17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to give out as Christmas gifts. I added a few things though. I first melted a bag of semi sweet choc. chips and added 1/4 teasp. of peppermint extract. I waited for it too cool then did the same with a bag of white choc. chips and sprinkled the crushed candy canes. I love this, Williams Sonoma sells this for about $20, this is way less expensive and just as good.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelle keithley December 23, 2002

This was awesome!!! I used spearmint and peppermint discs instead of candy canes.........and it was GREAT!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capncrunch December 18, 2002

Wow Lennie, this was wonderful! The only complaint here was that it didn't make enough :) I didn't have any candy canes so I used 14 starlight mints. I also used white bark coating for the chocolate because that was all I had...I needed 3 blocks to match the amount of white baking chocolate. This is very easy and makes a nice presentation. Great for Holiday trays! Thanks for sharing!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 12, 2002

Looks like you have a real winner here Lennie! Just as everyone else said this recipe is so easy to make and taste GREAT! I love the peppermint/sweet white chocolate taste. I too tripled this and I am going to have to make at least another batch. Thanks!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH December 10, 2002

made this tonite, very quick, and they are great!! so easy, and yummy!! I think you should start by tripling the recipe though, cause I lost a lot with fingers dipping in the mix before I could get it to the fridge!!!!!! definate keeper for me!!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills December 09, 2002

My mom has been making this for many years. I think our first batch was back in the 70s. It was a tradition at our house and we would make all different kinds using crushed up green and white peppermints, nuts or just dip pretzels into the chocolate. This is so easy that even very young children can help make them. They have a beautiful presentation and make wonderful Christmas baskets. Plus, they're delicious! I highly recommend these!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! December 08, 2002

So easy so good! Started making my Christmas gifts today (I have jury service the week before Christmas so wasn't sure how the time factor would go)this has helped fill a couple of jars that will go to my hairdresser and the girls at the Drugstore I use, thanks for such a simple 'perfect' candy recipe for Christmas gifts.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 10, 2001

Excellent and easy recipe. I have made something similar before and couldn't find the recipe. This was wonderful. I took a batch into work and it was gone in a flash. Will definately make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario December 30, 2002

Wonderful. Was so easy but tastes soooo good. Made it just as the recipe states.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jegrn December 08, 2002

A friend of mine introduced me to this recipe this past Christmas, and I loved it!! She made it using Starlight mints, too, but I'm sure it tastes the same. This is definitely something I'll be making for years to come. It's so easy and delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree February 27, 2003
Candy Cane Bark