Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caponata ' Eggplant and Lots of Good Things! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caponata ' Eggplant and Lots of Good Things!

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2008

      Oh sooo delicious! I used 1/4 cup of basil (it's coming outta my ears) & doubled the capers but left out the salt & sugar (my balsamic vinegar is very thick & syrupy). I did also add a twist or two of coarsely ground black pepper. This stuff is great! I am packing up a 1/2 pint to include in a summer garden bounty package for a friend - I know she;ll love it. Thank you Rita, this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I am not sure why it has taken me so long to review this recipe. It is one that I make once to twice a year and can so that I have some when ever I want. This stuff is deeelicious! I like to serve it room temp on toasted baguette slices. Though it is just as good warm as a side dish or mixed into pasta. I do think it gets better and more complex with time. I usually do not use the sun dried tomatoes. I have a garden and use the eggplant and tomatoes from there. You won't miss the exclusion if you don't have any in your pantry! Thanks Rita for a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Friend gave me some eggplant. I really want to love the stuff, so I keep trying recipes. This one is a winner. I had it one day for lunch with some leftover pasta. Also shared with some friends on crackers. One of them said it would be very good as a pizza topping. Hmmmm - I will have to try that & get back to you. Bottom line, I love this recipe. Now I will have a difficult time using eggplant for anything else. And after I picked out a bunch of other recipes to try... Thank you very much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      This is very, very good! Tried some other caponata recipes too, loved the stuff, but this is just something else! How can something so healthy be so good? Had it with garlic bread, perfect appetizer. Thank you for another favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      Love this dish. Lots of different veggies and a wonderful blend of flavors. I omitted the capers and salt, health reasons and added mushrooms. This is a great dish to fill in with a sandwich, used with grilled stuff and just to snack on. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      This is VERY good. I went to the store and bought rosemary vinegar, duh, when I made the recipe, I saw it said oil.I ended up heating the olive oil and adding some sprigs of rosemary. It was fine. This is so good, I started to munch on it before the overnight stay in the fridge. Thanks, Rita L

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      Ooooh, this was so good! I love all the different flavors!I used olive oil, but added a dash of rosemary. I left out the pine nuts, cause I don't have any. I halved this recipe but won't next time. Yummmy! I think I will can this and give for gifts. Thanks so much Rita for this delicious recipe! I served this with your pasta recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Very yummy, savoury and healthful. We had this on rosemary crackers and loved it. Like a cooked relish. Loved the combo of veggies and flavours - they all came together beautifully. The sun-dried tomatoes and capers particularly added a nice 'zing'. Used Rita's own rosemary oil to make this and it was even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caponata ' Eggplant and Lots of Good Things!

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 50

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 16.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    42%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 67.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites