23 Reviews

This is it. Stop looking for the recipe and start cooking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Techsan74 September 06, 2011

This was great! I doubled the black pepper for personal taste. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dudemickgal September 28, 2009

When I lived in Texas I probably ate raising canes at least five times a week. Their sauce was absolutely amazing and I put it on everything. When I moved back to California a few years ago I have been craving canes sauce ever since; it left a hole in my heart! BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I WAS ABLE TO TASTE FOR GREATNESS AGAIN! THIS RECIPE IS 100% PERFECT! THE ONLY THING YOU SHOULD DO DIFFERENTLY IS ADD A LITTLE BIT MORE PEPPER! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonathan B. April 03, 2014

Made for ZWT-9 as a taste-test 2nd dipping sauce for Creole Chicken Wings by Ck2plz. The Cajun wing recipe sauce was mustard/fruit based & I wanted a "cream-type" sauce as a 2nd option. Made as written early in the morning after reading sloe cooker's review, both DH & I enjoyed the 2 sauces equally well. I expect to make this sauce again soon & will try using half mayo & half low-fat sour cream - A nutritionist suggestion for reducing fat content & I've found it rarely loses the desired flavor or texture. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. ~ Edited to Add: I have now made this sauce a 2nd time, used half mayo w/half sour cream & then used it as salad dressing. It was excellent! Thx again. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis September 03, 2013

Oh my gosh this is it!! This is the famous cane's sauce! Flavor is spot on. I wish I could give it 10 stars. And it was so simple to put together. Tasted great with my homemade chicken tenders and crinkle cut fries. Just like the real deal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rook_cook January 15, 2016

EXACTLY the same as Canes! My kids are way more excited than they should be about this. I think this may be the thing that brings my older son home from college. I did take the other reviewers advice and double the pepper. Discovered this last night, already on third batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genevieve E. July 31, 2015

This recipe is incorrect. I use to work at canes so I would personally know!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber B. May 29, 2015

Oh my gosh.... this is it! I used Veganaise instead of Mayo and it tastes exactly the same! I sprinkled in a little extra pepper for taste and was thrilled. Now I'm going to go get fat by adding this to everything I eat. *laughs*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney Marie Mott May 08, 2015

No need to add mite pepper. That "special something" this recipe is missing is Tony Cachere's. Also, as someone else mentioned, garlic powder is a better choice over the salt. Good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa B. March 30, 2015

This tastes nothing like it. The ketchup is so overpowering it's insane and I LOVE ketchup. Ugh it's like everyone on the internet stole this same recipe and jumped on this band wagon for this terrible replica. Gross.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra S. March 29, 2015
Cane Sauce (For Dippin' Chicken)