17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pretty damn good! My cousin, who is extremely picky about his apple pie couldn't stop raving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rissybabe1979 December 12, 2013

This recipe is AMAZING!!! I get rave reviews every time I make it. It is a little time consuming, but it is worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justme0003 January 10, 2011

Excellent recipe. It was easy to follow and the pie turned out great. MY hubby and 2 toddlers loved it. Just because my mom did this with her apple pies, I added a tsp of vanilla flavor, pinch of nutmeg, and about two ounces of butter. I always love the flavor vanilla and butter give to pies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOEMADDOGG February 09, 2010

This pie is wonderful but make sure you serve it warm. We were given a lot of apples and this is the recipe my family wanted to try. No one was disappointed. We'll make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu November 26, 2009

I ended up with 2 pies! I had 3 huge apples to work with and I sliced them (no peeling) and I ended up with enough apples for 2 pies. I did use 28 Kraft caramel squares but only about half the can of evaporated milk. I didn't want it to be too liquidy. I also only did baking time for about 30 minutes, my apples were maybe on the thin side, so they didn't need the full 35 minutes. This pie turned out GREAT as the man of the house loves anything caramel and apple. We ate a piece each still a little warm. With the extra caramels I made him a huge giant caramel apple as an extra treat. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey September 27, 2009

This recipe was sooo delicious! Very rich though so make sure to have a glass of milk handy. My only complaint would be that I made it the day before Thanksgiving (my fault) and that made it quite watery the next day. It kind of resembled a cobbler instead of pie. Next time I won't make ahead of time, I will just bake it right before serving to my guests. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkaloidqueen November 28, 2008

Holy cow! This was one of my Thanksgiving pies this year and it was a hit. Wow this was yummy! The crunchy topping was such a bonus. I will definately make this pie again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalRN November 27, 2008

I've tried making many different apple pies and this is my new favorite! It's a pretty simple recipe and I took an extra shortcut by using pre-made caramel dip. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schanbacher5 October 15, 2008

I love caramel apples and this tasted like I was eating one. My husband could not even wait for the pie to cool before cutting into it, the pie was gone in two days. I am glad I had a piece when I did. There is a lot of caramel sauce so we did use the extra for dipping apples just like "home grown" did and it was good. Thank you Marg, great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyautumn October 15, 2008

This is tasty. Based on some other reviews, I doubled everything except the caramel sauce, and came out with two perfect pies. I love the crumb topping. It's so delicious with the caramel and cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie August 07, 2008
Caramel Apple Pie With Crunchy Crumb Topping