31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I actually made this cake twice over the weekend, the first was for a company party where everyone could bring their own dish, and it was such a huge hit with everybody that I made it again for my family reunion on Sunday. At both events, people couldn't stop talking about how great the cake was! It really was delicious, and I'm saving this recipe in a special place for the next time I make a cake.

I will note that I followed the recipe, and the ingredients, to the letter. It couldn't have turned out better either time.

Regarding using less ricotta cheese, this is absolutely not necessary. If you have any sort of experience with ricotta cheese, then you know that different brands have differing levels of wetness. For a recipe like this, where you need the mixture to be firm, you need to use a drier ricotta cheese.

Also, you shouldn't have extra filling, it is all meant to be used. The entirety of the filling mixture is supposed to be put on the bottom cake layer, with most of it being in the center, creating a thick dome-shaped layer of filling. If there is more left in the bowl, then you haven't put enough on. If your filling is not thick enough to hold its shape at all, then either you haven't made it properly or the ricotta you've used is too wet.

For the part where it says to cut a wedge out of the top cake layer, the wedge should be about 1/6 of the total size. This stops the cake from breaking when you lay it on the dome-shaped filling. You then reinsert the wedge after setting it down.

Thanks to the person who mentioned what cookbook this is from, I'm definitely going to be purchasing it in the near future.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joshua Keaton February 17, 2011

This is a great recipe from one of the best dessert books ever... The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Book of Desserts. If you buy this book, you won't be disappointed. I have no affiliation, just love the book and have gotten raves from every recipe I've made from it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HomePlatePCS February 08, 2011

I made a few small changes, but overall thrilled with the results! I did have leftover filling, but that is always welcome at our house. Great new dessert for family get-togethers! Closest thing to actual cannoli at home without the shells!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sellersfam4 January 15, 2011

Well, I read all the reviews AFTER I made the cake...and I'm not sure what the big deal was. My ricotta filling was NOT runny at all. I used all 32 oz and it came out perfect. It tasted fantastic, too - JUST like cannoli filling! I was afraid it would be a little too orangy with the zest, juice and liquer. I sampled a crumb of the cake with the juice - it was fine! I lightly brushed the cake with the juice, so maybe that's why. Anyway, I say to all those wondering if they should try this recipe...GO FOR IT! You shouldn't be dissapointed!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danielle washington October 28, 2009

My boyfriend is cannoli-obsessed. So, I decided to make this cake for him for his birthday. I am by no means culinarily inclined. So, I was nervous. But, I decided to do it anyway. I made the cake and the filling the night before. I used a little less orange zest in the filling and none in the mixture for brusing the cake because my boyfriend had previously commented that he doesn't like an overly-orangey cannoli. The morning of his birthday, I made the icing (I was so impressed with how good this was that I will probably use the icing recipe for other desserts in the future) and assembled the cake. For an extra embellishment, I added chopped, unsalted pistachios around the sides of the cake. And, while this looks very pretty, shucking this many pistachios is not fun! It was a big hit! Everyone thought I bought it already made (not sure if that was a compliment or not). I would definitely recommend this cake, especially when you're looking for something a little different from the norm.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comet614 May 22, 2009

I made this for my father's birthday and it was a huge hit! Everyone said it tasted just like cannoli. This cake does take some time and effort, but it was well worth it for the results!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Animus October 06, 2008

This cake was sooooo yummy!! I made it for an anniversary treat for my boyfriend, becuase he loves cannoli. This didnt really have the same texture (due to the lack or a crunchy shell), but the flavor was outstanding!!! It got even better after a day or two, because the cake just soaked up the juices. The only downfall was that it took a REALLY long time from start to finish. I guess good things are worth waiting for!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AbbyLu202 May 01, 2007

Awesome recipe! Time consuming but so worth it in the end. Tastes as good as it looks. I did add 2 Tbsp of spiced rum to the filling mixture for a little extra kick. :0)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalders February 25, 2006

A very special, unusual and delicious cake that was well-loved by all the baby shower guests. I made a few changes, tho!

I wanted to fully appreciate the creamy ricotta with less orange flavor, so I used a bit less than half of the orange zest called for in the cannoli cream - and less than half the zest for brushing the cake layers. I used the same amount of orange juice, but substituted Disaronno Amaretto for the orange liqueur. I achieved my desired result & would definitely do that again.

I used 'Grande' Brand Sopraffina (superfine) ricotta cheese. It has a smoother consistency than regular ricotta & is perfect for cannoli cream. I did 'hang' the cheese in a sieve for several hours to drain off a bit of the moisture - I highly recommend doing this even tho the recipe doesn't say to.

Also, I didn't use a 10" spring form pan. Since I was making an artisan cake (in the shape of a baby monster!) I made the recipe twice using 2 - 9" layer cake pans per batch. (2 cakes=4 layers total.) I greased & floured the bottoms only, lowered the baking temperature to 350 and left them in a little longer. Use your best judgement or consult the internet if you alter the pan. In retrospect, I may have been alright taking them out at the prescribed time. (One of my layers was a bit browner than I would have liked.) My oven may be a little hot - I should have used an accurate oven thermometer.

This may very well be the best cake I ever made or tasted. (I usually am not a big fan of cake.) Wonderful ~ try it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorneybug February 08, 2012

WOW! I'm not surprised at all by the positive reviews on this recipe, they must be as satisfied as I am after following such a simple recipe. I'm certain that there is no one who could have trouble making this, everything was so easy and the directions were really easy to follow. We used the recipe provided for the icing, cake, and cannoli filling, and it couldn't have turned out better. We ended up with an amazingly delicious cake with perfect texture and taste, and a room full of people wanting more. I recommend anyone who actually knows how to cook to use this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICook2Please May 26, 2011
Cannoli Cake