10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent flavor--very pretty in the jar. I reduced the sugar to 5 cups, cooked 55 minutes, temperature of 230 on jelly thermometer. Set up perfect. Made 7 8 oz. jelly jars

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clbass2006 August 14, 2008

I had both cantelopes and peaches left over from this week's farm share so I thought this would be perfect. The taste is great, 5 stars. I cooked for over an hour and it wasn't coming close to setting up. I added a packet of liquid pectin and STILL cooked it for 20 minutes. And probably could have gone longer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeInOz August 20, 2010

I ended up cooking mine longer as many others did because it didn't seem to be setting up. However, it ended up turning into candy from cooking it too long. It still tastes good, but I'm wondering if weeping the fruit with the sugar first might speed up the cooking process a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fay hutch August 14, 2010

Excellent flavor- I would never have thought to combine these two fruits! I adjusted the cook time to compensate for homegrown melons and peaches which are a little juicier than store bought.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amherbert August 03, 2009

I made this Jam last year and gave it as Christmas gifts. The response was rave reviews from everyone! So I am making it again this year only I am making much more as I only had enough to leave us one jar!!! Not this year.... I plan to have enough left over to enjoy it in January.... Feb.... March....! Great delicate flavors! I made sure I cooked it to the right consistency too as a few reviews mentioned it took alittle longer to cook down. Thank you everyone from the recipe to the added notes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxannewightman October 16, 2007

Great recipe! Unusual taste (in a good way) and very pretty in a jar. As my first canning attempt, I wasn't sure how thick it should be when finished cooking, so I turned off the heat after 45 minutes of simmering and it still could've cooked longer (mine could have been a bit thicker). :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktdp August 09, 2007

This is yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyRed August 25, 2005

Fantastic recipe. I will be giving this as Christmas gifts. Combination works great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracey220 August 23, 2005

The taste of this is great, took about 45 min for mine to cook down and I got 5 pints, I too will use this for xmas gifts, Thanks for a great unique recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole Koehler September 03, 2004

I am not a fan of cantaloupe, but love peaches and couldn't imagine mixing the two together...however, this was really good jam. The recipe made 6 pints instead of 6 half-pints. I plan to use some of them as gifts in Christmas baskets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~kdp August 31, 2004
Cantaloupe Peach Jam