Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canned Green or Wax Beans (Water Bath Method) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canned Green or Wax Beans (Water Bath Method)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2008

      I selected this recipe because of the number of favorable reviews. When I got to the part about making the packing brine, I realized it was a very dangerous recipe and from now on I won't be going by the number of Stars on a recipe. Next time I will read the recipe all the way through LOL. Since I already had the beans ready to can, I blanched and shocked them instead and vacuum packed them for freezing. For safe waterbath canning of beans and other low acidic vegetables, you need a brine that is AT LEAST 1:1 water to vinegar. Otherwise, they need to be pressure canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I am sorry but it is not safe to waterbath green beans. They need to be pressure canned. If you did it and didn't get sick you are very lucky. Botulism is nothing to fool around with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This is a very dangerous recipe-you should NEVER can green beans in a water bath, unless you use a ratio of vinegar to water of 1:1. Botulism grows well in low-acid, improperly canned foods. Only use a water bath for high-acid foods! Use a pressure canner for all others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Loved this recipe. Just enough vinegar to make it acidic enough to waterbath but not enough to affect the flavor. I have canned 33 quarts from my garden using this recipe and there are more to come. We opened a jar to eat and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe. I used it to can 25 quarts. They have a great flavor and do seem like store bought. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      was really easy - but didn't require no where near 2 cups of water. I added some additional seasoning to the brining liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I cut it in half and used a little less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      While this recipe is written in an old-fashioned way, it is perfectly safe if processed using modern methods, which means a pressure canner is necessary! The amount of vinegar is not adequate to make this safe. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      No, no, no, no, no! Like some other posters have said, water-bath canning for green beans is only safe if you're using a LOT more vinegar than this recipe requires. To safely can these, you need a steam-pressure canner. Use 10 pounds pressure and process pints for 20 minutes or quarts for 25 minutes. It's always best to err on the side of caution when home canning, and using a water bath for anything low-acid is throwing caution to the wind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      very good recipe will do all my beens this way from now on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      green beans were very easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Please PLEASE do not use this recipe. It is not safe to water bath can green beans. They should be pressure canned only. Using this recipe is opening the door to botulism, which doesn't just give you an upset tummy, but will kill you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is exactly like store bought. Thanks so much. Way cheaper and tastes better than canned!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      The information about NOT hot water bath canning green beans is B/S. My family has used this method for everything you can imagine for many, many generations as well as friends and NO ONE has ever gotten sick. This information was spread for some other reason other than the truth. Gosh people don't believe everything you find on the internet. I can only guess the negative reports here are from city dwellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canned Green or Wax Beans (Water Bath Method)

    Serving Size: 1 (1190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.1
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    79%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10651.1 mg
    443%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites