19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is it. Stop looking for the recipe and start cooking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Techsan74 September 06, 2011

This was great! I doubled the black pepper for personal taste. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dudemickgal September 28, 2009

When I lived in Texas I probably ate raising canes at least five times a week. Their sauce was absolutely amazing and I put it on everything. When I moved back to California a few years ago I have been craving canes sauce ever since; it left a hole in my heart! BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I WAS ABLE TO TASTE FOR GREATNESS AGAIN! THIS RECIPE IS 100% PERFECT! THE ONLY THING YOU SHOULD DO DIFFERENTLY IS ADD A LITTLE BIT MORE PEPPER! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonathan B. April 03, 2014

Made for ZWT-9 as a taste-test 2nd dipping sauce for Creole Chicken Wings by Ck2plz. The Cajun wing recipe sauce was mustard/fruit based & I wanted a "cream-type" sauce as a 2nd option. Made as written early in the morning after reading sloe cooker's review, both DH & I enjoyed the 2 sauces equally well. I expect to make this sauce again soon & will try using half mayo & half low-fat sour cream - A nutritionist suggestion for reducing fat content & I've found it rarely loses the desired flavor or texture. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. ~ Edited to Add: I have now made this sauce a 2nd time, used half mayo w/half sour cream & then used it as salad dressing. It was excellent! Thx again. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis September 03, 2013

No need to add mite pepper. That "special something" this recipe is missing is Tony Cachere's. Also, as someone else mentioned, garlic powder is a better choice over the salt. Good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 30, 2015

This tastes nothing like it. The ketchup is so overpowering it's insane and I LOVE ketchup. Ugh it's like everyone on the internet stole this same recipe and jumped on this band wagon for this terrible replica. Gross.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 29, 2015

This recipe is pretty much spot on except for the garlic salt, it tastes awful. Use Garlic POWDER. I worked at canes and that's what was put in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 13, 2015

I'd like to say that I added lemon juice and A1 steak sauce and it is identical to canes it's amazing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Dee W. September 29, 2014

This was an OK sauce; I used it for dipping chicken. Seems like it is missing something, but I don't know what - I've never had this type of sauce before... DH said it was kinda like a homemade Russian dressing. Sorry I didn't love it, but I'm kinda funny anyway! LOL Thanks for sharing, Random Rachel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl September 06, 2013

I am not sure how this compares to Cane's sauce, but it's a very tasty dipping sauce and works great with chicken. This makes generous portions. Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews September 03, 2013
Cane Sauce (For Dippin' Chicken)