19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love these cookies which always bring back happy Christmas memories. We have never had anything but fun while forming the candy cane shapes. The cookies are somewhat fragile once baked so would not be a good choice for holiday shipping. My recipe differs a little bit from this one in that it calls for 1 teaspoon vanilla and 3/4 teaspoon peppermint extracts (no almond extract) along with 1/2 teaspoon salt. Also there is only 1/4 cup sugar in the topping which easily adheres to the cookies while they are still warm on their baking trays. Just brush an egg white whisked with a little water onto them before sprinkling on the topping mixture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes October 27, 2008

Far more trouble than they were worth! I'm an experienced baker, in fact I just made a wedding cake last weekend, but these cookies were LABOR-INTENSIVE. Each one had to be meticulously shaped, the dough kept breaking -- I tried to do "starlight mints" like one reviewer suggested -- a disaster. And then, they had such a bland flavor. I would also recommend crushing the candy canes to a powder or they won't adhere. All in all, too much trouble for this busy mom, sorry. (And if you love the recipe, I don't mean to offend! It just didn't work for ME)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cakebaker21 January 06, 2007

I found that the taste of these was good, however, there was no way that I was going to be able to roll them into ropes to make the canes. The dough was very dry and crumbly. I followed the recipe exactly substituting peppermint extract for the almond extract, so I'm not sure what went wrong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winnipeg *Mel* December 06, 2006

My aunt and grandmother used to make these when I was little and they were always my favorite holiday cookie. I've asked each of them for the recipe but no one could find it, we tried a few other candy cane cookie recipes but they just somehow weren't the ones we remembered. So I tried this one and this was it! The cookies are melt in your mouth soft, a lot of fun to make and lovely when done. The smell of the dough brought back dozens of happy holiday memories! I'm pregnant with my first child and this recipe will now be family tradition once again, I can't wait to share it with another generation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Atomic Kitchen December 04, 2003

The dough was difficult to work with, the flavor was lacking and they were really crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantastical Sharing June 03, 2011

I'm currently living in Germany, and wanted to make some traditional german cookies. Since they aren't really familiar with candy canes here, i decided these would o the job. I was forced to use butter instead of shortening, which resulted in a really sticky batter. I just kept adding more and more flour, and eventually the consitencey was perfect. And, they still tasted good. i also had to use all vanilla sugar instead of almond extract and vanilla, but like i said it all worked out. Thanks for the recipe, the host family likes them a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessicaElizabeth December 16, 2009

These are a holiday tradition for my family - it isn't Christmas if we don't make these. This is the same recipe I have always used with the almond extract. They are a bit time consuming to make - hence the 4 stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom December 17, 2008

My sister and I grew up making these too, and this was one of our favorite holiday cookies. Thanks for posting this long lost recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe December 14, 2008

I have very fond memories of my sister and I helping my mom make these for Christmas as a child, so I made them this Christmas with my 2 & 7 year olds. We had a great time! They loved rolling the dough into little balls, then ropes and helping me twist them. We had some pretty crazy looking candy canes!! They also had fun crushing the peppermint candies! These cookies have a mild almond flavor that I really enjoy, and I preferred mine without the peppermint, but the kids loved them with. Thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami January 14, 2007

They taste great,but I think I must have done something wrong.The dough was very hard to roll out,I tried chilling the dough and that helped some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zicke2000 December 05, 2006
Candy Cane Cookies