20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

GREAT caramel i could give more stars best dessert EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KR31 June 15, 2012

This was excellent served with vanilla ice cream. I doubled the number of apples with great results. We loved the cakey base and how easy it was to throw together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu April 27, 2010

This was delicious. If I could give it more stars, I would, not only for taste, but for ease of prep time, which took, maybe 15 min total. I have another dish of this in the oven as I'm writing this review.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 May 15, 2011

Ummmm, yum, yummmy!! Easy & delicious!! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixiechick September 23, 2009

What a surprise! I thought the caramel layer would be on top, but no- it's on the bottom! I used 3 apples instead of two- mine might have been small- but changed nothing else. Marvelous- my whole family loved it. Like others, was a little nervous about the boiling water bit, but it was brilliant! Thanks for sharing such an easy, tasty way to use the apples on my tree!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Lockwood September 12, 2009

This dessert is so simple to make! Absolutely delicious. I made as directed...the first time with apples. Since then, I've made it with fresh blueberries then cherries and tonight, plums. I wish I could give it more than five stars! Thanks, KelBel

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove July 19, 2008

Awesome! Very quick and easy to make. Even great without the whipped cream or icecream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammyt82 May 25, 2008

This well-written recipe was very easy to follow with great results. A bit of apprehension set in when I poured on the boiling water. It looked suddenly like the apples were goin' for a swim, but soon the dessert baked up to just the right consistency - very yummy served with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting this deliciously different way to use apples!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes December 04, 2004

This is so easy and unusual. I was wary of pouring the boiling water on top of it but it worked just fine. I used more apples and less sugar than called for and it was perfect for our tastes. It was a big hit. The first time I made it I tried doubling the recipe and using a 9x13 pan. That was not as successful but I am not sure if it is my oven or if this recipe just should not be doubled. I will stick to using the 9X9 pan in the future. Very tasty cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava Girl November 09, 2004

As my 6yr old son said "This is freaking awesome man!!"..and I have to agree, this was a nice soft cakey center with a drippy caramel topping with the wonderful tartness of the apples. Loved it and this recipe will become a regular at my home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
- Momma Loon October 06, 2004
Caramel Apple Dessert Squares