18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The taste was good but not caramel-y like I expected. The texture and thickness was very nice. It was time consuming when it only made 4 eight ounce jars. So I will be making another batch this afternoon and will double the apples, sugar and spices and add 4 times the caramels.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImWhisper December 19, 2009

This is actually the 4th time I've made this apple butter. It is fantastic! I gave it to all my coworkers in our OB Department for Christmas last year, and when I said I was going to make it again this year I was asked to use bigger jars! It does make only half as much as stated, but the taste is worth it! The only change I made was to add twice the cinnamon. It is soooo good on toasted whole wheat bagels! My husband uses it as an ice cream topper! Each time I use the recipe, I have 2 pans (each with a tripple recipe) cooking at the same time so I can make enough to last throughout the year--it stores well in my pantry which is cool and dark!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OB Nurse October 29, 2010

I used another recipe to cook an apple butter using only brown sugar and cinnamon then added 20 caramels and very yummy indeed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay September 28, 2011

My first attempt at making apple butter & it turned out fabulous! The few changes I made were to add some cinnamon & use caramel syrup instead of the caramels since I didn't have any on hand. Easy to make & delicious, thx for a good one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefTop November 26, 2009

My first time making apple butter and I would say I got it right with this recipe. I only got 3- 8oz jars and 1- 4 oz....so my amt was cut in half, per the recipe.......any ideas why? No matter tho' am about to start the 2nd batch now. Thanks for a great & tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judydale October 08, 2009

Absolutely Fabulous!! This is my new favorite apple butter recipe. After reading over reviews, on the second batch I decided to use brown sugar, cinnamon and through in a few extra caramels…the texture is so creamy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz September 27, 2009

I made one batch of this and got 2 1/2 pints.I tasted it and LOVED it .The next day I made 2 more batches.I followed the recipe exactly except added 25 caramels per batch.Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candy #7 September 25, 2009

I made this today. Defintely worth 5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly, even weighing the apples. The yield was 5 half pint jars and about 3 tablespoons extra for the cook to sample. If it had not been 7:30 a.m. I would have been hauling out the ice cream to eat with that. Delicious. I think I will make some biscuits this afternoon and have it with them and tomorrow morning I might try it with pancakes. I don't know why I bothered canning it....won't last long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadflax September 24, 2009

This was really easy and yummy tasted a little as it went in the jars, next time maybe less cinnamon and more caramels but that is personal preference. Can't wait to give this one away I love unique jams that you can't get in the store. This one fits the bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic August 17, 2009

Very tasty. I enjoy it on warm bisquits from the oven. Will definitely make more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenMagician6 June 16, 2009
Caramel Apple Butter