17 Reviews

Finally! A breakfast voted unanimously yummy from all four kids. This was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace4Gayle April 29, 2010

It was too eggy tasting. Just personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc October 16, 2013

As every other review said, this is delicious! Almost like having dessert for breakfast. I used one large Granny Smith apple but actually sliced it too thin. I used a 9" pie plate but think a 10'' might work out better; it would be less cake-like. Bacon or sausage would complement this nicely. Thanks for posting, akgrown. . . . Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski January 27, 2013

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harmoni January 03, 2013

Delicious. Used 1 LARGE Granny Smith apple, DF margarine and coconut milk beverage b/c of DH's dairy allergies. Turned out great! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaJohnson November 21, 2012

This is fairly quick to put together and tastes great. My kids loved it. I did lose mine while flipping it though. Luckily I had just cleaned the counter and it was easily moved back onto a plate with a spatula ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delighted May 12, 2011

Really good and easy to make! I reduced butter to 4 tbsp in the caramel topping and to 2 tbsp in the pancake batter and glad I did. I may try to further reduce butter in the topping to 3 tbsp next time. I also reduced brown sugar to 5 tbsp but should have kept it at 6 tbsp. I think some vanilla extract in the batter or more cinnamon would do nicely. I added 1/8 tsp salt to the batter. Mine is done in a little less than 20 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp January 02, 2011

YUM! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used regular skim milk with some lemon juice in it. We had a breakfast for dinner night, and it was just great! I used a Pampered Chef bar pan, and we devoured it! I think we'll be making this one for Christmas morning breakfast!!!! Thanks again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 October 13, 2009

This is one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten! However, I would label it Caramel Apple Upside Down Cake since the batter is cake batter, not pancake batter (the batter is just like Pineapple Upside Down Cake). I used a cake pan instead of pie pan (based on a previous review) and am glad I did or the pancake would have been all over the oven. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! It will be a great way to use up all of the apples from the apple trees in my backyard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanddwarfs September 23, 2008

Brilliant pancake! Take care when turning it over (I almost lost one! Perish the thought!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sean.van.der.smythe April 19, 2008
Caramel Apple Oven Pancake