Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramel Apple Pie With Crunchy Crumb Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramel Apple Pie With Crunchy Crumb Topping

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2013

      Pretty damn good! My cousin, who is extremely picky about his apple pie couldn't stop raving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This recipe is AMAZING!!! I get rave reviews every time I make it. It is a little time consuming, but it is worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Excellent recipe. It was easy to follow and the pie turned out great. MY hubby and 2 toddlers loved it. Just because my mom did this with her apple pies, I added a tsp of vanilla flavor, pinch of nutmeg, and about two ounces of butter. I always love the flavor vanilla and butter give to pies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This pie is wonderful but make sure you serve it warm. We were given a lot of apples and this is the recipe my family wanted to try. No one was disappointed. We'll make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I ended up with 2 pies! I had 3 huge apples to work with and I sliced them (no peeling) and I ended up with enough apples for 2 pies. I did use 28 Kraft caramel squares but only about half the can of evaporated milk. I didn't want it to be too liquidy. I also only did baking time for about 30 minutes, my apples were maybe on the thin side, so they didn't need the full 35 minutes. This pie turned out GREAT as the man of the house loves anything caramel and apple. We ate a piece each still a little warm. With the extra caramels I made him a huge giant caramel apple as an extra treat. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This recipe was sooo delicious! Very rich though so make sure to have a glass of milk handy. My only complaint would be that I made it the day before Thanksgiving (my fault) and that made it quite watery the next day. It kind of resembled a cobbler instead of pie. Next time I won't make ahead of time, I will just bake it right before serving to my guests. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Holy cow! This was one of my Thanksgiving pies this year and it was a hit. Wow this was yummy! The crunchy topping was such a bonus. I will definately make this pie again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I've tried making many different apple pies and this is my new favorite! It's a pretty simple recipe and I took an extra shortcut by using pre-made caramel dip. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I love caramel apples and this tasted like I was eating one. My husband could not even wait for the pie to cool before cutting into it, the pie was gone in two days. I am glad I had a piece when I did. There is a lot of caramel sauce so we did use the extra for dipping apples just like "home grown" did and it was good. Thank you Marg, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This is tasty. Based on some other reviews, I doubled everything except the caramel sauce, and came out with two perfect pies. I love the crumb topping. It's so delicious with the caramel and cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I made three different pies for Thanksgiving and this one was everyone's favorite. I used Braburn apples and it turned out fabulous. It would probably be good even without the caramel added. There is a lot of caramel sauce in this recipe, so I only used about two thirds of it. We used the extra caramel by dipping fresh apple slices into it. It made a great snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Most of my baking projects end in disaster, but this pie came out wonderfully - even when I substituted in gluten-free ingredients! It's easy if you're careful to follow the directions. Use tart, firm apples (I chose Granny Smith) to balance out the sweetness of the caramel, and serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      We loved this apple pie! The caramel was delicious and the crumb topping was awesome! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      hey this sounds absolutley gourmet i cant wait to try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      Fantastic!! I made this today for our Thanksgiving dinner (about 20 people at my family's get-together). My husband specifically asked for a caramel apple pie, and when I browsed thru Zaar, this one looked perfect. The only change I made was to add chopped pecans to both the crumb topping and the apple mixture. Several people who tried it said it was excellent and asked for the recipe. My DH liked it too, but said it was a bit too sweet for him. I personally thought it was FANTASTIC!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      If I could give this more stars I would! It was delicious. I used Cortland apples and doubled the crumb topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      yum, Yum, YUM! My husband (the ultimate critic) ate the entire pie (minus the piece I managed to snag) in one day! Very good! I used Winsap apples and it matched well with the caramel. I did have some caramel sauce left over -- we used it for the second pie I had to make at the insistance of DH. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramel Apple Pie With Crunchy Crumb Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 607.0
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    29%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 329.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 72.4 g
    289%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites