Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cannoli Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cannoli Cake

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2011

      This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I actually made this cake twice over the weekend, the first was for a company party where everyone could bring their own dish, and it was such a huge hit with everybody that I made it again for my family reunion on Sunday. At both events, people couldn't stop talking about how great the cake was! It really was delicious, and I'm saving this recipe in a special place for the next time I make a cake.

      I will note that I followed the recipe, and the ingredients, to the letter. It couldn't have turned out better either time.

      Regarding using less ricotta cheese, this is absolutely not necessary. If you have any sort of experience with ricotta cheese, then you know that different brands have differing levels of wetness. For a recipe like this, where you need the mixture to be firm, you need to use a drier ricotta cheese.

      Also, you shouldn't have extra filling, it is all meant to be used. The entirety of the filling mixture is supposed to be put on the bottom cake layer, with most of it being in the center, creating a thick dome-shaped layer of filling. If there is more left in the bowl, then you haven't put enough on. If your filling is not thick enough to hold its shape at all, then either you haven't made it properly or the ricotta you've used is too wet.

      For the part where it says to cut a wedge out of the top cake layer, the wedge should be about 1/6 of the total size. This stops the cake from breaking when you lay it on the dome-shaped filling. You then reinsert the wedge after setting it down.

      Thanks to the person who mentioned what cookbook this is from, I'm definitely going to be purchasing it in the near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This is a great recipe from one of the best dessert books ever... The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Book of Desserts. If you buy this book, you won't be disappointed. I have no affiliation, just love the book and have gotten raves from every recipe I've made from it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Well, I read all the reviews AFTER I made the cake...and I'm not sure what the big deal was. My ricotta filling was NOT runny at all. I used all 32 oz and it came out perfect. It tasted fantastic, too - JUST like cannoli filling! I was afraid it would be a little too orangy with the zest, juice and liquer. I sampled a crumb of the cake with the juice - it was fine! I lightly brushed the cake with the juice, so maybe that's why. Anyway, I say to all those wondering if they should try this recipe...GO FOR IT! You shouldn't be dissapointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      My boyfriend is cannoli-obsessed. So, I decided to make this cake for him for his birthday. I am by no means culinarily inclined. So, I was nervous. But, I decided to do it anyway. I made the cake and the filling the night before. I used a little less orange zest in the filling and none in the mixture for brusing the cake because my boyfriend had previously commented that he doesn't like an overly-orangey cannoli. The morning of his birthday, I made the icing (I was so impressed with how good this was that I will probably use the icing recipe for other desserts in the future) and assembled the cake. For an extra embellishment, I added chopped, unsalted pistachios around the sides of the cake. And, while this looks very pretty, shucking this many pistachios is not fun! It was a big hit! Everyone thought I bought it already made (not sure if that was a compliment or not). I would definitely recommend this cake, especially when you're looking for something a little different from the norm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I made this for my father's birthday and it was a huge hit! Everyone said it tasted just like cannoli. This cake does take some time and effort, but it was well worth it for the results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      This cake was sooooo yummy!! I made it for an anniversary treat for my boyfriend, becuase he loves cannoli. This didnt really have the same texture (due to the lack or a crunchy shell), but the flavor was outstanding!!! It got even better after a day or two, because the cake just soaked up the juices. The only downfall was that it took a REALLY long time from start to finish. I guess good things are worth waiting for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Awesome recipe! Time consuming but so worth it in the end. Tastes as good as it looks. I did add 2 Tbsp of spiced rum to the filling mixture for a little extra kick. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I made a few small changes, but overall thrilled with the results! I did have leftover filling, but that is always welcome at our house. Great new dessert for family get-togethers! Closest thing to actual cannoli at home without the shells!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      WOW! Fantastic recipe! I altered it slightly by filling between the layers with almond paste filling and then icing the cake with the listed "filling". I also used shaved chocolate instead of mini chips. It was a big hit. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      I have been looking for this recipe for 20 years. It was always popular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Dyakyoo for the post! This cake was soooo great! Although it calls for way too much filling and Icing... But I didn't mind. I went out and bought cannoli shells and made my coworkers very happy. I was excited to make the fancy top - I posted the picture - Not bad for my first try I must say!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I made this for my parents anniversary party and it was a big hit. It is alot of work but well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Wonderful! Absolutely worth the time and effort! Suggestion to start the day before is a must. I might even consider making and assembling the whole cake ahead one day. I added chopped pistachio's to the top with mini chips and it was delicious. Even better the second day. I think it would also be lovely served in individual trifle dishes. The orange liquer tastes excellent and I recommend using it! Our new Christmas cake tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This is amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This is an absolutely delicious cake. It takes a while to make but it's worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I made this cake for a family get together and it was a huge, huge hit. The cream cheese added just the right thickness and body to the filling and tasted wonderful (didn't impact the cannoli filling traditional taste too much). This cake may have taken a little effort (it wasn't that bad at all ) but if you want to impress your guests this is a very good cake to make. Quite delish !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      This is a wonderful, rich and delicious cake. It is very labor intensive, but the end result is well worth it. I will not make it often, but will save it for special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      A very special, unusual and delicious cake that was well-loved by all the baby shower guests. I made a few changes, tho!

      I wanted to fully appreciate the creamy ricotta with less orange flavor, so I used a bit less than half of the orange zest called for in the cannoli cream - and less than half the zest for brushing the cake layers. I used the same amount of orange juice, but substituted Disaronno Amaretto for the orange liqueur. I achieved my desired result & would definitely do that again.

      I used 'Grande' Brand Sopraffina (superfine) ricotta cheese. It has a smoother consistency than regular ricotta & is perfect for cannoli cream. I did 'hang' the cheese in a sieve for several hours to drain off a bit of the moisture - I highly recommend doing this even tho the recipe doesn't say to.

      Also, I didn't use a 10" spring form pan. Since I was making an artisan cake (in the shape of a baby monster!) I made the recipe twice using 2 - 9" layer cake pans per batch. (2 cakes=4 layers total.) I greased & floured the bottoms only, lowered the baking temperature to 350 and left them in a little longer. Use your best judgement or consult the internet if you alter the pan. In retrospect, I may have been alright taking them out at the prescribed time. (One of my layers was a bit browner than I would have liked.) My oven may be a little hot - I should have used an accurate oven thermometer.

      This may very well be the best cake I ever made or tasted. (I usually am not a big fan of cake.) Wonderful ~ try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Excellent cake. Here is a tip for those having textural issues. Firstly, one of the reasons this cake could come out very chewy is because it calls for AP flour. I replaced the AP flour with cake flour and the cake came out with a fabulous, light, airy texture. When switching AP flour for cake flour 1 cup AP = 1.125 (1 c. 2 Tbs) cups cake flour so in the case of this recipe you would use 3/4 cup 1.5 Tbs cake flour. However, I actually halved the cake recipe as it was just far too much cake for me. This meant halving the cake part, orange juice, filling part, and using 2/3 of the original frosting recipe. (Surface area only decreases by approximately 35%). I baked it in a standard 9" round cake pan which I greased. Perfect!
      This also gave me the idea for anyone who wants to shake it up a bit that you could probably bake the original recipe in 2 - 9" cake pans, then cut each in half so you end up with four cake layers and spread the cannoli filling equally between them (in three parts). I know some people seemed to feel that it was too much filling, but by splitting it up in a multi-layer cake it might work better. FYI I can say from doing half recipe/1 - 9" cake pan my cake ended up being 1.25" thick so when cut each layer was about 5/8" thick. I also did not spread the filling as a dome since it did not seem like an overwhelming amount and as a result did not have to cut a wedge in my top cake layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      WOW! I'm not surprised at all by the positive reviews on this recipe, they must be as satisfied as I am after following such a simple recipe. I'm certain that there is no one who could have trouble making this, everything was so easy and the directions were really easy to follow. We used the recipe provided for the icing, cake, and cannoli filling, and it couldn't have turned out better. We ended up with an amazingly delicious cake with perfect texture and taste, and a room full of people wanting more. I recommend anyone who actually knows how to cook to use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cannoli Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.6
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    54%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 22.5 g
    112%
    Cholesterol 208.8 mg
    69%
    Sodium 402.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 50.1 g
    200%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites