39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe does NOT have 35 calories per serving! FF Sweet. Cond. Milk only has 10 less calories than the regular. The actual calorie breakdown is: 1 - 14oz can FF Sw.Cond. Milk 1200 1 - medium cantaloupe 188 2T honey 128 For a grand total of 1516 If this is 9 servings then this is 168.44 calories per servings. That is almost 5 times the amount listed! Not a low calorie snack, in fact it is more than some low cal ice cream recipes, but it is a fat free one.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itismedia June 24, 2010

Reviewed for ZWT7 Pacific Islands visit- such an easy to prepare ice-cream. Who'd have thought one rockmelon and one can of condensed milk could taste so good? My family loved this frozen dessert- served with fresh strawberries. 5 stars for a super easy and tasty recipe :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 24, 2011

I only had regular sweetened condesed milk so it was bit richer. This is a little bit too sweet for my taste but I think this will be great for the warmer months coming up. It was very simple to make and only took a couple of hours in the freezer(no ice-cream maker). I will make this again for the summer. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT5

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 May 18, 2009

WOW!! This is soooooooo good! And it's healthy!! I am in HEAVEN!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrikingEyes00 August 29, 2007

Exceeded my expectations! This is fresh and wonderful! Love adding FAT FREE sweetened cond milk- saves calories and still tastes devine! My melon was very sweet- from the garden and getting to the point where I was worryied about it. It worked wonderfully in this recipe! Since it was so sweet I think I could have skipped the honey all together but it did add a note of something 'hmmm' to the sherbert. I garnished it with mint just to make a pretty presentation but the mint did go very nicely- the scent just went well with this. KUDOS on an AMAZING dessert that is lower in fat and calories and FRESH FRESH FRESH! Thank you so much Paula!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) May 29, 2007

What an excellent recipe for sherbet PaulaG. We enjoyed this sherbet very much, it was awesome. I used a large, very sweet cantaloupe and regular sweetened condensed milk, I omitted the honey and didn't miss it at all. Wow, was this great, quick, easy, rich, creamy, smooth and oh so flavorful. I love cantaloupes and I loved this fruity sherbet. It blows all the prepackaged stuff right out of the water. I put the liquids in a tupperware container and placed it in the freezer for 8 hours, it worked beautifully. Thank you for sharing a recipe that I will make often. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - Australia <br/><br/>Update: Also made for Spring Pac 2014....still as good as the first time I made it....This time I added it to coffee for a lovely mocha java treat and I also added it to vanilla ice cream and milk for a lovely cantaloupe milk shake...thanks again, Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 30, 2014

Oh is this good? Y-E-S! I don't know where you came up with this recipe, however, it is fantastic. Easy, so easy to make and without an ice cream machine. Thank you. Am going to try with other flavors. Berries, maybe? Many kudos to you. <br/>Edit: 7/12. Made this again. Edit: 8.30.13. Enjoyed again, Paula. Delicious! Caroline

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks August 31, 2013

This was great and easy to make...I wonder if I replaced the cantaloupe with watermelon how that would come out...I'm thinking of trying it with the watermelon...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frends4lfe July 06, 2013

Cantaloupe sherbet..... hmmmmm.... doesn't sound Australian, we don't have cantaloupes in Australia, we have Rockmelons though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dspenc26 May 18, 2013

Easy and good. We used regular condensed milk though. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 28, 2012
Cantaloupe Sherbet