Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2013

      I made this cake for Thanksgiving and it was incredibly moist, rich, pure PERFECTION!!!!!!!! All of my family as well as guests were raving about how good the cake was. I would recommend this recipe over and over and over again to any and everyone. Thanks so much for creating memories that will last a lifetime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      This rating is for the cake only: The cake turned out very well. It was very moist. I added the vanilla and tasted the batter and it was good. I was skeptical of the rum, but added it as well....tasted the batter and it was great!! I would definitely recommend adding the rum flavoring. It really added a nice dimension to the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      This cake turned out really well and was very easy to make. I had read several reviews that said how moist it was but mine was a bit dryer than I would have liked it to be but it was still good. I used rum instead of the rum flavoring and loved the flavor it gave the cake. I didn't use the icing recipe included with the cake recipe, but I may try it next time.

      I would love any suggestions for making it more moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      This cake was very delicious! The cake was very moist and the caramel frosting was to die for. The only thing I didn't like about the recipe is that the frosting takes forever to make, but it's worth it! Reminds me of my Grandma's caramel cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      The cake tiers froze well for a week. The frosting took me 45 minutes to make from start to finish. It definitely took 15 minutes or more of beating with the wooden spoon after the caramel came off of the stove. The frosting complimented the cake very well. Vanilla or butter pecan ice cream would go excellent with this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

    • on June 14, 2009

      This cake really filled the needs of the birthday boy. He loves Caramel Cake and this one turned out perfect and tasted cake. Did not make the frosting, though. Frosted it with the Yummy Caramel Frosting by MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This review is for the caramel frosting only. It is delicious and tastes just like my aunt's famous-in-the-family caramel frosting. Fortunately, I had a son at home to help with the beating at the end or I think I would have not been able to beat it enough to keep it from running. Even so, we did beat it longer than 5 minutes---until it didn't move any in the bowl when we stopped beating. Once it reaches that point,you need to frost quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I turned this into cupcakes instead of a layer cake, and they were FANTASTIC. Such a great recipe! Making the caramel icing also provided a tremendous sense of accomplishment since I never, ever make candy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      The cake tasted great. I had a little trouble controlling the frosting, it was everywhere, but it was a delicious mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This is absolutely the most delicious caramel icing you'll every try. It takes a while to make, but the results are worth it. It's obvious why Southern Living voted this one of the Top 10 cake recipes. It's a winner, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Loved it very tasty with the rum extract. I added a little more than suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      This cake was great! My husbands grandmother makes one that is his favorite, and he really liked this one!! Try it!! Easy to make, just take it slow with the caramel icing!! Tasty!! This will be a regular from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      I really enjoyed this recipe. It was fairly easy . I was accidentally put twict the rum and vanilla and it still tasted really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      I found this in Southern Living as well, and tried it yesterday. It is really unique and delicious! I don't think I let the frosting make it to "spreading consistency" despite my 5 minutes of effort, because caramel goo was everywhere! So maybe more like 5-10 minutes of beating with a spoon?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 712.8
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    37%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 151.7 mg
    50%
    Sodium 429.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.0 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 84.0 g
    336%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites