Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canned Green Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canned Green Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2010

      Ok so I was hoping this would work for fried greenn tomatoes but it didnt, the tomatoes were to soft and had no flavor (except for a salty taste). It did however work for green tomato bars. I was hoping this would work :( maybe I did something wrong? followed recipe exactly... I will try again this year as I have planted different varieties of tomatoes. UPDATE>>>> It turns out that the first jar was mushy because the tomatoes were not green enough (we had alot that were just starting to turn)... we decided to try it again and after going thru the next jar we discovered that the ones that were really green upon canning held up nicely, we decided to fry them and it worked! I am sorry the first jar didnt turn out but I know now to only use GREEN tomatoes! not any that are starting to soften!. we will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I made these last year and am just getting around to thinking about canning season for this year. My hubby loves green tomatoes fried in olive oil...but have only been able to have them seasonally. I bought a half bushel of green tomatoes towards the end of the season last year and used this recipe. He told me to plan to make them again this year. It is hard to tell them from fresh. Great and easy recipe...between the two of us we eat a quart at a time. I canned them in wide mouth jars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      I also used the canned green tomatos for fresh hot sauce to eat with mexican food it was very good. I usually only use red tomatos.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      I made these in 2004 and forgot to rate them. I made fried green tomatoes with them in December for DH. He was in Iraq when they were in season so with these I was able to make him one of his favorite dishes. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      No lemon juice to prevent botulism? All of the extension offices state that you need to add lemon juice to prevent food poisoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      These are so good, I added 1 T lemon juice per quart, 1/2 T per pint. I also added Pickle Crisp to keep the tomatoes crunchy and they made fantastic fried green tomatoes in the middle of winter. The 5 minute boiling time made me a bit nervous, I was afraid the jars wouldn't seal so I processed them for 10-15 minutes in a boiling hot water bath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Just enjoyed fried green tomatoes while our yard is covered in snow. Worked like a charm! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Just canned 2 jars. One broke in the water bath. But I can hardly wait to make fried tomatoes from the other jar. From what I can tell it looks like it's going to work real good. I'm goning to to wiat a few weeks to fry them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is a wonderful way to keep green tomatoes all winter! We love them. Thank so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Wow, this recipe is great. Fried green tomatoes in the winter. So good. Thank you for the great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This is Awsome. I just opened a jar. Fried up some fried green tomatoes. I dipped them in egg, them a equal mix of flour and seasoned bread crumbs. Fried golden brown. The tomatoes hold there shape and taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Thank you so much. I had my first garden and had many green tomatoes. This recipe was fun and easy to do. I gave some jars to friends and they loved your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Great recipe for getting the tomato plants cleaned out. I was in a quandry as to what to do with my leftover green tomatoes after I had already made relish, etc. I used quart jars, cuz I like to eat a lot to tomatoes at one time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      I made these last year (2006) and have been wanting to try them, but was just a little unsure as to how they would be. Well, I made fried green tomatoes for lunch today and to my surprise (because I was still skeptical of the taste)they were delicious. I will be using these more as I love fried green tomatoes. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I made these up the other night. Why have I never thought of canning green tomatoes before now? Fried green tomatoes have always been seasonal and I am looking forward to making them this winter. With all the talk about acid and canning tomatoes, I added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to each jar and adjusted the processing time for my altitude. Update: I have used them several times to make fried green tomatoes and they are wonderful. Aunt Paula, thanks for much for this wonderful use of green tomatoes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      I have made fried green tomatoes a couple of times this past month, and was a little sad that I would not be able to enjoy them this winter...until I found your recipe! I promptly made 20 pints. They turned out great. These will be given for gifts at Christmas with instructions and ingredients for the fried green tomatoes. Many many thank you's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      These are wonderful! Nothing like baffling guests at Christmas dinner by serving them some fried green tomatoes! Note: use wide mouth jars, the tomato slices are much easier to get out of those.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canned Green Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites