63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good, very sweet! Make sure you cut into small squares. Followed recipe exactly. I will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicole_fain December 21, 2009

WAY too sweet. "Rich" isn't the right word....they are just way too sweet. I renamed these Diabetic Coma bars instead, and I had to cut them into bite-size pieces because nobody could eat a whole one. If I were to make this again, I'd cut back on the chocolate chips as another reviewer suggested, I'd put in less caramel, and I'd cut the brown sugar in the crust/crumb layers to one cup MAX.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa in CO December 20, 2009

Yummy!!! Definitely cook it longer than 15 minutes at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabelle's Mom December 16, 2009

This was a $400 winner in BHG recipes. It is also called Oatmeal chocloate caramelitas. Gooey, yes, but not messy. I love these! (See Oatmeal Carmelitas)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanniedbc December 15, 2009

Fabulous! Made these this afternoon, was very easy and took practically no time at all. The only change from the original recipe was that I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and baked it 30 mins after adding the final layer as suggested in the reviews. DELICIOUS! Thank you so much for posting. A new favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst November 08, 2009

I was in the mood to bake and didn't have any vanilla but I did have some caramel apple dip leftover. These were very good and rich. My husband said he wanted to eat the whole thing in one sitting. I halved the recipe and made it in an 8x8 pan. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis August 29, 2009

I also received rave reviews when I made these for a company pot-luck. Instead of Milk Chocolate, I used Semi-Sweet and will do the same when I make them again. Next time I plan to add some chopped nuts and shredded coconut with the chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrapper Fisk April 24, 2009

These are delicious however the baking time was way off for me. I had to bake them about 25 minutes instead of 15 like the recipe says. I have already made them 3 times just over the past month for a couple different holiday parties and they have been a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHARRISON December 29, 2008

Excellent recipe. I used a 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips, and it turned out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather in Georgia December 21, 2008
Caramel Chocolate Bars