Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Candied Sweet Potatoes - Southern Traditional Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Candied Sweet Potatoes - Southern Traditional

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2003

      These were delicious, easy and went wonderful with the rest of my Christmas dinner. I halved it since there are only two of us and it all turned out perfectly. It tasted even better heated up the next day. Thanks Bev for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      These are fantastic!! This is only the second time I have "fried" sweet taters...Never knew they could be done that way!! They turned out so tender and sweet...I did cut the recipe in half as there are only two of us here, but, didn't hurt a thing...DH and I cleaned them up!! Thank you for sharing this nifty little recipe, Bev...You can bet I'll make these again!! Laudee (I fixed this recipe for our "Bev Cook-a-Thon"...Sure glad I did!!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      I always use your recipe, these are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      These were good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I had never made candied sweet potatoes until today. Personally, I don't care for sweet potatoes , but the family does, so I wanted to add them to the menu for the family Christmas dinner. Pre-cooking the potatoes the day before and refrigerating them overnight made peeling them very easy. I sliced them into about 1 inch thick slices and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 light brown sugar and made them as directed. I asked my husband to try them before dinner to see if they needed anything. He said they were the best he'd ever eaten. He said he would give the recipe "Six" stars. The family loved them. Thanks for posting this recipe Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Took one reviewers suggestion and used half brown sugar and half regular sugar. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I liked it, but didn't LOVE it - so 3 stars as per recipezaar. I may have picked the wrong recipe to do, I should have known better that this may be TOO sweet for me; DH liked it more, though - all personal taste. Thanks - I did enjoy trying something new! Made for Beverage Tag 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I gave this 1 star. I hate to do this to a high rated recipe but this just did not work for me. First of all maybe because I cut the recipe in half as I only had 2 sweet potatoes. I followed the directions to a T. The sweet potatoes had 9 minutes left to cook and I checked them after just checking them and they had burned. They were all hard like candy. Sorry but I think I'll stick to the recipe for candied sweet potatoes I have. I won't use this recipe again. Sorry. Thanks for posting christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Now THESE are the TRUE southern candied sweet potatoes I remember. There are no silly ingredients like marshmallows, orange juice, or pineapple. My mother and grandmother used to make these when we were coming up. How I wished I could've gotten their recipe when they were still alive. I searched the net frantically trying to find a recipe that at least closely resembled theirs. To my dismay, all of them contained some of the ingredients mentioned above. Then I came upon yours. After one bite of I knew that I'd found the one! The taste is spot on. This was one of my brother's favorite dish and I knew that I'd hit the jackpot when he tasted them and said those magic words: "Mmm...These taste like Mama's!" I can't thank you enough, Bev, for taking me back and giving me that taste of home that I thought I'd never have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I remember these Candied Sweet Potatoes from my childhood. All my efforts to duplicate them have failed. Once I read your receipe I knew I had hit pay dirt. I have been using the same ingredients but its in the fresh potatoes and the prep that does it. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      My fine Appalachian grandmother made these, and I've finally found them again! I made these, let them cool, then reserved some of the pan juices to toss some pecan pieces (to coat) then topped the dish with them. These definitely improve with age, that is is the masses don't devour them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      These were the best! The recipe was simple and easy. They were so good I was still thinking about them two days later. They will become a regular in my home. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      Highest ratings to you Bev for this fantastic recipe! This is southern cooking at it's finest. The seasonings and amount of sweetness were both perfect. My whole family enjoyed this recipe and my only mistake was in cutting the recipe in half. Everyone was left wanting more. Next time, I'll prepare the whole recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      I certainly hope no one else in my family likes these sweet potatoes. I want the whole dish for myself!!! Since I only had two large sweet potatoes, I halved the ingredients. I, also, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. These are the best tasting sweet potatoes I've ever eaten and I've eaten a lot of sweet potatoes in my 60+ years. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe, Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      These were absolutely delicious--the best. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      These are the best, I can never have a holiday without sweet potatoes and I could not find my usual recipe. Now I don't need it, I doubled the recipe and it was still completely gone. I have this as my new recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      Wonderful recipe for candied yams. I use to eat these a lot as a child but never found a recipe like the one my Mom use to make. This one is just like hers and so very tasty. All my family liked it. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Candied Sweet Potatoes - Southern Traditional

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 762.6
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    27%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 456.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 140.0 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 108.1 g
    432%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes