7 Reviews

This is SO good, I will make it again! I love waking up to a hot breakfast. I did make a couple changes. . .I added walnuts and cinnamon chips (like chocolate chips, but made of cinnamon). We didn't have yogurt with it, we had milk with it instead.

I bet you could use different kinds of grains, like whole wheat instead of barley, or millet. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthia912 February 21, 2011

Outstanding oatmeal !! Other than a ver slight burn around the edges, this was one delicious tasty breakfast. Made recipe as posted. This definately had great apple flavoring. Made for Spring PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker April 12, 2010

LOVED this! The flavor was fabulous. My slow cooker burned the oatmeal around the edges so I was very glad I used a slow-cooker liner for easy cleanup. I will work with this to try to keep the oatmeal from burning because it was so yummy and healthy. I'll try reducing the time or adding more liquid to see if I can get it to work for better for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F February 14, 2010

I tried this, doubling it, but using 2 cups apples, 9 caramels and I was out of barley, so I used bulgur. My crockpot runs hot, so I put it in at 8:00 on warm and by 5:30 it was warm but not quite done. I tasted it and it was a little tart. So I put it on low for 1 hour and it was perfect. Hot, creamy, not too tart. I had a bowl without yogurt, as I have a cold, but I'll stir yogurt into the 5 yo's bowl. Lots of healthy stuff in there (except for the caramel!) UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 1-15-09

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 03, 2010

Wonderful! Very delicious and perfect for the cold winter morning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALMR October 05, 2009

I liked the creaminess of this, however, mine burned around the edges (in a brand new crock pot) and was very bland. If i make it again i'll probably add 1 tsp.cinnamon and 1/2 cup brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoupCookie January 18, 2009

I included a handful of raisins when I made this GREAT TASTING OATMEAL & you're right about the Archer Farms Caramel Apple yogurt ~ That does add I nice touch to it all! Definitely nice to wake up & have this almost ready to eat! Thanks for sharing a great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Hidden Gems event]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 04, 2008
Caramel Apple Oatmeal