Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Candied Ginger and Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Candied Ginger and Syrup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2007

      Fantastic recipe! Thank you!!! So simple. I am living in Uruguay and can't find candied ginger. I hadn't thought of making it until I ran across this recipe, so thank you. I doubled the batch and it took about twice the cooking time. After removing the ginger I added orange peel to the sugar sauce and made candied orange peel. It tasted amazing! I dipped the candied ginger and orange peel in chocolate and made scones! I used the sugar sauce to make caramel (added butter and cream)...it was some of the best caramel I've ever had. I also made a drink: orange juice, sparkling water and sugar sauce...yummy. Oh, I used a spoon to peel my ginger...put the front of the spoon towards you and scrape the skin off (you're using the edge of the top of the spoon to scrap). I couldn't believe how easy this made to peel the ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Awesome! This is one of those things I always bought and wondered, "how do they make that?" Now I've made my own candied ginger, and it's WAY better! About to use it in my fruitcake. Never had the syrup before, but how awesome... just mixed some with a little orange juice, vanilla vodka, chocolate liqueur, ground cloves, and cinnamon, and had an awesome gingerbread martini! The first of many...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Great recipe! I could not believe how easy it was to make candied ginger. I used for baking and the syrup is wonderful in mixed drinks. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I have always had problems finding candied ginger in the supermarkets here and was pleased to see I could make my own so easily. I did tinker with the recipe a bit, reducing the sugar and water and slicing the ginger very thinly. I also didn't bother drying it but just kept it in a jar in the fridge with the remaining syrup which had a honey-like texture and a wonderful aroma. Thanks for posting something so simple and useful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I've been making this for a while. I love it, and I use the syrup in club soda as a very healthy alternative to soda pop for my children( and myself as well)I just strain the syrup through cheese cloth so there are no little floaty things in the drinks as my children would refuse to drink it. I have not once bought candied ginger since I found your recipe.Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Thank You! I used to make the same syrup with "wild ginger" but can't find it where I live now. Was hoping I could do the same thing with real ginger root. We're studying Thailand in our homeschool right now and I plan to make this to dip our banana rice dessert in, and am looking over to using the leftover syrup in various ways. It keeps well in the fridge BTW, another way I used to use this was adding a couple healthy Tbsp. into a cup of hot water for a yummy hot drink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      As good as store-bought and much less expensive. Make sure the end product is completely dry. Days later when I opened my container these were damp with signs of weeping, after which I spread them on waxed paper for several days to dry completely. Eat about 3 or 4 pieces at one time--I dare ya!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Ginger has qualities to sooth the stomach and keep the digestive tract healthy. A small piece each day over time can help someone with their digestion. Of course, if you have problems, talk to your Physician or Nurse Practioner to rule out any serious issues first. Educate yourself on herbs and roots, and enjoy this treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      Thank you CoolMonday!!!! This is terrific and such a moneysaver. I stumbled on a 3# bag of ginger in the markdown basket & immediately thought of this recipe I had saved. I am so happy with the results! I now have lovely candied ginger to use and several cups of syrup all for less than I was paying for a small bag of crystallized ginger. What a great recipe. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I tried this today and had lots of syrup left. Next time I think I will cut the sugar and water in half or add more ginger. The syrup is yummy but I am the only ginger fan in the family. I like how easy this is to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Half of my family now requests this syrup with blueberry pancakes. The combination of flavors is delightful. The candied ginger is great for hikes and adding syrup to the water, mmmmmm delish! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      It is easy, cheap and gives a result better than what you would buy in a store. The tip in the review from the girl in Uruguay abut peeling the ginger with a spoon is perfect too. Made in memory of CoolMonday, November 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Thank you! I've been looking for a recipe for candied ginger forever! This recipe is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      I needed to make Double Ginger Crinkle Cookies and didn't have enough candied ginger on hand, so made this yummy recipe! I will use the syrup to put in my tea! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Candied Ginger and Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (1407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1599.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    70%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 411.2 g
    137%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 400.7 g
    1602%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes