28 Reviews

Yum, Yum Yummy. I made this for a get together and we couldn't stop eating it. Don't bother with store bought caramel apple dip when this one is so easy to make and tastes sooo much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5JFs November 28, 2008

The store was out of bananas so DH bought apples. Made this for our dip. It is very good warm, but will try it when it cools down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 13, 2008

Better than the dip in the stores!!. This was a big hit at a Halloween party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
long1249 November 02, 2008

I wish I could give this more than five stars! It's exactly what I was looking for; my three guys loved it too. Thanks to the other reviewers who recommended cooking it a little longer to completely dissolve the sugar -- 10 min. was right for me. Thank you for the recipe -- it's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Park Rangerette October 30, 2008

This is absolutly delicious! I loved the addition of vanilla and cinnamon! I will make this again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quest4ZBest January 05, 2008

So simple and delectable! I made this for a Halloween party to rave reviews. It was so good I made it later the same week for my students! The cinnamon really adds a nice touch. I served it with pretzels, bananas, and apple slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aserkes November 14, 2007

I loved that this didn't call for cream cheese like most others (since I was out!). I took LonghornMama's advice and used 1/2 cup corn syrup and it was perfect. I cooked on very low for about 25 min. to get it completely "grain-free." This was great the next day, too. Thanks Sue, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado November 01, 2007

Delicious!!! It fit right in at our pumpkin carving party! After seeing other posts about cooking longer than 5 min or getting a gritty texture, I stirred on med heat for about 10-12 min- perfect!! It made about 3 1/2 cups of dip, which after 7 people had their fill left me with at least 2 1/2 cups left over. Will make 1/2 next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely October 27, 2007

Outstanding! I live in Washington... apple country... and always have tons of them given to us in the Fall. I love the caramel dip in the stores, but it's so expensive. So, I decided to try this. I used margarine instead of butter (it was all I had on hand), and put in the pan cold. I added the brown sugar (used just shy of the 1 1/2 cups), milk, and corn syrup. I set my stove to med-low, and mixed. I let the margarine melt into the mix slowly, and just stirred pretty consistently. Once the margarine was melted in, the sugar LOOKED incorporated, but I tasted it, and it was gritty in texture. I kept on stirring, and tasted occasionally. After about 15 minutes (from start), the mixture was silky smooth. I dirtied several spoons, but it was worth it! This is wonderful. It filled a 4 Cup bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn 2574 October 14, 2007
Caramel Apple Dip