96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the recipe exactly and, unfortunately, I found the muffins to be dry and bitter. They were much improved with the spread on them, but I doubt I would make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saxonct June 03, 2009

These were so yummy! I omitted the spread and made mine with whole wheat flour, but otherwise followed exactly. They are addictive! :) Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ May 01, 2009

After reading other reviews I added an extra tbsp coffee granules to my batch. Still no one could taste the coffee in these. It was there just enough to compliment the chocolate/cinnamon. These have a nice flavor, but I wouldn't make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 21, 2009

Loved the idea. I wanted to make it low fat so I used egg whites and white whole wheat flour, substituted applesauce for butter,Splenda for sugar, raisins/dried fruit mix for chocolate chips and I have also added some coffee-flavored liqueur or sugar-free syrup to the batter. It turned out so light and fluffy like I never expected. I also tried using maple syrup to sweeten the frosting and it worked out great. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakthi November 21, 2005

What a fabulous recipe!The muffins came out moist and flavourful, and the combination of coffee and chocolate is a winner! And the espresso spread....mmmmmmm! Thanks for such a distinctive muffin recipe, I'll be making this many times over!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Ann August 27, 2002

This recipe rocks! I can't wait for my kids to get home from school. I'll be hailed as a goddess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsmccarthy February 10, 2014

I'd give these about 3 1/2 stars. They were pretty dry and a little boring to me. I added extra coffee and still didn't taste it The spread was ok but a little odd on a muffin. I'd make the spread again to use for maybe the cinnamon crunch bagels from Panera. I used chocolate chips in some and some without. Doubt I'd make the muffins again, if I did I think I'd cut the cinnamon down or not add it in as I think it kind of overpowered the coffee taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 December 30, 2013

I always sneak in a taste of the batter for whatever I'm baking and honestly, this was not a tasty batter at all! lol But I couldn't have been more pleased with the end result. A nice, dense, not too sweet flavorful muffin with a hint of coffee flavor. I followed the exact muffin recipe and baked only for 17 minutes but did not use the creamcheese icing/spread. I would make these again. Enjoy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BronxBakerBabe September 19, 2013

Amazingly good muffins. Didn't make the spread but had 1/2 c. mini choc. chips so added 1/4 c. white choc. chips. Got 15 yummy muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 03, 2013

This is a great recipe! The muffins are moist, tender and rise well. My daughter was looking for something different to bake for our county 4-H Muffin & Pie Contest. She took this recipe and made just a few modifications as follows: 1. Increased the instant coffee to 3 tablespoons. 2. Used 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of white chocolate chips. 3. Omitted the spread for the top of the muffins. 4. Substituted 1 teaspoon of Ghost Cinnamon for the regular cinnamon. Ghost Cinnamon is a combo of cinnamon, sugar and Ghost pepper. It adds a small kick that is noticable as a slight after heat. It is not overwhelming. We found it at the Pepper Palace when we visited Tennessee. These muffins won a blue ribbon in regular competition and they won the Grand Champion award in the Muffin & Pie Contest. She gave proper credit to her source. Thank you for submitting this recipe. As a note, four batches of these muffins were made and they turn out superior when the ingredients are brought to room temperature before baking (something we are all taught, but don't always have the time to follow).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsgraff August 31, 2013
Cappuccino Muffins