Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canning Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canning Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2004

    • on October 06, 2001

      Under no circumstances would I eat tomatoes prepared this way. Doing so would risk a big case of food poisoning as the tomatoes have not been 'canned' at all. The U.S. Dept.of Agriculture recommends adding 2 tablespoons per qt. of tomatoes of bottled lemon juice or food-grade citric acid and canning tomatoes in a pressure canner or a boiling water bath which the posted recipe neglected to add. This is the only method which will kill bacteria which causes botulism.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      Well.....I have to come to the defense of this recipe. I do my tomatoes almost the same way, except, I don't put in the canning salt and I definately do not use lemon juice or anything else for that matter. My sister, mother-in-law, her mother, and my grandmother has never used either of those things and our tomatoes are just fine. We do however, use a water bath for processing. Keep up the good cookin' Lali! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      I am sorry to say that this recipe is out of date.Years ago it may have been safe to do this but not now.The reason is that the tomatoes grown now are too low in acid; this is the reason it is recommended to put in the extra acid in the form of lemon juice.Those who use it are very fortunate they have not lost a loved one by being too stubborn to do a little research and put that lemon juice in their tomatoes ! It does not detract from the flavor at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      OK, I'm going to stick my neck out here, but I've canned my tomatoes cold-pack for years with no problem. I know a lot of people say that you have to add acid (lemon juice, etc. ) but this is a quote from my BALL BLUE BOOK; A WORD ABOUT TOMATOES Recent research by a leading university confirms that tomatoes, even those desgnated as "low acid" are safe to can by the boiling water bath method as long as standard canning procedures are followed. The study showed that tomatoes for canning should be firm, ripe, and fully colored.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2002

      I do tomatoes about the same way, except, I cut mine up after peeling & Pack them into Jars then I do a hot water bath process, 40 minutes for pints & 45 minutes for Quarts. This is also the recomened way in the Ball canning book. I have been doing this for YEARS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Sick to death of all the cry-babies sterilizing everything, from their kids to their environment... Good, strong farm kids grew up tough, exposed to everything from manure to blood to parasites on a daily basis, or worse, and eating what Mom and Grandma put up every summer, butchering their own beef, pork, chicken, turkeys!! Now we have sick, anemic kids, allergies up the whazoo, and weak genetics. Hello????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      I basically can my tomatoes the same way, but I add canning salt and sugar of equal amounts. If it's a pint jar then I add 1 tsp. of each. I would be afraid of these if I didn't hot water bath them, but I'm not going to add lemon juice to my canned tomatoes. You want your family and friends to enjoy your canning and not have to worry about their health.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Well I will upset a few people, but my Grandma, canned tomatoes in what was called the open pan method. I'll admit she lost a few jars, but not many. The tomatoes were hot all the way thru & the juice was boiling she would put salt in them. Her lids were in boiling water before she put them on the jars. I washed the jars in soapy water & rinsed them. Before she started putting the tomatoes in the jars, she would pour boiling water in the jars to heat the jars and sterlize them. She done all of this on a woodcook stove outside under a tree for shade. She always smelled of a jar when she opened it. In all the years of her canning no one ever got sick from it. As long as I can remember she canned her green beans, corn & soup in a pressure cooker. Before she had one , she would put her vegetables in jars and put them in a #2 washtub fill it with hot water and then cook them over a open fire, with the water always over them for about 3 hrs or so. She had cast iron wash pots that they got their hot water from, because she didn't have a stove at that time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This is how my mom and grandma canned these too. We do use a pressure canner though. My daughter uses hot water bath. Either method works fine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I have been canning tomatoes like this for ever. I cold pack them, cutting them into quarters so that i can fit more into a jar. I also run a chopstick around between the jar and tomatoes to help elimanate air. I use a teaspoon of table salt, will have to find some canning salt and try that. I am going to experiment with adding lemon juice just to see what the flavor difference is, if any. I water bath quarts for 45 minutes. The only problem I have is my daughter keeps using up my supplies :) Thank you for posting this simple recipe that preserves the garden to last through out the year. Shirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Perfect way to use up the amount of tomatoes we had. I did about 16 qts. this year, will try to get more next year. Thanks for the recipe/instructions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      It DOES mention "water bath" in the recipe, perhaps not specific enough for the beginner. am holding a copy of the Ball Blue Book, our canning bible. It specifies a teaspoon salt per Quart, no added acid, and water bath. I'd say this recipe is safe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I have been looking for this recipe for a long time it was lost after my mothers death.This the same one thanks.C.K Oshkosh,wi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This is how I was taught to can tomatoes, this goes back 5 generations in my family, I've been doing this for 30 adult years not to speak of the years at home helping Mom. This is how I taught my daughter. I agree with Pamela Joyce! Thanks Lali for posting, I'm sure this will be helpful to many, canning is a lost art, just like sewing. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This is exactly how I have canned for years and the way my grandmother and mother taught me. I use table salt and have never had a problem. I think this is a wonderful recipe and will continue to use it and will teach my daughters the same way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      This is the way that I've canned tomatoes for years. As far as adding lemon juice or citric acid, you have to remember that the government is trying to create guidelines that will keep product safe that May have been exposed to poor growing conditions, picked while immature, exposed to pesticides, salmonella, rat droppings and who knows what. Generally, if you have healthy plants free of disease and pests and use sanitary equipment, relax and enjoy your canned tomatoes. If you think your tomatoes are less than perfect or just aren't sure, by all means, add some citric acid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Though I apreciate the sentiment that it has been done this way for 70 years...the reason the USDA recommends (highly) the addition of acid is that modern tomatoes have been bred in such a way that their acidity is reduced. Therefore, the old methods are no longer safe. Perhaps, if you're using heirloom tomatoes you grew yourself and you know the acidity of your soil or somehow test the ph before putting on the lid..... Bear in mind, too, that riper tomatoes are also less acidic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      This is an heirloom recipe that no longer meets the latest USDA/NCHFP (National Center for Home Food Preservation) guidelines. Laboratory research has shown that modern tomatoes have varying pH. If one is following the most recent guidance, a little bottled lemon juice (it has a standard acidity, fresh lemons can vary) should be added to each jar to adjust the acidity to promote the most shelf-stable storage safety. Also, longer processing time is recommended than this recipe directs. Pints should be in the boiling water for 40 minutes at up to 1000 feet in elevation, 45 minutes at up to 3000 feet, 50 minutes up to 6000 and 55 minutes over 6000 feet in elevation. Quarts should be in the boiling water for 45 minutes up to 1000 feet, 50 minutes up to 3000 feet, 55 minutes up to 6000 feet and 60 minutes over 6000 feet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      I'm afraid I have to agree with Littlemsmartha. While this old-fashioned type of recipe is delicious and simple, safety standards have changed due to recent research and testing. It's very simple to add a little lemon juice as a safety precaution, and I've never had it adversely affect the taste. As a matter of fact, it improves it, in my opinion. An excellent source for guidance is the web page of the National Center for Home Food Preservation. Here's a link to their tomato section for reference. http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can3_tomato.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canning Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes