12 Reviews

I read the reviews before making this. I was unsure what to expect as there are good and bad reviews. I was wondering why there was no baking powder or salt. I cut back on the oil in the cake to 1 cup from 1 1/2 cups. I probably should have cut back on the flour too at that point, as the mixture was almost like cookie dough rather than cake batter. It ended up ok though. Although I really regret not adding salt. I will add at least 1/2 tsp or more next time. As for the topping, you don't need to use all of it. I just drizzled it on top until it looked like it was sufficiently covered. If you use all of the topping I imagine it would be way too sweet. After you let it set for a few hours it really came together nicely. It's sweet, but not overly. And I liked how the topping hardens up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anyaustin October 14, 2015

I made this cake and found it to be very heavy and way too sweet. I mean there's four cups of sugar in this thing!!! Holy cow!! I wo t make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortbread_7804383 February 25, 2013

I thought this cake was just OK. It was very bland, too sweet, and too oily for my family's tastes. I wouldn't make it again, but if I did, I would add cinnamon, salt, and twice the apples. I will be looking for another apple cake recipe that is healthier, spicer and has less sugar and more apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
52grl October 02, 2012

I just noticed I did not review this yet!! I made this cake to go along with the pies on Thanksgiving!! WOW!! Everyone loved it!! Very rich and decadent! I baked the cake 3 days prior to serving it...and it was perfect! Thank you Connie K!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP December 05, 2008

This was the best! Very easy and couldnt just have one piece! This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bryem October 28, 2008

This cake was great...I used about 1 1/2 cups of sugar and baked in a bundt pan...turned out great...I spooned some of the topping over the cake and then when I served it...will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef EC November 01, 2007

The cake comes out beautifully. However, a few tricks I used to better this recipe: I used my hand mixer to "beat" the apples into the batter. I used Comstock's canned apples in water, once drained, it comes out nicely. Better than the fresh in my opinion. Still nice and big chunks of apples, but it pulverizes a few of them to contribute to the batter. For the sauce, in her book, it calls for 3 whole sticks of butter (!!!); use 2 sticks of butter instead of three. I have yet to try it with less, but I can't see using more than 2 at most. Put the sauce on the side. Don't pour it over the cake, unless, of course, you like bread pudding. I just drizzled it on each plate; it cuts down on the rot-your-teeth out sweetness. Don't serve this immediately. Serve it either "just warm" or at room temp. It'll be the thickness and a little crumblier than a brownie. But it's delish and is much better once it's settled a bit in the pan. This recipe is worth a shot... Just know it's going to be a rich and sweet cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apple_jax June 18, 2007

I was really disappointed when I served this cake shortly after baking it - I had expected it to be much better. I am giving it five stars though because it was WONDERFUL the next day. So, if you make this, leave it in the refridgerator overnight before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharyn4171 January 11, 2007

This recipe would certainly benefit from some cinnamon. As other reviewer said, it is quite sweet. I probably wouldn't make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talldoc March 24, 2006

Quite sweet...a little too sweet for me, but I'm sure DH will love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama April 15, 2005
Caramel Apple Cake With Caramel Topping ( Paula Deen)