15 Reviews

I selected this recipe because of the number of favorable reviews. When I got to the part about making the packing brine, I realized it was a very dangerous recipe and from now on I won't be going by the number of Stars on a recipe. Next time I will read the recipe all the way through LOL. Since I already had the beans ready to can, I blanched and shocked them instead and vacuum packed them for freezing. For safe waterbath canning of beans and other low acidic vegetables, you need a brine that is AT LEAST 1:1 water to vinegar. Otherwise, they need to be pressure canned.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green Gravy September 21, 2008

I am sorry but it is not safe to waterbath green beans. They need to be pressure canned. If you did it and didn't get sick you are very lucky. Botulism is nothing to fool around with.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gloria 15x June 25, 2008

This is a very dangerous recipe-you should NEVER can green beans in a water bath, unless you use a ratio of vinegar to water of 1:1. Botulism grows well in low-acid, improperly canned foods. Only use a water bath for high-acid foods! Use a pressure canner for all others.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
876796 July 06, 2010

very good recipe will do all my beens this way from now on

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerbigdog August 02, 2008

Loved this recipe. Just enough vinegar to make it acidic enough to waterbath but not enough to affect the flavor. I have canned 33 quarts from my garden using this recipe and there are more to come. We opened a jar to eat and everyone loved them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horselovinmom July 19, 2008

This is an excellent recipe. I used it to can 25 quarts. They have a great flavor and do seem like store bought. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrasl September 09, 2007

was really easy - but didn't require no where near 2 cups of water. I added some additional seasoning to the brining liquid.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casa De Kitty Chef August 26, 2006

This is a great recipe. I cut it in half and used a little less salt.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookn4fun July 24, 2006

While this recipe is written in an old-fashioned way, it is perfectly safe if processed using modern methods, which means a pressure canner is necessary! The amount of vinegar is not adequate to make this safe. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information."

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeldaz51 September 17, 2012

No, no, no, no, no! Like some other posters have said, water-bath canning for green beans is only safe if you're using a LOT more vinegar than this recipe requires. To safely can these, you need a steam-pressure canner. Use 10 pounds pressure and process pints for 20 minutes or quarts for 25 minutes. It's always best to err on the side of caution when home canning, and using a water bath for anything low-acid is throwing caution to the wind.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinya July 21, 2010
Canned Green or Wax Beans (Water Bath Method)