63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW YUMMY! Can't rate this one less than a fiver! EXTREMELY RICH...I suggest cutting the tray into 24 pieces :) I used butter instead of margarine and also only had a 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips, but otherwise followed to a T. Suggestion: I would not use more than a 12 ounce bag...these are very, very chocolatey (a GOOD thing)! These were easy to make, too, so 5 stars all around. Thanks for posting...will be making these often. P.S. Posted a picture that absolutely cannot show how yummy these are!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= October 02, 2002

Yum! My family loved these bars. The bars were very rich, very sweet, and very good. I used a bag of milk chocolate chips (that's what was on hand) and I think that I will try semi sweet chips the next time. That will be soon because my son keeps asking me to make these again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas February 22, 2003

DELICIOUS! A little too gooey, if that's possible. I'd probably cut the caramel to 1/2 cup and just use 1- 1/2 cups chocolate chips, just to make them easier to cut and serve. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mah January 11, 2010

As is, this recipe is way too sweet for me. The chocolate chips overwhelm the caramel flavor. I followed other reviews and cut them to 12 oz and it was still too much. However, the crust is FANTASTIC and I will make this recipe again, next time with more caramel sauce drizzled on top and fewer chocolate chips in the middle. Thank you for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 January 03, 2010

These are so good! I added walnuts to the chocolate caramel mixture. I can't imagine them without. Will def make again! Thanks Mysterygirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 January 04, 2015

Yum! My family really enjoyed these. BUT I'd use half the chocolate next time, because it really overwhelmed the caramel, to the point where you couldn't even taste/notice the caramel. Like many others, I used butter instead of margarine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Kozy January 05, 2014

Oh my! These little gems are rich and delicious. I made them to take on our vacation with us and the kids devoured them (and the adults). They are very easy to make and taste a lot more complicated then what they are. Thank you so much for this great dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 08, 2013

Very good bars! I made some alterations based on some of the reviews: I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, subbed applesauce for 1/2 cup of the butter, added some oat bran, and used about a half cup of homemade caramel sauce. I also used white chocolate chips instead of chocolate. I baked in an 11x7 pan to make them a little thicker. I baked a little longer than stated and they did come out slightly crumbly - probably because of my changes. But they were still very tasty and not overly rich. My son loved these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez January 12, 2013

Everyone (family and friends) loved these as the were. I do think I will try the semi-sweet or just reduce the amount of chocolate chips and carmel like others have suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chele's Corner November 13, 2012

Very easy, rich and creamy. I use butter in place of margarine all the time and used a full bag of chips (12oz) instead of 16. Also my oatmeal did not indicate quick cooking but it worked fine anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila (Glasgow, MT) July 19, 2012
Caramel Chocolate Bars