Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Chocolate Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Chocolate Bars

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2002

      WOW YUMMY! Can't rate this one less than a fiver! EXTREMELY RICH...I suggest cutting the tray into 24 pieces :) I used butter instead of margarine and also only had a 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips, but otherwise followed to a T. Suggestion: I would not use more than a 12 ounce bag...these are very, very chocolatey (a GOOD thing)! These were easy to make, too, so 5 stars all around. Thanks for posting...will be making these often. P.S. Posted a picture that absolutely cannot show how yummy these are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2003

      Yum! My family loved these bars. The bars were very rich, very sweet, and very good. I used a bag of milk chocolate chips (that's what was on hand) and I think that I will try semi sweet chips the next time. That will be soon because my son keeps asking me to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      DELICIOUS! A little too gooey, if that's possible. I'd probably cut the caramel to 1/2 cup and just use 1- 1/2 cups chocolate chips, just to make them easier to cut and serve. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      As is, this recipe is way too sweet for me. The chocolate chips overwhelm the caramel flavor. I followed other reviews and cut them to 12 oz and it was still too much. However, the crust is FANTASTIC and I will make this recipe again, next time with more caramel sauce drizzled on top and fewer chocolate chips in the middle. Thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Yum! My family really enjoyed these. BUT I'd use half the chocolate next time, because it really overwhelmed the caramel, to the point where you couldn't even taste/notice the caramel. Like many others, I used butter instead of margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Oh my! These little gems are rich and delicious. I made them to take on our vacation with us and the kids devoured them (and the adults). They are very easy to make and taste a lot more complicated then what they are. Thank you so much for this great dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Very good bars! I made some alterations based on some of the reviews: I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, subbed applesauce for 1/2 cup of the butter, added some oat bran, and used about a half cup of homemade caramel sauce. I also used white chocolate chips instead of chocolate. I baked in an 11x7 pan to make them a little thicker. I baked a little longer than stated and they did come out slightly crumbly - probably because of my changes. But they were still very tasty and not overly rich. My son loved these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      Everyone (family and friends) loved these as the were. I do think I will try the semi-sweet or just reduce the amount of chocolate chips and carmel like others have suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Very easy, rich and creamy. I use butter in place of margarine all the time and used a full bag of chips (12oz) instead of 16. Also my oatmeal did not indicate quick cooking but it worked fine anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      although they were tasty..they were so messy. I served these at a family event and it was hard to get them out of the pan they fell apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Fantastic! I used 12 oz of chocolate chips and baked them for more like 30 minutes the second time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      These are really good, but a bit too sweet for me, others thought they were great. I only used 12 ounces of chocolate chips and it was still a little much. I loved how easy these were to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      These bars are absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! I will definitely make them again and share the recipe with my family and friends. They will also be added to my menu for Superbowl Sunday! Thanks for sharing Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      These were reeeeeeeeeeeeally good! I used less chocolate than the recipe called for (probably only about 10 oz), which was just enough to cover the pan in a layer of chocolate. I also used more caramel (nearly a whole 12 oz jar), so that it would almost cover the pan. They turned out wonderfully. The cookie dough is very oatmeal-y, but it's a nice balance for the chocolate and caramel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      A little goes a long way! These are soooo good! Rich, buttery, sweet, all the good things in one bar. Will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      YUMMO!!! I had a package mix for these once and loved them!! I much prefer homemade - so I made these - so glad I did! I used the whole jar of caramel sauce as I saw in another recipe and, since I buy choc chips in bulk - just added a layer of choc chips without measuring. I found the baking time to be right on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Divine and delicious. I actually stuffed up here and put everything in one bowl so did not get to do the layering bit but this all worked out fabulously well, not too gooey just too addictive !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Wow, make these at Christmas time. Everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Oh my goodness! These bars are dangerous. I will only be able to make this caramel chocolate goodness ONCE a year:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Chocolate Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.4
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    44%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 362.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 28.4 g
    113%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes