Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Candy Cane Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Candy Cane Cookies

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2008

      We love these cookies which always bring back happy Christmas memories. We have never had anything but fun while forming the candy cane shapes. The cookies are somewhat fragile once baked so would not be a good choice for holiday shipping. My recipe differs a little bit from this one in that it calls for 1 teaspoon vanilla and 3/4 teaspoon peppermint extracts (no almond extract) along with 1/2 teaspoon salt. Also there is only 1/4 cup sugar in the topping which easily adheres to the cookies while they are still warm on their baking trays. Just brush an egg white whisked with a little water onto them before sprinkling on the topping mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Far more trouble than they were worth! I'm an experienced baker, in fact I just made a wedding cake last weekend, but these cookies were LABOR-INTENSIVE. Each one had to be meticulously shaped, the dough kept breaking -- I tried to do "starlight mints" like one reviewer suggested -- a disaster. And then, they had such a bland flavor. I would also recommend crushing the candy canes to a powder or they won't adhere. All in all, too much trouble for this busy mom, sorry. (And if you love the recipe, I don't mean to offend! It just didn't work for ME)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      I found that the taste of these was good, however, there was no way that I was going to be able to roll them into ropes to make the canes. The dough was very dry and crumbly. I followed the recipe exactly substituting peppermint extract for the almond extract, so I'm not sure what went wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      My aunt and grandmother used to make these when I was little and they were always my favorite holiday cookie. I've asked each of them for the recipe but no one could find it, we tried a few other candy cane cookie recipes but they just somehow weren't the ones we remembered. So I tried this one and this was it! The cookies are melt in your mouth soft, a lot of fun to make and lovely when done. The smell of the dough brought back dozens of happy holiday memories! I'm pregnant with my first child and this recipe will now be family tradition once again, I can't wait to share it with another generation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      The dough was difficult to work with, the flavor was lacking and they were really crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I'm currently living in Germany, and wanted to make some traditional german cookies. Since they aren't really familiar with candy canes here, i decided these would o the job. I was forced to use butter instead of shortening, which resulted in a really sticky batter. I just kept adding more and more flour, and eventually the consitencey was perfect. And, they still tasted good. i also had to use all vanilla sugar instead of almond extract and vanilla, but like i said it all worked out. Thanks for the recipe, the host family likes them a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      These are a holiday tradition for my family - it isn't Christmas if we don't make these. This is the same recipe I have always used with the almond extract. They are a bit time consuming to make - hence the 4 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      My sister and I grew up making these too, and this was one of our favorite holiday cookies. Thanks for posting this long lost recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I have very fond memories of my sister and I helping my mom make these for Christmas as a child, so I made them this Christmas with my 2 & 7 year olds. We had a great time! They loved rolling the dough into little balls, then ropes and helping me twist them. We had some pretty crazy looking candy canes!! They also had fun crushing the peppermint candies! These cookies have a mild almond flavor that I really enjoy, and I preferred mine without the peppermint, but the kids loved them with. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      They taste great,but I think I must have done something wrong.The dough was very hard to roll out,I tried chilling the dough and that helped some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

    • on December 21, 2005

      these are just so cute & fun to make! even my 2 year old helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I substituted peppermint extract for the almond extract, and refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. They didn't last a day. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I must have messed up somewhere because the dough was so crumbly it was difficult to roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      this is one of our fav holiday cookies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      My grandmother and I used to make these cookies every single holiday seasons for years. She and I live far away from each other and coming across this recipe really brightened my Christmas spirit. Such a tasty treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      I made these for christmas, they were perfect, and very easy to make thanks so much. They are like a candy and cookie rolled into one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      I made this recipe with my kids for our annual Christmas cookie platters-they loved this cookie! It's cute and tasty and didn't get too hard. I followed the recipe exactly and don't think I would change anything. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      What would Christmas be without these cookies! I don't use any almond extract, but instead up the vanilla, and I'm often too lazy to shape like candycanes, or it isn't Christmas, like now, so I make starlight mints! I roll the two ropes together, two thick ropes, and cut into circles, that give a starlight mint effect. It is faster than the candycanes, and tastes the same,and allows us to eat them outside of the holiday season. Maybe my favorite cookie recipe ever....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Candy Cane Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (814 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.4
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    47%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 8.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 67.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    peppermint candies

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites