Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Bread Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Bread Pudding

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I replaced the hot water, with cold milk and used sticky brown treacle sugar which disolves wonderfully in cold liquid. I replaced half of the milk with cream and it was gorgeous! I sprinkled the dish with brown sugar and put a little butter on the top and it made a wonderful sticky glaze. I took two dishes to a dinner party and I brought them home clean. The guests loved it. Quick and easy too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I also made this the 1st time using hotdog buns! Imagine how much better it was this time using day old croissants? It was so good I gave the recipe to about 4 people and they've all given it raves too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I was a little sceptical about adding the water to this dish, and I believe it did affect the texture. It came out with the consistancy of wet scrambled eggs. Although the flavor was good. If I make this again I will omit the water and just sprinkle the brown sugar over the bread cubes before adding the remaining ingredients. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Delicious! Kids loved it so much they could possibly have eaten themselves sick had I not stopped them. Fantastic bread pudding...definitely will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      very good, We all cleaned the darn dish plum clean !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      I made the recipe exactly how it said to and it came out really good and I also drizzled the Carmel over the entire dish loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      First of all, thank you for this recipe. It was just what I was looking for: easy, ingredients I had on hand and fast (no need to soak overnight). <br/><br/>The good: In addition to the three points above, the flavor was great! I used old cinnamon raisin bread that was sitting around and 1 can of evaporated milk + 1/2 cup whole milk for extra richness. I also doubled the vanilla and cinnamon additions.<br/><br/>The bad (and the reason this doesn't get 5 stars): The water was a mistake. Either I had not quite enough bread or the water was just too much, but I did get that "scrambled egg" texture. I baked in convection oven, 350, for a full hour to try and mitigate, it did firm up a bit without burning. Next time I will decrease the water, eliminate it altogether or substitute with 1/2 cup heavy cream. ( I would have given 3 stars for this texture, but really, I should have known it was too much liquid when I was pouring over the custard).<br/><br/>Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      It was tasty but I wish I would have read the comments first. It ends up a little too liquidy. Next time I will either cut back on the water or change it to cream. I also don't think it had much of a caramel flavor. It may be good to top it with a bit of caramel sauce when done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      I used challah bread to make mine. All I'm saying is Yum Yum Yum!! It was just what I was looking for, rich flavor and good density. Or as my daughter calls the mush factor, meaning it was good and satisfying. Pure comfort food. Thank you for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      All I can say is yummy! I made this last night for dessert using the leftover biscuits from breakfast and there was nothing left in the pan. Next time I might try to use the butter suggestion, but this is delicious as is!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      this is a fantastic recipe but after reading some of the previous reviews, i did tweak it a bit. rather than mix the water and sugar together, i melted some butter in a saucepan and added some dark brown soft sugar. i then added some warmed milk (only 1/2 the quanity stated) and over a gentle heat, it turned into a thick caramel syrup. i followed the rest of the recipe as is and it came out very very delicious!! serve this with cold cream and it's heaven on earth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      I made with cinnamon raisin bread and it was great! I topped with vanilla bean ice cream! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This is wonderful. I used up 3/4 of a package of hamburger buns from the freezer. I couldn't stop eating this. The whole family enjoyed it. This is now one of our favorite must have desserts. Actually, I think I need to go make more now. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      Super simple. Picky 16yo only eats white bread but not fast enough to finish a loaf before the last slices go dry, and a lot of bread used to end up out on the lawn for the magpies. Now the rest of the family will happily consume the reject bread once transformed into bread pudding. The magpies miss out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Really geat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      This turned out pretty well for me! I replaced the water with milk as someone else suggested and make sure to use 7 *packed* cups of bread cubes, so it doesn't turn out too soggy. The "caramel" sauce is not so much a caramel, but a nice sweet sauce you can drizzle on top for added sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      This turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This was delicious! Easier than I expected bread pudding to be. I cut back on the sugar in the in the liquid mix because I made a very sweet sauce too, and it was still very good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Followed the recipe and directions exactly. I got that 'wet scrambled eggs' texture. Taste was ok, but couldn't get over the texture

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Beautiful presentation! And I love how easy this is to make. However, next time I'll used either whole milk or maybe even cream, all I had on hand for this first try was 1% milk... it came out too watery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Bread Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.6
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    16%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 135.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 275.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 53.4 g
    213%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites