Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cannellini Beans With Crushed Red Pepper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cannellini Beans With Crushed Red Pepper

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2012

      Yes this is a very quick and easy appetizer that if you left less crushed could make a side. I made using a very high quality olive oil and was glad I did because the olive really shins, also added one clove crushed garlic and mashed most of the beans to serve as recommended dip. For dippers used carrot slice and whole grain crackers while both were good the carrots were the bigger hit with this nice dip. I did use the full recommended crushed pepper which turned out not to be too hot for DH which was also a nice surprise. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      UPDATE: I had this dish today after it had been refrigerated overnight. I must say it is much better after being chilled for 24 hours. So I'm adding another star to this recipe. June 01, 2011...This certainly was quick and easy to make. With one tablespoon of crush red pepper on it, it was too hot for my husband. I like the heat but wish there was just a little more flavor in this dish. Made for ZWT7-Italy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      I only had one can of beans so could only make half this recipe. It was HOT but very good. Next time I'll use less pepper. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Italy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I just made this up at 7:30 am for this evening adding a touch of garlic and a sprinkle of Italian Seasoning. My test sample was already yummy and I know that it will be even better tonight. I did trim back on the pepper flakes by about half and that amount works well for my house. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      Very tasty and good for you! I felt this needed something to 'brighten' it up and did add some lemon zest and juice to taste. Worked a treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      When I saw this recipe, I was hoping that it would be similar to an appetizer that's served at Legal C Bar in Dedham MA. Not quite there, but good nonetheless. The beans I bought were not as soft as the beans that I usually buy, so I mashed them almost completely to soften them up a bit more. Because of the beans I used, I also needed to use extra olive oil to make them more creamy, too. I used the full amount of crushed red pepper, and I added a bit of garlic paste. I also used smoked sea salt in place of the regular salt. This went perfectly with some Mediterranean-seasoned pita chips. This recipe will be good to keep on hand for those nights when DH is getting twitchy because dinner isn't cooking fast enough, lol. Thanks for posting! Made for Culinary Quest I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Really good. It was a little bland so I added some more crushed red peppers and a pinch of garlic powder. Made for CQ14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Good stuff! I halved the recipe and used one of those fancy herb-y olive oils. I had everything on hand so this is a great go-to app. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      This is a really great way to spruce up white beans. They are a great low carb side dish. Made for ZWT 7, Italy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      These beans were great - so simple yet so flavorful. I did add a small clove of pressed garlic too. I made these to go with our dinner tonight, a green salad and bruschetta. I ended up mixing some of the beans into my salad - it was great. Wonderful side dish or part of a veggie-night dinner. Thanks for posting - into my keeper cookbook. Made for ZWT7 - ITALY - Holidays & entertaining Forum Challenge and the HOT PINK LADIES!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      I was definitely looking for fast and easy last night and this recipe fit the bill. I served it as a side to dinner. I think the recipe is versatile enough that you can get away with serving it as a "bean salad" and I chilled it for a bit (after eating many spoonfuls right off the bat) before serving. I was originally going to serve this with fish, which I think it would have been well suited for, but I ended up eating it with a baked pasta. I used a really good olive oil that I save for special occasions, since you can really taste the olive oil flavor and the tablespoon of crushed red pepper was just the right amount of heat. I would make this again. Thanks! Made for ZWT 7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cannellini Beans With Crushed Red Pepper

    Serving Size: 1 (1091 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    17%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1063.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 19.0 g
    76%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites