Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Cake Frosting / Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Cake Frosting / Icing

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2010

      This is a great recipe, and I use it quite frequently. I add about 1/2t of vanilla and it is reminiscent of of my grandmothers caramel cakes. Oh, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This was the recipe my mother (now deceased) always used for our birthday cakes (from the 1950's!!). It is a family favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I made this frosting to go on Cinnamon-Apple Bars #154741....really delicious! I halved the recipe for a 9x13 pan. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Very nice frosting! We just loved it. So creamy and good. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      The easiest caramel frosting I've ever made. It has a lighter fluffier texture than traditional cooked caramel icing and it's easier to get on the cake. Will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This is very yummy frosting, though VERY sweet (not surprising, but still worth mentioning). It took an entire 500g box of icing sugar to get this thick enough to spread on the cake without dripping, and even then I put it in the fridge for about 2 minutes to firm up. This left me with a lot leftover after icing my 9x9 cake, but we think it will go well on carrot cake, so are saving the rest to use for one later on. All in all, very good, and I will definitely add this to my collection to use again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      mmm ! This frosting was delicious, and extremely easy to make. It's amazing how much it thickens up once you add the icing sugar. I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Easy and yummy! Used on a banana cake but would be delicious on just about anything. Thanks for sharing your grandmother's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This was really yummy, but very sweet - I used it to top Ultra Moist Starbucks Chocolate Cake (Or Cupcakes) and then sprinkled Skor toffee bits on top of the icing. A really nice recipe which I will use again, but cut back on the sugar a little next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      great i made this with a chocolate cake recipe great taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      YUM-O..Made this to drizzle on a chocolate bundt cake. I drizzled it while it was still warm and it was delicious! Thank you for sharing. This one is going in my keeper file because it tastes awesome and is so easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This recipe was perfect over a pineapple cake. Frosting Triple Orange Cake (in which I subbed pineapple cake mix and tropical pineapple Jello), it was perfect! This batch sparsely frosted one two layer cake. Thank you for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This was great. I made a half batch and it was more than enough to frost 10 cupcakes. The flavor is wonderful and it is super easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Easy and fantastic! I halved the recipe as I just needed enough to frost an 8"x8" Devil's Food Cake...it wasn't much frosting. I would recommend doubling the recipe if you want to have enough for 2 layers on a cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I was a bit skeptical when I saw the list of ingreditents, but wow! This icing tastes great, has perfect consistency and spreads easily. I doubled the recipe, but only used a little over 1/2 of a box of confectioner's sugar. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Awesome recipe!! I added 1 box of powdered sugar with a little more milk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I just made this frosting and we really love it! It was very simple and easy clean up after. Only problem was by the time it was spreadable, it got too hard to spread well (wanted to tear the cake). Overall very pleased with this and will surely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      yummy. most luscious. reminds me of my childhood. will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Very good frosting, but sooooo sweet. Would have liked it to taste more like caramel than sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Delicious! Used it to top zucchini loaf. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Cake Frosting / Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 844.4
     
    Calories from Fat 424
    50%
    Total Fat 47.1 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 29.8 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 126.2 mg
    42%
    Sodium 450.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.3 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 106.7 g
    427%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites