16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this cake for Thanksgiving and it was incredibly moist, rich, pure PERFECTION!!!!!!!! All of my family as well as guests were raving about how good the cake was. I would recommend this recipe over and over and over again to any and everyone. Thanks so much for creating memories that will last a lifetime.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erembert03 February 02, 2013

This rating is for the cake only: The cake turned out very well. It was very moist. I added the vanilla and tasted the batter and it was good. I was skeptical of the rum, but added it as well....tasted the batter and it was great!! I would definitely recommend adding the rum flavoring. It really added a nice dimension to the flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget October 06, 2012

This cake turned out really well and was very easy to make. I had read several reviews that said how moist it was but mine was a bit dryer than I would have liked it to be but it was still good. I used rum instead of the rum flavoring and loved the flavor it gave the cake. I didn't use the icing recipe included with the cake recipe, but I may try it next time.

I would love any suggestions for making it more moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Flo in SeMo February 14, 2013

This cake was wonderful. I absolutely loved the layers, reminded of pound cake texture which I love. This will go in my recipe box for cake layer cake; I'll just change the flavor to suit my needs. It took longer than 5 minutes to beat the frosting, though. This definitely was even better the next day. It disappeared quickly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmole_12318387 October 19, 2014

This cake was very delicious! The cake was very moist and the caramel frosting was to die for. The only thing I didn't like about the recipe is that the frosting takes forever to make, but it's worth it! Reminds me of my Grandma's caramel cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayla21832004_8003501 September 12, 2011

The cake tiers froze well for a week. The frosting took me 45 minutes to make from start to finish. It definitely took 15 minutes or more of beating with the wooden spoon after the caramel came off of the stove. The frosting complimented the cake very well. Vanilla or butter pecan ice cream would go excellent with this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon August 21, 2011

This cake really filled the needs of the birthday boy. He loves Caramel Cake and this one turned out perfect and tasted cake. Did not make the frosting, though. Frosted it with the Yummy Caramel Frosting by MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madray7 June 14, 2009

This review is for the caramel frosting only. It is delicious and tastes just like my aunt's famous-in-the-family caramel frosting. Fortunately, I had a son at home to help with the beating at the end or I think I would have not been able to beat it enough to keep it from running. Even so, we did beat it longer than 5 minutes---until it didn't move any in the bowl when we stopped beating. Once it reaches that point,you need to frost quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G July 16, 2008

I turned this into cupcakes instead of a layer cake, and they were FANTASTIC. Such a great recipe! Making the caramel icing also provided a tremendous sense of accomplishment since I never, ever make candy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Foferina July 16, 2007
Caramel Cake