Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Gold Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Gold

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2009

      This is one of my favorite recipes!!! I can't stop eating them. These are a sugary addiction you cannot resist, plain or dipped! It's nice and chewy, which sadly makes it hard to cut. Could be made in a slightly larger pan, this fills up fairly high and takes a long time to set up. Couldn't find a 15 ounce can of sweetened condensed milk, 14 ounces works perfectly. I will definitely be making this many times more. THANK YOU michEgan!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      A bazillion stars for Caramel Gold. *smack me, because...* I can't believe I haven't written a review for this FABULOUS, PERFECT carmel recipe, yet. I've been using this recipe, exclusively, since 2004. This is the best. No question. I make it every year for Christmas and do all sorts of different things with it. It's my family's favorite caramel, ever! I apologize for not giving you the accolades you deserve, years ago. *blush* Thank you so much for sharing, michEgan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      We loved this, especially my dh. We ate it all before I could try to make the turtles. But I am looking forward to making them in the future. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      AMAZING! This recipe is perfect, easy to follow. If you follow the instructions carefully, you'll end up with nice, chewy yet solid, delicious candy!! I made this recipe for the first time to enter in the county fair "caramel confectionery" category & won first place!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I love, love, love this recipe!! It turned out perfect! I will use this recipe for many years to come, thank you so much for sharing!! Greatness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Very good - but be careful and don't get impatient with the burner setting. It will scorch if turned higher than the medium noted in the recipe. 245 degrees worked well - a great dipping chocolate is the ghiarardelli candy making and dipping bar - double chocolate - big size sold at Sam's Club.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      WOW! I'm so glad I gave your recipe a chance. I have been a turtle making fool the last few days! I brought them to a huge gathering and EVERYONE loved them and couldn't believe how decadent they were. I have no need for any other recipe for caramel again. I've been just melting the Hershey's milk chocolate chips for my turtles. Due to the fact that the caramel is soft it must be kept refrigerated. My only issue is the fact that you CANNOT use the waxed paper suggested, not even greased it sticks so bad! No biggie! Thanks, Reefbubbles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      I cannot describe how good these are.The photos of these morsels looked so tasty I just had to make them.Am I glad I did!!I chopped up 1 cup of almonds and mixed them in with the caramel after it was taken off the heat.I cooled it to room temperature and then put it in the fridge for about 1/2 hour.They were so easy to cut.I made them into small cubes and am,right now,in the process of dipping them in milk chocolate.I'm just trying a few to see how I like them with the chocolate.They are so tasty already,I'm not sure if they can be improved upon.Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      My goodness! When michEgan said it was EXCELLENT, she wasn't kidding. I have never had any caramels (homemade or from any candy story) as perfect as these. They were creamy and flavorful with the perfect chewiness (I thought 245F was perfect--firm but easily chewed). I mixed in a cup of pecan pieces before I poured them out, but next time I would use 2 cups so they will be nice and nutty. Only cut them as you use them and keep them wrapped up in plastic wrap or they will get sticky. I found that if I set them out on a dessert tray they would stick to each other and the plate so I decided to dip them in chocolate for better presentation. I would also dip the bottoms of the turtles in chocolate as well--otherwise, they will stick to the serving dish. I used Baker's Microwaveable Real Milk Chocolate Dipping sauce because I was in a hurry and it was readily available and had fabulous results. I stuck the cut caramels in the freezer before dipping so the chocolate would set up quickly. Better than store-bought! HIGHLY recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Oh yeah, this was good. I turned it into turtles. I'll be making this one again. It's going to be such a nice surprise in my goodie baskets this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Thanks for posting this recipe!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this forever. I made it last night! AMAZING!!!! I will definitly make again. Next time I am going to make turtles out of it. Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      This was my first sucessful batch of caramels. I think I may have the hang of them now. These were good, but I think I need to cut back on the stovetop time, maybe to 10-12 minutes. These caramels came out very stiff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      This caramel was UNBELIEVEABLE!!!!! I made turtles and caramel candies. It was easy and absolutely amazing. Cleaning the warm caramel out of the pot at the end was a phenomenal experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      I am only adding to the reviews to let people know they can buy silpats or silicon liners that will allow anything put on them to come off like a charm. Nothing and I mean Nothing sticks to them. They can also take the heat. I'll be using one with this recipe as soon as I get a chance. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Perfect caramel. I cooked until exactly 245ยบ. Delicious as is. I decided to make turtle bars - a layer of pecans on the bottom of the pan, then the caramel, then some more pecans on top, followed by a thin layer (4 oz) of melted semi-sweet chocolate. Then I cut them into 1" squares. WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      A tasty, easy to make recipe. We live in a humid area, so when we made the first batch to 240 degrees, it set, but was still soft. We ran this second batch up to 247 degrees, and it appears to be much firmer. We like our caramels fluffy in texture, so I whipped it with my mixer as soon as we pulled it off the stove. Parchment paper is MUCH better than wax paper, and while still a bit sticky, the candies pull right off. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Simply excellent! Don't wait for a special occasion or holiday to make these wonderful treats, spoil yourself and your family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      i made the turtles with this but my only problem was I didn't set out enough pecan halve. So with the left over caramel I added pecan halves to the caramel and poured in a buttered dish. Once set I covered the turtles with chocolate, cut what was in the dish and placed on wax paper and coved with chocolate. The cut squares were more popular than than the turtles. (each has more nuts) Thanks for sharing, I'll add this one to my Christmas cooking each year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      UGH! I wrote a big long glowing review of this recipe and then the website asked for my email address and password. I entered them and then got a blank form so I don't think it submitted! I'll have to give the short version this time: 1. This recipe is awesome. The caramels have awesome flavor, color, and texture. This is a huge improvement over the very touchy recipe I've used in the past. 2. 245 degrees is fine for cut caramels...they are hard to cut but hold their shape and are pretty and delicious. I think for caramels it came out a bit too hard...I'll back off by 5-10 degrees next time. (My candy thermometer doesn't have "firm ball" but I think I'll stop near "soft ball"). 3. Attention turtle novices: Don't make them on wax paper! I could've cried! Make them on a buttered plate or cookie sheet and I think after a short stay in the freezer they'll pop right off. I had to tear the wax paper and IRON the individual turtles to get them off. It worked but was a lot of unnecessary pain to fix the problem. 4. This is a great recipe; thanks for sharing. I will add it to my stash of favorites. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Gold

    Serving Size: 1 (1492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.5
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    34%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 52.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 222.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 66.9 g
    267%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes