9 Reviews

I was hesitant to make this recipe but tried it anyway. Flavor was great This is the recipe I will use from now on. However, if you are making an 8" pie crust, you need to more than double this recipe to get a full top and bottom. As hard as I tried, I could not stretch it enough and had to make more. Also, did anyone have trouble rolling it? It stuck to the surface and was difficult to transfer it to the pie plate. But still a great crust. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melleng May 10, 2015

Ran out of solid shortening and this worked great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne September 18, 2011

This is a very good pie crust!! It came out crispy but tender. I cannot make "pretty" crusts so this was perfect for me. This will be my new crust to make!! Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 09, 2009

If we had 10 stars I would give it for this pie crust. It is the best!!! Please everyone try it. I went exactly by the recipe and it was perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassyredhead November 16, 2008

i am really not good with rolling things out and making them look pretty so this was perfect for me. super easy and good tasting! what more could i want?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama October 22, 2008

This has to be the easiest and best pie crust anywhere. I think even a child could make it. My family has always loved the pies I have made with solid shortening, but this Canola Oil Crust got rave reviews from them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barmy July 27, 2008

I use this recipe whenever I need a crust, whether it is for a dessert, quiche, or other dish. It is really simple to make, so why even buy pie crusts from the store?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vincir March 20, 2007

I have never used sugar in this recipe before and thought it was a welcome addition. I made a deep dish pumpkin pie today which holds 8 cups of pumpkin! I had a baseball size amount of crust left over, so this recipe makes a good amount of crust. The only thing I would add is that if you want to roll it out, place two layers of plastic wrap out on your counter, put the mound of crust in the middle and flatten with your hands. Then, put another two layers of plastic wrap over it. This will allow you to use your dough roller to make a very smooth, thin crust. When you are ready to transfer it to your pie plate, remove the top layer of plastic wrap from the crust and then flip it over into your pie plate. Peel the plastic wrap off the top and then use your fingers to "fix" any pieces that may have broken or cracked. Using plastic wrap allows you to form your crust with out re-rolling and making the crust tough. You do not need any additional flour and it is all done and taken care of in a few minutes. You will want to make pie crust more often if you can do it with ease! Thanks for this! KCShell

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCShell January 01, 2007

Fantastic & Easy ! Made 20 of these yesterday for the bakery I work p/t at .... Very good, making more for home today !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee November 22, 2006
Canola Oil Pie Crust