13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You are right these are ADDICTIVE. So yummy and so easy to make.Can hardly wait to put some out for guest I am sure they will be a hit as they are with us. Thank you Judy for another delicious recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz December 22, 2003

Very tasty recipe. I will make it again, however, when I do I think I will carmelise the sugar first then add the nuts. I did wait to stir until the sugar just started melting, however I had to stir it for a good 15 - 20 minutes before the sugar completely melted and coated the nuts. I probably didn't wait long enough before starting to stir originally, but a few of the nuts were starting to scorch by the time the recipe was done. I think making the 'syrup' first, then adding the nuts off heat would be easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Minxkat1 January 02, 2004

This recipe just didn't work for me. I used raw peanuts and they were still very raw-tasting after cooking. I think I might need to roast them first to get a better flavor. Also, there was some scorching on the nuts even before all the sugar had dissolved. I think I would make the syrup first next time and then add in the (roasted) nuts. I also used unsalted butter and think the addition of salt might be helpful to the flavor if not using margarine or salted butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairsinger December 31, 2010

We burnt the first batch and paid closer attention to heat level and stirring instructions on the 2nd batch. Much, much better! This would make wonderful gifts in pretty little jars. Tonight we'll be putting it on top of Elegant Sweet Potato Skins. Next time we want to try it using pecans and maple sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Woman November 06, 2009

I just recently started liking nuts so I couldn't wait to try this recipe. I used a canned blend of nuts with peanuts, cashews, pecans, etc. I cooked it exactly as directed. I just knew for sure I would somehow mess it up by burning the nuts or cooking for too long or something like that but these came out just perfect and they were so quick to make. I could hardly wait for them to cool down to try them because they smelled so good! They tasted just delicious, the only problem is I ate too many at once and ended up with a tummy ache! This stuff is DEFINITELY addictive. This recipe will go into my keepers cookbook..thanks for posting it! Made for Sring PAC '09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS April 23, 2009

I should have reviewed this much earlier. This is the second Christmas and New Year in a row that I have made this recipe and there is never any leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne December 31, 2007

I love this recipe !~. So easy to make too. On the second time of making these candies, I added a pinch of salt & cinnamon and also used more nuts (+ 1/2 cup).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manerly December 23, 2006

Oh yum!!! I made these with cashews and I actually added the nuts after the suger melted a bit..and I stirred as well..they still turned out awesome and I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 November 03, 2006

Very nice for a tasty snack! I used whole almonds to make this and I followed the directions to the letter. I will be sure to make this recipe again! Thanks, Hey Jude!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev July 26, 2006
Candy Nuts