9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for I Recommend Tag. I just love oatmeal and eat it just about every morning during the work week. This was great and now I have another flavor to add to my rotation. Thanks Mandy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft June 18, 2009

This oatmeal is really good! I love the apple and caramel flavor. This made a nice filling oatmeal that was sweet enough on its own - didn't have to add anything else. Next time I may add a sprinkling of nuts. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof March 19, 2009

I loved it Mandy. I will do often. But I'll add more than a dash of cinnamon. I used 1 apple grated and skim milk. Thanks for posting this recipe. Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 16, 2008

This was very filling. I am not a huge fan of fruit in my oatmeal but wanted to try it nevertheless. I did use regular oats instead of quick cooking ones so the microwave time was longer. I made this for most of the family for breakfast this morning. Some liked it - some didn't. Personal preference I guess. :) I had a jar of apple pie filling I had canned that didn't seal in the fridge. I used this instead of the fresh grated apple. That worked well as it already was sweetened with cinnamon and sugar. I did leave off the caramlel topping though. I asked the family if they would like some and they gave me funny faces instead. I did add sliced almonds to my bowl though. That was very tasty. Made for the November Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast November 04, 2008

Very nice flavor with the apples and caramel. It actually tastes like I'm cheating but I'm not! I used tart Granny Smith apple and thinly sliced them. I did have to add a little bit more oats and cook an extra 30 seconds in the microwave. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 30, 2008

Like previous reviewers, I cooked this on the stove. I found there was quite a bit too much milk, so I added extra oats- which would account for it not tasting appley enough. But otherwise this was deelish! Thanks Mandy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child January 13, 2008

While I often eat oatmeal with sliced apples, the addition of skim milk and caramel sauce made this feel rather indulgent though still healthful. No microwave here I cooked this on the range and used 1/2 skim and 1/2 water. Adding the milk made this a little more apt to scorch so the pot needs to be watched and stirred. I used a very low calorie caramel sauce (Walden Farms) so this was was heavenly at just 2.5 points. Thanks Mandy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni January 02, 2008

This is such a delicious variation of the usual porridge!I don't have a microwave so I cooked it for about 10 minutes (it boiled for about 5 minutes). I also had to use golden syrup as I didn't have any caramel but it tasted great all the same. Thanks for making breakfast more interesting!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose November 10, 2007

Wordeful and fast! I loved the fact that it was ready in no time, healthy and tasty! I used caramel syrup and it made the difference! Thanks Mandy for a wordeful breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia September 10, 2007
Caramel Apple Porridge (Oatmeal)