21 Reviews

I was a little leery when the recipe said to pour a cup of boiling water over top of this cake before baking. I'm thrilled to say it works! The brown sugar kind of sinks to the bottom and the apples stay on top. I served this with fresh whipped cream and everyone said this was a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msboogie May 27, 2003

Super easy to make and very good! I used about 3 cups of Granny Smith apples, instead of the 2 in the recipe. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefany Anne November 12, 2010

Quick, easy and tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smokey54 October 27, 2009

Oh My how I love this cake! It's wonderful! Top with ice cream or whipped cream and it's perfection! I've also used peaches, plums, blueberries, and cherries in place if the apples and they were great also! I'm going to try a berry mix next!! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LWOOD147 October 04, 2008

This was superb! I did make a big mistake though. I only had an 11x7 pan, so I thought I would increase the recipe by half and it would fit. Nope. Should have left it as a single recipe. I had a fair amount of spill over. No big deal though. We still enjoyed it immensely. And now I know to make a single recipe in my 11x7. And the plan is to make this recipe again MANY times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn July 12, 2008

The name should be changed, it really is just a coffe cake. I put in extra apples which made it better. I would not call the sauce caramel. It was more like the sauce in canned apple pie. Not at all what I was expecting it to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinder130 September 29, 2007

I am a die hard chocolate lover but this cake has converted me. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. It was super easy and like others have mentioned made the house smell wonderful. The sauce at the bottom is spoon lickin good.Made even better with the cinnamon ice cream I served it with.Thank you for posting, it's wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilysmom September 26, 2007

i changed this a bit. i used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and a can of sliced apples(i told you i was a lazy cook)the cake was delicious. i actually made it exactly as posted the first time i made it and liked both versions equally. p.s. also good with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 13, 2007

I had apples I needed to use and I really wasn't in the mood to fuss. I found this recipe and it was so easy. I used 3 fuji apples. Thanks to Teresa/Thunderbird's rating that let us know that there is a nice thick sauce on the bottom. This was a nice comfort food. I ate mine plain, but warmed up. DH likes his in a bowl with warm milk. A Definate Keeper! Thanks Lorac!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronamay March 12, 2007
Caramel Apple Cake