12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!!!! This cake is delicious! I used the golden Delicious apples. The cake was very moist! Another keeper! Thank you Inez ; )

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut October 05, 2002

Delicious and moist cake. A fall favorite of mine. Made it once for company and once for church potluck. It went fast! Will be making this again. My mom always makes this cake with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar instead of frosting. It's good that way, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyoSal October 28, 2008

Good cake. I used granny smith apples. The caramel flavor icing compliments the mild apple spice flavor of this cake nicely. I used a 9x13 pan since I didn't have a bundt pan. I baked the cake for an hour and ten minutes and it was slightly over baked. I think that the ideal baking time for this cake in a 9x13 pan would be an hour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas June 27, 2003

This was a very tasty cake, and the caramel icing put it over the top. I made this for a church function, and not a crumb remained when we were done. I used tart apples, which I think is a must to balance the sweetness of the cake and icing. I added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger with the spices, as I do with my apple pies, and I used 1/2 cup of melted butter for part of the oil. I've got apples in the kitchen all ready to dice up for a repeat cake performance!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani October 27, 2014

Excellent cake ! I found this in my late mothers box of assorted collected recipes. Will post a picture of this . The original called for a tube pan ,bbut the bundt was prettier. This cake is so moist and good . The caramel icing just makes it. I did add a touch of vanilla to caramel icing This is a great cake to take to .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtc1955 March 31, 2014

This was a wonderful tasting apple cake and very very moist. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 27, 2008

Another winning recipe from MizzNezz! I made this in a bundt pan,took it to a potluck supper and it got rave reviews. I used about 3/4 cup of oil and 3/4 cup of applesauce to cut the fat. Also, I was worried about allergies to nuts so I didn't add the walnuts and instead used 1/2 cup of oats to give it a bit of texture. There is a lot of wonderful, gooey caramel frosting -what a treat! My cake took 1 hour and 20 minutes to cook. The cake is very moist and very tasty - and tastes just as good the next day. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker Barb October 01, 2006

Awsome,tasty,simple this cake was definately a keeper. I made this cake 3 times already everyone loved it. this cake has the same consistancy as a carrot cake. So I used a cream cheese frosting on it and excellant as well as the caramel i change the frosting for a change. Wouldn' change a thing in this recipe. Thank you so much for posting this one. lynn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn1021 #2 September 18, 2006

This is a delicious apple cake. Loved the topping, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn2 May 11, 2006
Caramel Apple Cake