Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caponata from Loni Kuhn's S.f. Cooking Class Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caponata from Loni Kuhn's S.f. Cooking Class

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2012

      Chop chop, stir stir, and voila -- a great multi-purpose creation! I used it for a bruschetta style appy. But I can see it would be wonderful over pasta, as a sauce, or stuffing a potato or squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      My garden is very giving and this is the perfect recipe to use my harvest. I can caponata every year here are some http://www.food.com/recipe-finder/all/caponata?chef=58104. Since I made this to be canned I did make some changes to get the pH level to under 4.5.
      I did add 1 tablespoon fresh oregano and 1/2 cup raisins. I used kalamata olives, 6 cups diced eggplant, 2 cups diced zukes. 1/4 cup sugar, 6 cloves garlic, 2 tablespoons canning salt, 1 teaspoon black pepper, I skipped the tomato paste didn`t have any :( my fault, 1/4 cup capers, oil was used just as much as needed to cook the veggies. I used 1/2 cup of 5 percent vinegar to bring the pH levels for safe canning. Didn't come to were I felt comfortable with the pH so then just to be sure went and added 1/4 cup lemon juice. Didn't add carrots. I used the food processor for many of the veggies to get small. I did simmer for 30 minutes to reduce. Canning 14-1/2 pint jars. Tasty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This is SO delicious! I didn't change a thing. I might add just a little heat in the form of a poblano or hot pepper flakes for variety, and/or garnish with feta cheese. but I really thought it was lovely as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Wonderful concoction and the only change for us is to omit Italian parsley and use curly. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.Also the fact that it keeps so long makes it even more desirable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Excellent! I can't wait to get to my favorite greek store and grab some "real" pitas to make a yummy sandwich with this! I made this exactly as posted, adding the carrots, zucchini, and capers. My tomatoes must have been really juicy, because I had to simmer mine a little longer to get the right consistency. I loved the addition of toasted pine nuts. Thanks for posting this delicious caponata! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

    • on July 13, 2009

      Excellent Caponata. I thought the pine nuts and capers really added to the mellow, earthy flavor. I halved the recipe and made as directed (used a jar of tomatoes I canned last year and included the capers and carrots). And I agree with cookiedog, the ingredient list is long, but this was a snap to put together! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      This was over-the-top delicious. I think the flavors that put it over the top are the olives, capers and pine nuts. I toasted my pine nuts in my toaster oven instead of browning them in olive oil. Really, really yummy, Kate! Thank you for posting this! Made for 123 Hits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was absolutely outstanding! I made half, and regretted that I had fewer leftovers; however, I doubt the entire recipe would have fit into my Le Crueset pan anyway. I used less oil, olives and pine nuts to cut down on the calories. I forgot to add the garlic, I guess I just got too busy thinking about all the other veggies I was chopping. I did the preparation ahead, covered and put in refrigerator, then took it out to cook for the allotted time (no more). The amount of liquid left was perfect. Great filling for a sandwich. My boyfriend loves caponata, but hates all the oil in it when he buys it in a jar. He really loved this recipe, even though at first he was skeptical (don't ask me why, as I was sure he would love this, but in the end he really did). Oh, one more thing, I included capers and carrots. Really great, thanks Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Don't be put off by the long ingredient list, this really is easy to prepare. I used half the amount of olive oil and it was wonderful. Don't overcook this as the eggplant will get mushy. So many veggies makes you feel good as you enjoy this tasty treat. I served it with a sliced baguette and plan to serve the left-overs over noodles. Thanks Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caponata from Loni Kuhn's S.f. Cooking Class

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.7
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    61%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1309.7 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stuffed green olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites