9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you, Rita! Apologizing for not rating your recipe for several years. Every time I see eggplant in the market, I do a mental calculation of how many bags of it I have in my freezer. You see, I use it for a 'cooking" sauce for fish filets and chicken breasts. It freezes well. I've also used it with pasta as a salad. Even when on a diet, I figured how to make this without olive oil and the results are nearly the same when baked on mild fish or chicken. Really jazzes up a dish. Many ears ago I found the canned commercial variety which is really more like an appetizer spread and loved it. This recipe is much looser than the canned variety and thus more versatle. Love you for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmallTownGirl January 23, 2015

Oh sooo delicious! I used 1/4 cup of basil (it's coming outta my ears) & doubled the capers but left out the salt & sugar (my balsamic vinegar is very thick & syrupy). I did also add a twist or two of coarsely ground black pepper. This stuff is great! I am packing up a 1/2 pint to include in a summer garden bounty package for a friend - I know she;ll love it. Thank you Rita, this one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend July 17, 2008

I am not sure why it has taken me so long to review this recipe. It is one that I make once to twice a year and can so that I have some when ever I want. This stuff is deeelicious! I like to serve it room temp on toasted baguette slices. Though it is just as good warm as a side dish or mixed into pasta. I do think it gets better and more complex with time. I usually do not use the sun dried tomatoes. I have a garden and use the eggplant and tomatoes from there. You won't miss the exclusion if you don't have any in your pantry! Thanks Rita for a family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacChef November 08, 2007

Friend gave me some eggplant. I really want to love the stuff, so I keep trying recipes. This one is a winner. I had it one day for lunch with some leftover pasta. Also shared with some friends on crackers. One of them said it would be very good as a pizza topping. Hmmmm - I will have to try that & get back to you. Bottom line, I love this recipe. Now I will have a difficult time using eggplant for anything else. And after I picked out a bunch of other recipes to try... Thank you very much for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej October 25, 2007

This is very, very good! Tried some other caponata recipes too, loved the stuff, but this is just something else! How can something so healthy be so good? Had it with garlic bread, perfect appetizer. Thank you for another favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 12, 2006

Love this dish. Lots of different veggies and a wonderful blend of flavors. I omitted the capers and salt, health reasons and added mushrooms. This is a great dish to fill in with a sandwich, used with grilled stuff and just to snack on. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH March 09, 2005

This is VERY good. I went to the store and bought rosemary vinegar, duh, when I made the recipe, I saw it said oil.I ended up heating the olive oil and adding some sprigs of rosemary. It was fine. This is so good, I started to munch on it before the overnight stay in the fridge. Thanks, Rita L

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurieh February 20, 2005

Ooooh, this was so good! I love all the different flavors!I used olive oil, but added a dash of rosemary. I left out the pine nuts, cause I don't have any. I halved this recipe but won't next time. Yummmy! I think I will can this and give for gifts. Thanks so much Rita for this delicious recipe! I served this with your pasta recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 18, 2004

Very yummy, savoury and healthful. We had this on rosemary crackers and loved it. Like a cooked relish. Loved the combo of veggies and flavours - they all came together beautifully. The sun-dried tomatoes and capers particularly added a nice 'zing'. Used Rita's own rosemary oil to make this and it was even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 14, 2004
Caponata ' Eggplant and Lots of Good Things!