Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Candied Citrus Peel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Candied Citrus Peel

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2002

      This turned out great! The only thing I did differently was to coat the pieces with sugar after cooking (see Candied Citrus Peels Peel). This time I used only oranges, but using lemon and grapefruit would make a really colorful presentation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This method worked like a charm. I made candied tangerine peel to top a tangerine and chocolate cake. It is a pain to peel the tangerines so that all the pith is left behind, but it makes for a better finished product.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Worked like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      So easy and so yummy. I chocolate coated orange peels for christmas stocking stuffers. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I made a batch up, tripling it, using 6 oranges and 2 lemons (also tripling the water and sugar). I cooked it for about 50 minutes, till the syrup was nearly gone. I then took the peel and tossed it in about a cup of sugar, stirring till it was encrusted. I then laid it out on a cooling rack till cold. I gently shook the rack so the excess sugar fell off. Yummers! I loved how easy it was to peel the fruit peel. I did use a small spoon to scrape any parts that excess white pith, just to be safe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      I've been using this recipe for a long time to make candied peel for the top of cakes & desserts. It's really important to remove the pith as it tastes disgusting. I also dry this on baking paper as my first experience using foil wasn't a happy one (had to pick little bits of foil off the peel in places). Thanks for posting this as I had lost my recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      Wonderful! This was the perfect topping for Lemon Pound Cake. As another reviewer did, I coated my candied lemon peel with sugar after cooking too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      FABULOUS! Once candied I dipped them in dark chocolate. I made these on American Thanksgiving at my Aunts annual "Drunk & Bake" where we girls do some baking for Christmas. I had to make another batch a week before Christmas! A request (one of those requests you dare not refuse!) was made that these become an annual tradition. So they are. Thanks from myself and my entire family! Definately dangerous! Seriously yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Candied Citrus Peel

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    91%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites