Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cap'n Crunch French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cap'n Crunch French Toast

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2009

      Well I can tell you that I have been to that very diner in the USA, and tried the Capn Crunch French Toast. This recipe HIT IT DEAD ON. Nice job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I did a variation of this by just putting eggs, milk, 1 Tb baking powder,vanilla, & cinnamon together. Crushing Cap'n Crunch. and dredging the Texas Toast through the liquid then the crunch. I have always cooked the french toast in about 1" of hot cooking oil. What a great recipe. My 7 kids can't get enough of these in the morning!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      My husband and I also saw it on TV. I am not a big french toast person and never was, but I love it. We make it every once in awhile. So Good, So Good, So Good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Fabulous - wonderful outside crust, easy and fast to make. (My husband requests this every weekend now.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      I forgot to mention that the only difference was I used soy milk instead of heavy cream due to allergies in the family. Either way the recipe is out of this world !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      I made this with a few variations while out of town. I omitted the sugar, and it was perfect! I wasn't able to find plain Texas toast at the store, but got a small loaf of French bread and cut it into thick 2" slices. While mixing the liquid, I had the bread slices in the oven at 250F to dry it out a little before soaking them. Instead of cooking the slices for 3 minutes on each side, I crisped up the crust for 1 minute on each side in the frying pan, then moved the slices into the oven until I finished cooking all the slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I've been wanting to try something like this ever since I saw that episode of 'DDD' too! It was surprisingly easy to throw together and tasted great! I think I'm going to try it without the nutmeg next time, just as a personal taste, but it really did work well with the cereal! Delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Can't wait to try this over the holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      The first time I made this, I followed the recipe and I can't remember anything being SO SWEET!!! Capt. Crunch has a good flavor but even by itself, IT is too sweet. Then there's sugar, and syrup...
      .. I knew there was great possibilities here, so I made it again. I served it to guests with thick bacon, canned pineapple slices & juice. The slight tartness of the pineapple was perfect with all this..made for a happy palette!! The toast was SO good, it added to my reputation for being a great cook. (At age 74, one needs to be great at SOMETHING! :) These are the changes I made: Forget the sugar. I used half Capt. Crunch and half Rice Crispies..which has little or no sugar. (I poured half a box Rice C. on a heavy sheet pan and browned them slightly in the oven at 350 degrees. Don't know why Kellogg's leaves them so pale...carmelization is FLAVOR!) I cut the soaking time in half..to 15 seconds. After this, I followed the recipe directions. My son said it was the best French toast he had ever had!! My sister is coming for breakfast in the a.m. and I am going to surprise her with this. For this one time, I have toasted buttered pecans and I am going to sprinkle a few on top. I'm giving 5 stars because you were 'almost' there with one of the best breakfast recipes I've seen in a long time. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Yeah... it's sweet alright!!! But it's made with Cap'n Crunch! If it's not sweet then it's not Cap'n Crunch. My kids (which includes my wonderful hubbie:) absolutely adore Cap'n Crunch and french toast, and after breakfast this morning (while they were still at the table) they were speechless!! Their two favorite breakfast came together in a wonderous medley of absolute bliss. Carmelized outside met with a sweet and custard-like inside, mmmmm!! Soaking the toast is essential in order to get the custard-like inside... don't change a thing. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

    • on March 07, 2010

      This can be delicious and not that sweet. Try crushing the cereal (I actually use Special K Vanilla Almond) and after dipping the bread (please don't soak) in the eggs mixture and cereal, Bake it in the oven (325-350) for about 10 minutes. This is what puffs up the bread and cooks the inside so it doesn't come out gooey or undone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      WHOA! This was WAY too sweet and soaking the bread for that long made for gooey (super gooey) centers that never cooked. Second time didn't add cinnamon or nutmeg, didn't soak the bread...just dredged it and it was WAY better. I also found that half a box of cereal was enough for one loaf of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Saw the DDD show as well and made it. I slightly healthified it by using whole wheat bread in a mixture of eggs, NF milk & vanilla, then crusting with CC cereal. I melted 1 Tbsp of butter on the pan for 2 slices. It was incredibly good in this slimmed down version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      My family loves French Toast. We saw this recipe on TV also. It is a awesome way to make French Toast!! We love Guy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This has to be the best french toast I have ever eaten. The Captain Crunch gives it a nice crunchy sweet coating that caramelizes as it cooks. I will prepare my french toast like this from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I saw this on Diners Dive and Drive Ins too and started searching the web for ideas. I made this pretty much the same way you did but with Challah (egg) bread. It was AMAZING. One of the few times you try something and it's just as good as you'd imagined it to be. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      So good. Didn't have heavy cream, used milk instead, next time will see if the cream makes a big difference. Actually found I liked it better served without syrup, just butter - it allowed you to really taste the cap'n crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Saw this too and THANK YOU for trying it out! Both my bf and I's mouths dropped open and turned to each other saying "OMG YES" when we saw this on Guy's program. I will be making this recipe this weekend, thanks to you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cap'n Crunch French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 828.9
     
    Calories from Fat 485
    58%
    Total Fat 53.9 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 32.7 g
    163%
    Cholesterol 335.3 mg
    111%
    Sodium 827.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.5 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 44.0 g
    176%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Texas toast thick bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites