10 Reviews

I made these ribs for dinner last night. My husband loved these ribs! Me too! Thank You,Inez for sharing this recipe. Like I have said in other reveiws know your slow-cooker.My ribs were finished in about 4 hours.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 920429 September 20, 2002

Wonderful sauce & so tasty with short ribs. I would not hesitate to use with chuck roast, pot roast, or London Broil strips either. To prevent overcooking the meat & causing it to fall apart, begin testing meat tenderness for fork tender after 6-7 hours on low in the slow cooker. Sauce goes well with mashed potatoes or rice as the starch. This recipe is similar to Miss Nezz's Slow-Cooker Beef Short Ribs which has been reviewed 174 times. This one deserves MORE attention... or to have much of what those reviews contain also apply to this recipe.<br/><br/>Do not skip the skillet browning of the meat before slow-cooker time. A significant flavor dimension will be lost. I added a tablespoon of oil to the butter to allow for browning at a higher heat than butter alone. While the meat browned, I mixed all the other ingredients except the onion in 4-cup measuring pitcher. After the meat had browned, I added the onion for a couple of minutes until translucent, then added the liquid blend to deglaze the skillet. Brought the sauce to a boil while stirring and then reduced to a simmer for about 3 minutes before adding to the slow-cooker.<br/><br/>This IS comfort food at its finest for me... reminds me so much of short ribs my dad made way back when short ribs were actually cheaper than chuck roast and ground beef... short ribs in my area seem to run about $5 per pound these days! My wife did not grow up on this as comfort food, but she also enjoyed these ribs and looks forward to having "something beef" done this way again on a regular basis. This is a nice alternative to blander pot roast! Thanks for a great recipe, Miss Inez!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grantg January 30, 2014

The taste of the ribs was good, but cooking on high for 9 hours was way too long. The meat really didn't even resemble ribs, it just fell apart as I took it out of the crockpot. Next time I make it I'll cook them on low.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tobago Cay September 19, 2003

You out did yourself with this recipe. It had a wonderful flavor. It was nice to serve ribs other than BBQ'ed. I was afraid about the cooking time and amount of liquid used in this recipe but decided to follow it as stated and I am glad I did. The meat just fall apart and the flavor was more enhanced.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M September 09, 2003

I made these last night and they were great. This is definately to be made when you have time. This not for those mornings when your in a hurry to get out the door. My house smelled wonderful when I got home. Thanks so much for posting I'll be making these again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z August 14, 2008

This was outstanding! I used really spicy hot sauce and it had such a great kick to it. I ended up using regular white vinegar instead of cider vinegar, and tomato sauce instead of ketchup. I cooked this on high for about 3-4 hours on high, but also added a few hours on low, which were probably not needed since I used really thin ribs and they shredded quite a bit. Still, it was so tasty and the sauce was just perfect. I'm looking forward to making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu January 02, 2007

I have made these 3 times but keep forgetting to review them. The sauce makes this a delicious dinner! I have always cooked them on high for 4 hours & they come out tender & juicy everytime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Stewart December 13, 2004

Great recipe. I had to go to a butcher shop to get boneless beef short ribs but the effort was worth it. I cut the recipe in half to serve 3 and the proportions were perfect. I thought 9 hours on high seemed like too long. I cooked mine 7 hours on low. They were tender but did not fall apart when picked up out of the slow cooker with tongs. The sauce is a beautiful deep red color and tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 17, 2004

This sauce was fantastic. I cooked the ribs on low for nine hours. Next time I am going to try this with a pot roast (the short ribs I can get around here are too bony and fatty). But the sauce makes this recipe a "keeper". Thanks, Inez!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee March 15, 2004

These were great. Good saucy ribs,I used pork country ribs, and cooked for abt. 8 hours,meat was very,very tender, finger lickin good! Great recipe. Glittergirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glittergirl March 09, 2004
Can't Get Enough Slow-Cooker Ribs