Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cannoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cannoli

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2008

      Up until about 2 months ago, I never ate a cannoli. One night we ordered from a pizza place and they were on the menu, so i figured i would try one. OH MY GOODNESS!!! TO DIE FOR! Well that was that and never thought about them again, until this past week. My head has been screaming CANNOLI 24 hours a day. So, needless to say i went to the grocery store today and they were in the bakery for $3 each. I passed that by thinking i could make them cheaper. So I came to the zaar and chose this recipe. Well I spent part of the day making cannolis and decided instead of dinner to have 2 of them. This put me on a sugar high for half the night, so I went and laid down. Well I got up and did some things and I hear the screaming from the refrigerator again!!! I open it and of course its those damn cannolis again, yelling EAT ME! EAT ME! So I grabbed 2 more and decided, I better hurry and freeze the rest and put them in my basement freezer where there is less of a chance of me hearing them making such a ruckus! So I then sat down and ate them. I must be insane. I must have had 800-1000 cannoli calories today! Whats a girl to do? I am afraid I may be in TROUBLE!! Is there a hotline for cannoli addiction? HELP! By the way, this recipe was so great. Thank you for sharing it with us! Everything was perfect! I did garnish the ends with extra chocolate chips and omitted the wine and cherries and they were so great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Been a bakery owner a long time and found this recipe to be wonderfully easy and flaky. Best to use a canola oil and fresh at that. I mix the ingredients in a food processor and did have to add a bit more wine. Depends on the flour also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I made the filling only and used pizzelles as the cannoli shells. Everyone loved them. Keeping this recipe for the future. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Great Recipe :D They turned out absolutely delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      Thanks Kim for this recipe. I have another way I made them, so I hope this suggestion is also read by others. When I rolled out the dough and then cut it into circles, I took my rolling pin to the piece I cut and flattened it out moreso, therefore bringing it paper thin like you suggested. I didn't have cannoli forms, so I went to TRUE VALUE HARDWARE and bought a dowel that was appropriate to the size of the cannoli I wanted to serve. I had the boy cut the wooden dowel into 6' pieces...all for $3.39!!! I wrapped the dough around the dowel piece and submerged it into the hot oil with a pair of tongs, keeping the overlapping areas tight together for about 25seconds. This way the ends adhered to one another and stayed true to form. I haven't stuffed them with the ricotta mixture as of yet, but I'm sure they'll be high on my list to make in the future. Thanks again for the recipe..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Thank you! I'm going to make these for a class party! Cant wait to try it out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      This is not the recipe to use if you want them to taste like they do from a good Italian restaurant. There are a couple things missing like Marscapone

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Very easy to do....my best friend is Italian and I make these when ever I can....I also make them for christmas as well, and my family just goes ape over them!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      Love this Recipe...It's Heaven! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This was so good! i bought the cannoli shells, and the filling was absolutely jealous! cheese > cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Very tasty! I only made the filling, as I used pizelle shells instead.. I used low fat ricotta, but wouldn't recommend it because it made filling quite runny. We like things sweet so I added a little extra powdered sugar and a little bit of light cream cheese for creaminess, and it was a hit! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I actually used Pizzelles Pizzelles for the shell portion and used this filling recipe. Turned out wonderful for a New Year's Eve party. Everyone impressed!! Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Tried this over Christmas. It was well recieved but I felt something was really missing. I had trouble at first with the shells opening when I was frying them. I started pinching the seals with a little bit of water to make sure they stayed closed. They turned out nice looking but I felt the favor was bland. I did use more wine than the recipe called for because it was very dry. They took more than one minute to fry to a beautiful brown. I let the ricotta drain for two days and it was still a little wet but it was easy to drain off so I could fill the shells. I dipped the ends of the shell in chocolate, filled them then dipped the ends again in small chocolate chips. I made these for two separate occasions. The first I thought was very bland. With the second batch, (same shells) I mixed in some confectionary sugar to sweeten it up some. I thought it made a huge differnce, it was a much better tasting filling, in my opinion ---- I'm still looking for a cannoli shell recipe that is very tasty. I got a lot of compliments from them but I felt they turned out so pretty that the presentation is what pulled me through! I made them two days ahead and they waited for serving time beautifully, no wet bottoms, etc. Next time I will use the whipping cream and see if they taste better. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

    • on July 17, 2009

      Wonderful dessert! I made a few changes but they turned out marvelously! I didn't have any white wine handy, so I just used water (and ended up adding a bit more than the recipe called for since my dough seemed VERY dry) And instead of whipped cream, I added cream cheese to the filling - wow! I didn't have cannoli forms, so I used the handles of some all metal cooking utensils to wrap the dough around and fried them that way, it was interesting, but it worked! My dough made DOZENS of shells, so many that halfway through I decided to just freeze half of it for later and I still ended up with more shells than filling! All in all, this was a completely wonderful little treat! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Very good! I didn't make the shells, just used the filling recipe in "store bought". Did not use cherries or the whipping cream, and it was still yummy. Definitely need to cool the filling before piping, it is a little runny otherwise. Next time I will try making the shells!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Using dowels may not be "food safe".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Awesome, however, I did not add the choco chips or cherries... I kept it traditional. I got lots of rave reviews. I drizzled chocolate on the top and then powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      My first experience with cannoli's. I started with a different recipe and failed miserably. This recipe was easy and delicious and I was the star of the show for Christmas dinner. You can get cannoli tubes on ebay very reasonable. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Just made this recipe tonight and it came out great. Only problem I ran into with using a wooden dowel is that the inside of the shells are still somewhat soft, but still just as good. I also needed 1 1/4 cup of white wine instead of the 3/4ths. Great recipe though. My friends and family are going to love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cannoli

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.6
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    41%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 52.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 76.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maraschino cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites