Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Candied Acorn Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Candied Acorn Squash

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2001

      I made this for my husband and it was so good, it is going on the Thanksgiving table this year instead of the sweet potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2001

    • on January 14, 2012

      We loved this recipe. It was easy to prepare and you always have those ingredients on hand. This is going in my rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Yummy! Now our favorite way to prepare acorn squash. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      This was delish! One of the best acorn squash recipes I've ever tasted ... and DH loved it too! Always a plus! ;D I made it according to recipe directions ... super easy. YUM! Thank you, Tonkcats, for a great dinner side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Spectacular and easy! Could be dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Outstanding, easy recipe! I made this for the second time last night, this time taking a cue from one of the other reviewers and microwaving the squash first, then cut and baked it per the recipe--it saved some time and the results were every bit as good as doing it with a raw squash. I honestly don't know exactly why this recipe tastes so very much better than every other acorn squash recipe I've ever tried, but it DOES. I am not exaggerating when I say that I opted to finish the leftovers last evening rather than eat ice cream. It is that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Delicious! I used a mixture of brown sugar and brown Twin sugar, and a mixture of acorn and delicata squash. Have made twice now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      this was delicious. i made it for the hubby because i don't usually like squash and i wound up eating some anyway! it was sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      My kids LOVED this...need I say more?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Yum! The best way to get the family to eat this vegetable and it's not overwhelmingly big pieces that they just stare at and say, "no, not me, thanks." So easy and goes so well with lots of things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was easy and delicious! I used agave nectar with cinnamon, and omitted the butter & brown sugar, and it was still a winner. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Terrific! Usually I cook my acorn squash as halves, and put butter and brown sugar in the "hole". If you don't want to eat a whole half (lol) then all the yummy stuff runs out when you cut it. This worked really well because the syrup stuck to the squash better. It is a great way to serve acorn squash to a larger group. Thank you PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I am giving this 5 for taste, 4 for texture. We have never made acorn squash and thought the texture was very dry and almost crumbly like. Maybe we got bad squash? I want to try again but with Butternut squash. I hope Butternut won't effect the recipe too much as I loved taste. I did decrease the cinnamon a wee bit too & found it perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This is a wonderful not-so-terrible treat! This is major comfort food if you ask me. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I think this may be the only vegetable dish (aside from slaw and potatoes) that my husband has said he likes. It is now a family standard for serving acorn squash. It is even easier to prepare when I cook the squash in the microwave first, add glaze and finish in the oven with whatever else I am preparing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      A simple and delicious way to prepare acorn squash. I also used this recipe to cook up my abundant crop of butternut squash. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      I made your acorn squash recipe because for the Jewish high holiday season, it is customary to eat sweet foods. It turns out that I made too much for the small crowd we had for dinner that night...but the good news is that I have been eating leftovers of this for the past two nights! The maple Syrup really made it yummy! Thanks Tonkats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Wonderful and so easy to prepare. I used 2 squash for a total of 3 pounds, which is all that would fit in my dish. Reading the other reviews, peeling acorn squash is not necessary. It's actually much more attractive when cooked with the peel, as demonstrtaed by Paula's picture. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I reduced the recipe to serve 2 and prepared this with a ham that was cooking at 325 degrees. I increased the covered cooking time slightly, uncovered and increased the temperature to 375 degrees. It was basted several times and was nicely glazed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Candied Acorn Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.2
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    31%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 78.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes